Coronavirus (COVID-19)

17 minutes ago, GiGi said:

Forty two thousand eight hundred and forty three tests. 

6 deaths is a bit of a sad upturn but hopefully an outlier of a day. 

Other than that still looks like the vaccine is doing the job we need and the virus is spreading among the most sociable and resilient age groups. 

We really don't know how many people who are in hospital with covid.

We are testing that many people that we are bound to regularly see people dying who have tested positive, but their death had nothing to do with covid.

As we ease restrictions it is now absolutely vital that we review how we report the numbers to avoid people panicking.

Edited by Todd_is_God

Daily Cases Update:  Day 55 of consecutive rises, up to 358.8 per 100K.  Infectivity now 9.4%.  With a couple of huge rises to be added in the coming days with 4,234 reported yesterday.  Should take us to over 22,000 cases and a rate of circa 410 per 100K !!!

Whitfield in Dundee has more cases than Albania & North Macedonia combined.

New European figures today.   Scotland 375.4, England 138.4, Portugal 93.8, Russia 93.0, Northern Ireland 73.1, Wales 71.8, Spain 59.4, at other end we have Poland 2.2, Germany 5.4, Italy 8.3, France 19.0 all still dropping. 

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1139048/coronavirus-case-rates-in-the-past-7-days-in-europe-by-country/

Scotland previously peaked at 301.9 for figures 29th Dec to 4th Jan, (UK was 642.1)    Cases that day were 16,496 and test positivity rate was 11.9%  

Total Cases 7 days from 22nd June to 28th June  were  19,602  now 20,493  up 4.55%.  Positivity was 9.0% now 9.4%.   Cases per 100k were  358.8 now 375.4

Home Nations Daily update :  UK Average  145.4 to 157.0 up 7.98%, England  138.4 to 149.0 up 7.68%,  Wales 65.4 to 71.8 up 9.79%, Northern Ireland  66.7 to 73.1 up 9.60%

Council progress in last 24 Hours as follows.

Click cases by neighbourhood to see the spread on the geographical map. 
https://public.tableau.com/profile/phs.covid.19#!/vizhome/COVID-19DailyDashboard_15960160643010/Overview

LEVEL 2 RED

Dundee City  764.1 to 788.2  When is it going to slow down. 16.1% positivity.  Whitfield 1,508.7 per 100K

Midlothian  658.7 to 676.0  

East Lothian  653.7 to 623.8 LEVEL 1   2nd day in a row of dropping though.

City Of Edinburgh    582.2 to 585.0  

Blackburn with Darwen  490.3

Renfrewshire   451.7 to 486.3  

East Ayrshire  437.7 to 454.9

West Dunbartonshire  436.3 to 454.3  LEVEL 1 

East Dunbartonshire  401.3 to 430.8

East Renfrewshire   399.9 to 430.2  

Angus  390.7 to 423.4  LEVEL 1

Glasgow City  383.2 to 410.7

Fife   326.3 to 374.8  LEVEL 1

Perth & Kinross  332.3 to 362.6  LEVEL 1  

West Lothian   350.1 to 359.4   LEVEL1  

Aberdeen City   324.5 to 356.8  LEVEL1 

North Lanarkshire   330.1 to 350.9

Falkirk  307.0 to 330.7  LEVEL 1 

South Lanarkshire  296.4 to 278.9

Clackmannanshire   244.5 to 277.5

Inverclyde  267.4 to 276.3  LEVEL 1 

Stirling   236.7 to 268.5

Scottish  Borders  277.9 to 264.9 LEVEL 1

North Ayrshire   248.6 to 247.9 

South Ayrshire  239.8 to 246.9

OFFICIAL  LEVEL 1 BLACK

Argyll & Bute  248.0 to 235.2 

Highlands 189.5 to 217.5

Aberdeenshire   182.6 to 184.5

Dumfries & Galloway   151.1 to 144.4

Moray  61.6 to 69.9

OFFICIAL LEVEL 0  Teuchters in Green

Shetland Islands   48.0 to 56.7 

Orkney Islands   31.4 to 40.4

Western Isles  3.7 to 7.5

An increase of 40 in hospital isn’t great tbh. Considering this will be from around the time of the England game finally filtering though, if we start to see jumps of 40+ each day then things will get paused again IMO ‘protect the nhs’ etc.

Not ideal.

We really don't know how many people who are in hospital with covid.
We are testing that many people that we are bound to regularly see people dying who have tested positive, but their death had nothing to do with covid.
As we ease restrictions it is now absolutely vital that we review how we report the numbers to avoid people panicking.

Agree with that. I think it is a concern that hospital numbers are going up again but not a reason to stop easing restrictions. I have a friend who is a physician in Ninewells Hospital. They are seeing numbers with acute Covid infection beginning to rise again and are concerned by that but also reassured that the numbers are far from where they were in January when very few people were vaccinated. Her view is that they will continue to increase for a period yet but not get to a critical level as they did during previous “waves”. The vaccines have changed the game and continue to do so.

2 minutes ago, mizfit said:

How many people would’ve been in hospital in January before the vast vaccine rollout with those numbers?

When we peaked at just over 2000 cases a day in the middle of Jan that led to around 2000 people in hospital at the end of Jan of which about 160 were in ICU

7 minutes ago, mizfit said:

How many people would’ve been in hospital in January before the vast vaccine rollout with those numbers?

We've never had positive test numbers this high before. The most we had in January was (I think) 2,649 in a day. That was January 7th. On January 23rd we peaked at 2,026 in hospital. 

So we're at 60% more cases, and (currently) 84% fewer hospitalisations. Though, if we assume today is the peak of cases (which it isn't) we won't see peak hospitalisations for a couple of weeks.

Edited by scottsdad

Is there a breakdown in where these cases are coming from? Uuuuge numbers but unlikely to drastically impact hospital figures. With cases being as high as they have been over the past month we must surely be getting to a point where there's a decent level of immunity from infection amongst the 18-30s regardless of vaccine status. 

48 minutes ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

i'm back to having that sinking feeling that this won't be allowed to continue for much longer , hope tae f**k i'm wrong

What do we do though? Lockdown forever to appease the lovejoys? Adults have been vaccinated, the vulnerable and elderly double dosed. There is nothing more that can be done apart from impose more restrictions which is masking (no pun intended) the problem. Time to live our lives. 

26 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

Is this the delay from the Lighthouse labs?

No my reporting 7 day period is always a couple of days behind. Currently 22nd-28th June.

Figures are always tweaked to keep them accurate.

What i know is the numbers for 29th & 30th June when they replace 22nd & 23rd June are much higher.

3 minutes ago, superbigal said:

No my reporting 7 day period is always a couple of days behind. Currently 22nd-28th June.

Figures are always tweaked to keep them accurate.

What i know is the numbers for 29th & 30th June when they replace 22nd & 23rd June are much higher.

Gotcha, thanks!

59 minutes ago, GiGi said:

Forty two thousand eight hundred and forty three tests. 

6 deaths is a bit of a sad upturn but hopefully an outlier of a day. 

Other than that still looks like the vaccine is doing the job we need and the virus is spreading among the most sociable and resilient age groups. 

Only 16 in ICU which should mean very few deaths in the coming days.

52 minutes ago, Benidorm said:

"Cannae get oot ma street fir snow, wullny make it in the day"

Have you got Snow ??

It's 24 degrees and sunny in Ayrshire just now..........

5 minutes ago, PedroMoutinho said:

I thought I’d seen it all from the lovejoys but they are now wanting football fans ‘dye tagged’ 😂

Others wanting lockdown reimposed 

03DF665D-F407-48BE-B6A2-55F70AC2C62C.png

346CEC2B-78C5-4211-B953-56CC9486D238.png

0E3EFA4D-B0B3-4B1A-AA33-DDF8665BBECC.png

I reckon I'd be doing hard time in the BAR L if I was on Twitter or Facebook.