Coronavirus (COVID-19)

1 minute ago, Detournement said:

But how much of that is just misanthropy?

Is there a large proportion of people avoiding visiting family and busy shops? I don't think so. 

I suppose folk will respond based on their acceptance of the restrictions and their compliance i.e. they may only be supporting the continuance of restrictions because they are only being loosely followed by them

1 minute ago, hk blues said:

I suppose folk will respond based on their acceptance of the restrictions and their compliance i.e. they may only be supporting the continuance of restrictions because they are only being loosely followed by them

Exactly that. Folk stating that they are willing to follow continuous restrictions, but picking and choosing which ones they really want to follow all while judging others for doing the same.

2 hours ago, Gaz said:

Because we (as in society) aren't.

Someone said it yesterday - this place is a bit of an echo chamber. It is, after all, a site for Scottish football fans. I'd wager 80%+ of the members here are white, straight men aged between 18 and 40 who like going to the football, going to the pub and are at the age where they spend a lot of time with their mates. It's why when you come on here pretty much the only opinion you see is folk wanting an end to lockdown restrictions.

Society isn't like that. There are consistent polls that show support for continuing of restrictions and even calls for another national lockdown. That's why the Government aren't in any rush. It's not hurting them politically.

True enough. The people I speak to in real life are in two broad camps. One reflects opinion here - that the vaccine has done it's job, and is doing it's job, and we should lift restrictions ASAP. The second (including my wife) want restrictions lifted slowly, but not because they're scared of catching the virus and dying.

No, the people I speak to are scared of another lockdown. In mental health terms I know people that simply will not be able to cope with a new lockdown. So they want the restrictions lifted slowly to keep the numbers down, so this doesn't happen. 

I know plenty folk in their twenties and early thirties who are still terrified of this virus.  They often repeat whatever has been said on the news word for word and they quite often tend not to exercise critical reasoning or personal risk management. I've had conversations/arguments with colleagues who think that I'm being "irresponsible" and putting them at risk by returning to contact sport. 

But I don't blame them so much.  I firmly believe the blame for this lies with the governments, advisors and media whose continual messaging of "stay safe, save lives" has conditioned people who are, to all intents and purpose, at low risk from the virus into believing that they'll die if they go anywhere near anyone else.  

Even if they lifted restrictions tomorrow, you'd still find a significant percentage of the population who don't want to go back to the "old" normal.  That may because they are quite comfortable with how things are now, or it might be because they have been traumatised by the messaging of the last 15 months.  Either way, it's a hell of a job to bring these people back from the brink.  

True enough. The people I speak to in real life are in two broad camps. One reflects opinion here - that the vaccine has done it's job, and is doing it's job, and we should lift restrictions ASAP. The second (including my wife) want restrictions lifted slowly, but not because they're scared of catching the virus and dying.
No, the people I speak to are scared of another lockdown. In mental health terms I know people that simply will not be able to cope with a new lockdown. So they want the restrictions lifted slowly to keep the numbers down, so this doesn't happen. 

If i was sure that restrictions would be lifted as per timetable to 2019 normality, with no danger of being re imposed
Then I would stop following the news and this thread the very same day,
I really don’t care how many people arny feelin well wae the covid

Can easily see the following -

All Scottish adults to have been offered one dose of the vaccine by x date (we’ll say 19th July for arguments sake here).

Social distancing and crowd restrictions to be relaxed by 24th July.

13th September all Adults will have had been offered both doses. All restrictions lifted.

I'm just out a meeting at work where it was confirmed that emergency legislation covering Council tax exemption for properties unoccupied where the occupants are students has been extended to 31 March 2022. Make of that what you will but it very much suggests to me another winter of distance learning for students is a distinct possibility.

5 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
2 hours ago, mizfit said:

All Scottish adults to have been offered one dose of the vaccine by x date (we’ll say 19th July for arguments sake here).

13th September all Adults will have had been offered both doses. All restrictions lifted.

I'm just out a meeting at work where it was confirmed that emergency legislation covering Council tax exemption for properties unoccupied where the occupants are students has been extended to 31 March 2022. Make of that what you will but it very much suggests to me another winter of distance learning for students is a distinct possibility.

Or it’s simply a contingency, which would be stupid not to have.

3 hours ago, oaksoft said:

And there's no way that 400,000 have had symptoms for more than a year. I'm not even sure we had passed through that number of cases in total a year ago.

That is just such a ridiculous claim that any sane person can see right through it.

There’s no evidence that many of these ‘long covid sufferers’ have ever actually had covid.

Even if they have, there’s absolutely no evidence that their current symptoms are caused by it.

A study in children actually showed that kids who have had covid have a lower rate of these ‘symptoms’ than the general population.

19 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

Why do people seem so intent on dismissing the world's largest polling company because "ma Facebook"?

Because they are owned by a government Minister and have a history of subverting elections and referendum in favour of the Tories.

2 hours ago, Gaz said:

Because we (as in society) aren't.

Someone said it yesterday - this place is a bit of an echo chamber. It is, after all, a site for Scottish football fans. I'd wager 80%+ of the members here are white, straight men aged between 18 and 40 who like going to the football, going to the pub and are at the age where they spend a lot of time with their mates. It's why when you come on here pretty much the only opinion you see is folk wanting an end to lockdown restrictions.

Society isn't like that. There are consistent polls that show support for continuing of restrictions and even calls for another national lockdown. That's why the Government aren't in any rush. It's not hurting them politically.

I acknowledge the Poll you’ve posted above but I know not one ghoul IRL who has any sort of support of heading back to a lockdown at some point 

If we didn’t have a vaccine I’d have completely the opposite opinion 

Not sure how long we’re expected to to let a virus, which most of us are vaccinated against, dictate our lives 

2 hours ago, mizfit said:

I’d hope the target to lift all restrictions woo be much earlier than September 13th as otherwise it won’t be happening.

September you’ve got schools just back, unis just back, more indoor socialising and heading into autumn so cases will naturally rise.

Can wee Billy go out and chat with a couple of Croatians. Love to see the SFA ripping the pish. Bet today's tests are lost in the post till after the match. Billy Nae Mates ?

PHE guidance states that someone could be considered a close contact and might have to self-isolate if they had a face-to-face conversation within one metre.

PHS guidance states we need to beat Croatia

Edited by superbigal

I had a debate/argument with a colleague about Covid today.  I posted a story in our channel about Bumble giving everyone a week off, there's an injoke in our team about a colleague who used Bumble, and he responded that young people dating in the pandemic were being selfish.  So I said that young people have been the group most adversely affected by the NPIs, they are the ones taking the brunt of the job losses and disruption to their education, they are the ones taking the impact from the pubs and nightclubs being closed and yet the younger generation have broadly done what's been asked of them.  Perhaps being a bit facetious I said they should get a medal.  He said that his niece caught Covid by mixing so he didn't care and he didn't feel sorry for them, he felt sorry for people from the Second World War and went on a big rant about it.  COmpletely mental.  He is the biggest moaner going as well, every time he complains about anything I'm going to remind him he's in a better spot than Anne Frank.

Does he think soldiers should get footballers wages?

57 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Team: Rangers

Yep

Got my appointment for my second jag.  It's on the same day as I've been cited for jury service.  Do we think I'll get an exemption from jury service for my covid jag?
I got off for that day as I had to take my other half for her jag. They then let me off for the week.

1 hour ago, super_carson said:

I know plenty folk in their twenties and early thirties who are still terrified of this virus.  They often repeat whatever has been said on the news word for word and they quite often tend not to exercise critical reasoning or personal risk management. I've had conversations/arguments with colleagues who think that I'm being "irresponsible" and putting them at risk by returning to contact sport. 

But I don't blame them so much.  I firmly believe the blame for this lies with the governments, advisors and media whose continual messaging of "stay safe, save lives" has conditioned people who are, to all intents and purpose, at low risk from the virus into believing that they'll die if they go anywhere near anyone else.  

Even if they lifted restrictions tomorrow, you'd still find a significant percentage of the population who don't want to go back to the "old" normal.  That may because they are quite comfortable with how things are now, or it might be because they have been traumatised by the messaging of the last 15 months.  Either way, it's a hell of a job to bring these people back from the brink.  

I can only speak for myself here, but I’m not a fan of lockdowns at all - I suffer from anxiety / agoraphobia so not being able to do the things I normally do (which are basically just having a routine of seeing my friends / family & travelling to the football - I support a Highland League team) - has set me back massively, to the point where I can’t even walk down the street without suffering from panic attacks.

I’m currently receiving face to face CBT therapy (which was one hell of a struggle to get in itself, I had to go private for that) I’ve had my first jab & got my second one next month.

Because of my anxiety I’m exempt from wearing a face covering, & I’m fearful of getting hassled out in public / travelling on the train because of this. 

Not trying to make this all about me because I’m sure others have suffered way more, whether because of the virus or what it’s done to them mentally, but I really think after someone’s received their second dose, they should be allowed to decide how to live their lives again, whether that’s taking precautions like wearing masks or not. 

Long story short, normality needs to come back ASAP in my opinion, because I can’t even begin to imagine the damage to people’s mental health that’s already been caused, & the scaremongering from people like the media & Deepti needs to be nipped in the bud.

Apologies for the ramble.