Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Summer Nights at Kelvingrove Bandstand in July cancelled today due to distancing, we have concert tickets for September but I'm beginning to think it will be money back or rescheduled. We were told it was all about protecting the NHS which has been done and now the goalposts seem to be moving and too many people don't seem that bothered.
We had tickets for last year that we were hoping would be rescheduled for this year but are now put off again. I'm assuming the organisers have decided it wouldn't be profitable to hold it with some sort of reduced capacity.

Can't see that this has been posted on here but the Telegraph are reporting that only 32 of the 75000 people hospitalised between September and March had been vaccinated at least three weeks before.

It'd be nice to know the same stat from the point where the vaccinations started but regardless, it's a clear sign that vaccinated people have impeccably observed Boris' lockdown:blink:

8 hours ago, super_carson said:

Think there's quite a lot of truth in what you're saying there. This is all just another example of the polarised society we live in now.

Indyref...brexit...BLM, you name it. Any subtlety or nuance in social/political issues is out the window these days and every issue is seen as a zero sum game. If you openly question SG policies your labelled as a right wing 'yoon', even if you've voted SNP all your adult life, and if you defend them you get labelled as a dangerous separatist/socialist.

The best solution going forward lies somewhere between the extremes and questioning one course of action doesn't automatically make you an extremist of the opposite view. The Scottish government probably handled the initial months better (but not great) but is now in danger of being so dogmatic/scared of making a decision that could it bollocks our economy and society for years to come.  If you're pro indy (as I am) then you might be concerned that a buggered economy could scupper that chance, doesn't automatically make you a Tory.

Yep, if you ask NS a ‘difficult’ question on twitter youre labelled a ‘yoon’ and abused, its absolutely mad. Ive been a member of the snp and voted for them all my adult life but some are just so entrenched they cant see an issue. Watching twitter its almost like watching old firm fans (well lots on one side are) arguing. 

45 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Yep, if you ask NS a ‘difficult’ question on twitter youre labelled a ‘yoon’ and abused, its absolutely mad. Ive been a member of the snp and voted for them all my adult life but some are just so entrenched they cant see an issue. Watching twitter its almost like watching old firm fans (well lots on one side are) arguing. 

I don't think that phenomenon is reserved solely for here. If you look at the states, covid has become so polarised that you have democrats that are frighteningly pro-vaccine passports. The discourse over there is so much more pious than over here too - the type of chat we stopped using towards the end of 2020 is still the foundation of the way many arguments over there re covid are framed. I don't know if that's becuase of the sheer weight of numbers they've experienced, or a continuation of the trump effect. Is it just as someone said a continuation of the polarisation of politics, everything is black and white these days - no nuance. 

I used to think it was just because it was such a serious issue with so many lives at stake etc - but as events have moved on, I'm not so sure now. I mentioned the footballisation of the topic a couple of months ago, and tbh I'm leaving towards that as the cause more now. 

Edited by madwullie

6 hours ago, David W said:

Can't see that this has been posted on here but the Telegraph are reporting that only 32 of the 75000 people hospitalised between September and March had been vaccinated at least three weeks before.

It'd be nice to know the same stat from the point where the vaccinations started but regardless, it's a clear sign that vaccinated people have impeccably observed Boris' lockdown:blink:

Aye, so when do we now conclude that everything we do from this day forward that isn't normal life is simply an ongoing game of charades?

33 minutes ago, madwullie said:

I don't think that phenomenon is reserved solely for here. If you look at the states, covid has become so polarised that you have democrats that are frighteningly pro-vaccine passports. The discourse over there is so much more pious than over here too - the type of chat we stopped using towards the end of 2020 is still the foundation of the way many arguments over there re covid are framed. I don't know if that's becuase of the sheer weight of numbers they've experienced, or a continuation of the trump effect. Is it just as someone said a continuation of the polarisation of politics, everything is black and white these days - no nuance. 

I used to think it was just because it was such a serious issue with so many lives at stake etc - but as events have moved on, I'm not so sure now. I mentioned the footballisation of the topic a couple of months ago, and tbh I'm leaving towards that as the cause more now. 

You say ‘footballisation’ but i dont necessarily fully agree. There are entrenched views as described previously. I know I was very much open to the point of restrictions at the start of this and certainly until the roll out of vaccinations got to a point that the most vulnerable were done and the impact on nhs pressure had been relieved. I do get your point on the ‘dont criticise Nicola or your a yoon’ types, but its not so much footballisation as all debate is shut down either through a refusal of our leaders to engage or their henchmen shout you down. 
I dont think it was much to ask for those making decisions about restrictions to release the information that informed their decisions, I’d like to understand why outdoor restrictions were implemented so broadly despite for quite a considerable time having evidence that outdoor transmission risk was negligible to say the least. 
If Nicola Sturgeon didnt want to engage in ‘an adult conversation’ about restrictions she shouldn’t have promised one. It is now quite clear restrictions are not proportionate and there are appears to be no clear plan for the exit strategy? 

58 minutes ago, madwullie said:

Social media is the driving issue behind it. People on both sides are drawn towards twitter feeds, forums and other individuals with their own way of thinking to confirm that they are correct and quickly become so entrenched by agreeable views that they won't even hear any contrary viewpoints, killing any sort of proper political debate stone dead. 

Certainly an oversimplification of the matters but it's definitely a significant factor in the frothing mouthed ferverent support of political parties that we see today. 

44 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

You say ‘footballisation’ but i dont necessarily fully agree. There are entrenched views as described previously. I know I was very much open to the point of restrictions at the start of this and certainly until the roll out of vaccinations got to a point that the most vulnerable were done and the impact on nhs pressure had been relieved. I do get your point on the ‘dont criticise Nicola or your a yoon’ types, but its not so much footballisation as all debate is shut down either through a refusal of our leaders to engage or their henchmen shout you down. 
I dont think it was much to ask for those making decisions about restrictions to release the information that informed their decisions, I’d like to understand why outdoor restrictions were implemented so broadly despite for quite a considerable time having evidence that outdoor transmission risk was negligible to say the least. 
If Nicola Sturgeon didnt want to engage in ‘an adult conversation’ about restrictions she shouldn’t have promised one. It is now quite clear restrictions are not proportionate and there are appears to be no clear plan for the exit strategy? 

I don't disagree, but it was more an attempt at a general comment than specifics. 

On twitter, fb and even on here, people will breathlessly post articles they've just read, often by someone they've never heard of, based on nothing more than the fact that a paragraph of it agrees with whatever side they've decided to follow. 

Daily Mail articles, sun articles, it doesn't even matter the quality of the source or even if in the same article something that goes against what they believe is mentioned. They will generally just post the part they agree with and edit out the rest. 

It makes it really difficult to sift through and come to genuine conclusions yourself, as even people who have little idea what they are talking about, or awareness of bad or pseudo-science, will slap down what they perceive to be a gotcha article and strut away believing they've won some argument that only really exists in their head. 

Because I was obsessed with the US Election, and I haven't got round to pruning my twitter feed, it's still heavily weighted towards American commentators who generally have now switched to covid, and some of the chat over there is just unbelievable. People literally don't believe covid is a thing just because some republicans/tucker carlson have said it, or like I said above, seemingly sensible individuals are desperate for vaccination passports to be rushed through immediately to get one right up the GOP. The amount of conspiracy theories surrounding the whole shitshow is fucking mental compared even to here. All sense has gone out the window because its become so partisan. It's worrying for the future of politics imo that something so serious has got this way. A far cry from the seemingly friendly were all in this together type buzz from March / April last year 😔 

Dont really want to go into the adult conversation stuff, because while I don't necessarily agree with you, I really can't face arguing about this kind of stuff. I will say though that to an extent people I think have decided in their head what this adult conversation comment meant, and it's snowballed a bit from there. Restrictions do seem to be being lifted more quickly, and with more positivity than a lot of us thought would be the case a month or two ago, so that's got to be a good thing anyway. Not that most people really give a f**k these days - outwith not being able to go places because they're closed, a lot of the personal liberty stuff has just been dinghyed as far as I can see in Hamilton anyway. 

Edit: OR what @djchapsticks said would probably have been simpler. 

Edited by madwullie

7 hours ago, David W said:

You would imagine going by the period of vaccination that the people hospitalised were people in care homes so it's unlikely they were at a 18th birthday party down the local British legion.

Not to go all Detournement on folk but this headline perfectly encapsulates why the media are seemingly happy to continue pressing ahead with the 'Never, let people out again, ever' message.

image.png.53e7b214be5fcefd1361cf617ea4750d.png

It's not enough that they added 16m new subscribers last year and have probably retained the vast majority of them since, leading to a massive increase in income. It's also not enough that they had little in the way of original output meaning costs were far lower than usual. 

They are now calling the inevitable slowdown in growth that was always going to happen 'wobbly'.

I work for a massive, worldwide pharma company and the parallels in terms of sheer greed when it comes to forecasting are staggering.

I've had to keep a close eye on many, many small companies I deal with who came into a lot of money very quickly last year due to testing facility overspill contracts and thought they were suddenly the dugs baws. I remember saying to a few of my colleagues who were seeing the same thing that I hoped these companies understood that these overspill contracts from the govt. were very much a temporary (but lucrative) measure and the companies in question were hopefully banking the cash they were making for the inevitable downturn.

It's just not a done thing anymore to run a business with a bit of prudence or at least a bit in reserve. Cash in the bank is viewed as a bad thing as if it's in the bank, it's not out there working for you in investments - never mind the fact that there are bad investments as well as good. And this is what leads to nonsensical statements like this headline. Netflix should be celebrating that amazing year they had in 2020 but instead, shareholders only want to know what has been done for them lately and are panicking, not for loss, but over not getting a wee bit richer, a wee bit quicker.

It appears that the first doses of vaccines have been having a dramatic effect on Covid infections.

Some 74,000 people were admitted to hospitals with the virus in recent months, but only 32 who had had the vaccine, according to official data.

They then identifed within that number just under 2,000 people that had received the vaccine, and examined how many days there were between receiving the vaccine and the onset of their symptoms.

"Most people admitted had caught their infection within a week on either side of vaccination and then there was a really sharp drop off in numbers, so that, after three weeks after being vaccinated, we could only count 32 people out of the 2,000 that had been vaccinated," he says.

Prof Semple stresses this is a "tiny number" - less than 2% - and says "that's just after the first vaccine and that's in the elderly population.

"It's really good real world data showing that this vaccine works and one dose works really well," he says.

Edited by superbigal

12 minutes ago, superbigal said:

It appears that the first doses of vaccines have been having a dramatic effect on Covid infections.

Some 74,000 people were admitted to hospitals with the virus in recent months, but only 32 who had had the vaccine, according to official data.

They then identifed within that number just under 2,000 people that had received the vaccine, and examined how many days there were between receiving the vaccine and the onset of their symptoms.

"Most people admitted had caught their infection within a week on either side of vaccination and then there was a really sharp drop off in numbers, so that, after three weeks after being vaccinated, we could only count 32 people out of the 2,000 that had been vaccinated," he says.

Prof Semple stresses this is a "tiny number" - less than 2% - and says "that's just after the first vaccine and that's in the elderly population.

"It's really good real world data showing that this vaccine works and one dose works really well," he says.

But we just don't know!!!! 

2 hours ago, Elixir said:

Aye, so when do we now conclude that everything we do from this day forward that isn't normal life is simply an ongoing game of charades?

Good data obvioulsy, but until such a time that lockdown, face masks and social distanicng is ditched, its not worth a toss.

Somewhere along we need to properly put these vaccines to the test.(I've every confidence they'll still owrk just as well)

15 minutes ago, MuckleMoo said:

Out walking the dog at the weekend and got chatting to a nurse who works in the IC wards in Aberdeen. She mentioned that they are already booked in for there boosters in September

Going to funny watching the big song and dance about boosters this autumn to deal with new variants (you know, the ones the vaccine currently cigars anyway) only to all of a sudden play down the significance of variants to avoid the need for rolling boosters.

40 minutes ago, superbigal said:

I'm sure I also heard P&B 's favourite dentist saying recently that they hadn't registered a single positive case in anyone who's had both doses plus the 2 weeks settling time. fantastic if true