Coronavirus (COVID-19)

53 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:
1 hour ago, anotherchance said:
Playing down the impact of the vaccines (which is what's happening here) is something right out of the anti vaxxers playbook and will only increase vaccine hesitancy,
Also, anyone pointing at Chile instead of talking up the Israel stats is an absolute adult nappy.

Nicola Sturgeon tweeted about Chile the other day. I haven't seen her mention Israel once.

I've been harping on about this for a while. Her tweets give an interesting insight into her mindset.

I remember, as an example, she didn't deem the Moderna vaccine approval worthy of a mention (unlike other senior political figures in the UK). Yet she's never slow to point out something negative e.g. Chile.

16 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

Jagged this morning with AZ. It's been good knowing you all.......

Seems to just be down to luck...I know two or three folk that had a rough 48 hours after getting it, but I just had a bit of a sore arm for a few days. Even then I only really noticed it when I made the mistake of leaning against a door frame right on the injection site...😬

6 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Edinburgh Live (I know) this morning with another great headline - “New Nigerian COVID variant could be TWICE as deadly as South African variant”.

f**k off.

Aye good for it, it's still Coronavirus, which we have several vaccines for.

10 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Edinburgh Live (I know) this morning with another great headline - “New Nigerian COVID variant could be TWICE as deadly as South African variant”.

f**k off.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/worrying-number-lothian-people-offered-20349851.amp?__twitter_impression=true

Well I wonder why that might be, then! 

The only folk pissing me off more than Leitch and these other lockdown fanatics are the media, who have almost without exception been an absolute disgrace. Chasing dramatic headlines which are undoubtedly fucking with people's heads and fuelling the conspiratorial pish of anti-vax nutjobs with no recriminations is utterly unacceptable. 

Devi Sridhar is at this point little better than a literate Facebook Maw with a blue tick. The sooner she's punted back to whatever irrelevant shite she was doing before, the better. 

1 hour ago, ICTChris said:

One thing about the pandemic that I’ve seen written is that it might improve anxiety because something terrible has happened and most of us got through it. On the other hand perhaps it’s encouraged catastrophising, as demonstrated in teeets like this

Why the over the top attention seeking fear porn surrounding COVID-19 and anthropogenic global warming needs to be actively combated. Yes, there are challenges ahead but the vaccine roll out and achieving grid parity on renewables shows we are not helpless in the face of it when the scientific method is applied properly.

3 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

The only folk pissing me off more than Leitch and these other lockdown fanatics are the media, who have almost without exception been an absolute disgrace. Chasing dramatic headlines which are undoubtedly fucking with people's heads and fuelling the conspiratorial pish of anti-vax nutjobs with no recriminations is utterly unacceptable. 

Devi Sridhar is at this point little better than a literate Facebook Maw with a blue tick. The sooner she's punted back to whatever irrelevant shite she was doing before, the better. 

Yeah, the media are worse as they have throughout this refused to do any serious questioning of governments/advisors which has allowed the Sridhar types to spew whatever nonsense they want on social media and block those who attempt to question it to hide it. 

The questions asked at the daily briefings to the government and Leitch for example have almost exclusively been an utter disgrace.

2 hours ago, Left Back said:

I get the government wanting people tested on arrival.  why do they actually care if you get tested before departing this country?

The destination country of course will care and may well have their own requirements.

Plane full of brits gets infected on the plane, as half adozen punters' emissions circulate for a couple of hours or so. Big old strain on hospitals in destination country, Britannia looks bad, Johnson can't blame the EU...

2 hours ago, anotherchance said:

Playing down the impact of the vaccines (which is what's happening here) is something right out of the anti vaxxers playbook and will only increase vaccine hesitancy,

Also, anyone pointing at Chile instead of talking up the Israel stats is an absolute adult nappy.

Chile and Israel are both happening, and the circumstances of neither entirely reflect the UK. The truth, as so often, will contain traces of bopth narratives but be a conclusion of its own.

1 hour ago, 101 said:

The SPFL are backing the use of vaccine passports to return fans to the stadium, they literally couldn't be any more incompetent.

That’s sums them up tbh. I certainly won’t be going to any games that need a “passport”. Good luck to the old boys I know who go to Somerset who don’t have a  phone between them. 

Edited by Thereisalight..

28 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Despite this, you can't have a pint outdoors but you can sit near face-to-face with a hairdresser indoors for the duration of a cut, said hairdresser coming into said close contact with dozens of households every day. Only a few more weeks and they might let us see our aunties as a wee treat for being good.

It’s actually fucking disgraceful not to just change this electioneering bullshit excuse to not review and relax faster. It’s an easy out for them to just say “it’s the rules” and put off any decision until May.
Get the nonsense travel restrictions and outdoor limits removed now.
It is. Its part of an ongoing theme of utter small time attitude which points to a lack of understanding of the gravity of the restrictions. This is likely why we get folk endorsing SD and other rules for further "wait and see" periods.

Fucking run like a Parish council sometimes.