Coronavirus (COVID-19)

50 minutes ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Aye and no.
Experience says England opened up too early last time round but that was without a vaccine.
I wouldn’t be suprised if we followed England by at leas 3 weeks again and probably longer before indoor household socialising is allowed again

If there is no household socialising by May there will be a big backlash at the election. 

This was explained to you yesterday.   Scotland's prioritised the care homes - where about 90% have been vaccinated.   The English figure is less than 40%.  

Boris Johnston has gone for the Daily Express/ thicko headline tactic.   Little surprise you've swallowed it hook line and sinker.  
Minter's going to minter.

32 minutes ago, peasy23 said:

My missus got her first vaccine dose on Friday, and has since got a full house on the possible after effects bingo.

How was she? Taking my mum on Tuesday, she's never had a bad reaction to the flu jag. Was it an instant thing or did she get home before it hit?

24 minutes ago, Detournement said:

If there is no household socialising by May there will be a big backlash at the election. 

I'll be surprised if the election doesn't get papped to some time in the autumn.

16 minutes ago, Detournement said:

To you and Elixr in one, i don't agree with it either. once a vaccine turns this from potentially life threatening pneumonia into the sniffles, or better just snuffs it out alltogether then i think ALL restrictions should be binned as soon as reasonably possible, I don't care if aunty Ann isny feelin well wae the covid , we don't shut the country down for unpleasantness. 

However, the scottish government are terrified of getting this badly wrong with everything spiraling out of control, they haven't done well so far but have looked better compared to the english and some other euopeans.  At the moment the majority of any backlash is coming from folk who take the view of "wee nippy says black i'll fuckin say white WATP"  they weren't going to vote snp anyway.of  all those who do,  who are they going to switch to at the election ? labour? they take an equally shitebaggish view on covid restrictions. the only other option is the tories and it would take some turn around for all those snp supporters to switch sides . Even if VT's imaginary army of snippy parents are still annoyed the schools ur oaf and we've goat them 2 in the hoose wi us every day

Sorry lads, lets no get our hopes up

What is the insane regulations? I've run out of free articles.
Refresh the page and very quickly cancel the refresh, et voila!

Patience required as you won't always catch the right moment first time.

An extremely handy tip that I picked up on this website, possibly even this very thread.

I just think the reality is that surely as this goes on past a full calendar year, in tandem with the vaccine rollout, it just won't be a tenable position not to progressively lift all restrictions by the end of summer.

8 minutes ago, Elixir said:

I just think the reality is that surely as this goes on past a full calendar year, in tandem with the vaccine rollout, it just won't be a tenable position not to progressively lift all restrictions by the end of summer.

60% of the British public just want to lie in a heap on the couch, barely conscious watching Strictly Celebrity on Ice. There won't be a revolt or anything like it if we can't have crowds at football or have a glass of wine with a steak dinner this year.

1 minute ago, Marshmallo said:

60% of the British public just want to lie in a heap on the couch, barely conscious watching Strictly Celebrity on Ice. There won't be a revolt or anything like it if we can't have crowds at football or have a glass of wine with a steak dinner this year.

Perhaps, but that is also the current state of play at the height of the worst point of the pandemic, when fear is at its zenith, and as the vaccine continues to roll out. If that isn't a minority view in six months time then it truly will be worrying.

Still, surely Government, particularly the Tory party in London, will need to get the shiftless deadbeats moving again and off state life support as soon as possible.

1 hour ago, Erih Shtrep said:

This was explained to you yesterday.   Scotland's prioritised the care homes - where about 90% have been vaccinated.   The English figure is less than 40%.  

Boris Johnston has gone for the Daily Express/ thicko headline tactic.   Little surprise you've swallowed it hook line and sinker.  

And Nicola has gone for the National/Weegie thicko headline tactic. Little surprise that you’ve swallowed it hook, line and sinker.

Anyway, at least you’ve got another Independence think tank. That’ll be really handy in the middle of a crisis.

The Nats are just like Old Firm fans....it’s always someone else’s fault.

How was she? Taking my mum on Tuesday, she's never had a bad reaction to the flu jag. Was it an instant thing or did she get home before it hit?
Sore arm on Friday and felt pretty shitty yesterday. List of effects include..

Soreness around the jag site
Tiredness
Chills
Fever
Aches and pains
Swollen glands

Nothing that paracetamol and ibuprofen couldn't handle, she's fine today apart from the sore arm and swollen glands, but she has almost always had swollen glands from the flu jab too.

Guest Bob Mahelp
1 hour ago, Elixir said:

Once immunity continues to build in the population and the vaccination program is completed, deaths will return to normal levels and the healthcare system will no longer be in danger of being swamped. That means every single one of the civil liberties taken from us should then be returned. No tiers or 'precautionary principle' for something that won't actually exist, but full normality. Anything else would be overreach and mission creep.

Nicola Sturgeon is an inherently conservative politician, unlike Johnson who is a raging populist. 

I suspect that she'll be utterly terrified to lift severe restrictions too soon, but will be forced into a corner because Johnson will start easing lockdown as soon as possible. On top of that, the May elections will soon be at the front of her mind. 

I have no facts to back it up, but I still believe that we'll be in tier systems for a long time.

12 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

Context needed, i.e. how does this compare to hospitalisations for other conditions, how many of those patients were old relics at deaths door anyway and/or a Big Mac away from a coronary.

28 minutes ago, Elixir said:

Context needed, i.e. how does this compare to hospitalisations for other conditions, how many of those patients were old relics at deaths door anyway and/or a Big Mac away from a coronary.

We do need context but a near 30% readmission rate is horrific.

Many of the old relics 'at deaths door' would presumably have succumbed on first admission and won't be part of a group discharged from hospital??

Hospital readmission rates in England following pneumonia according to this paper are 16%.

Readmission.

Edited by Distant Doonhamer