Coronavirus (COVID-19)

6 minutes ago, LongTimeLurker said:

The city we are no longer supposed to call Londonderry and Strabane seem to have had an epidemic peak that looks more like what happened from March-May elsewhere in the UK:

EllzCDwWoAcP16K?format=png&name=large

so there probably are areas that are only really getting it in a big way now for the first time

Derry & Strabane District Council are by far the worst but all NI councils have had (a lot) more cases lately. Bit worried about Mid Ulster, but it seems - like the rest - to be on the way down, too.

4 minutes ago, sparky88 said:

Unlike England, we have got fairly substantial populations on remote islands that have not been affected too much by COViD, apart from Shetland early on.  I'm not sure a Scotland wide lockdown is appropriate in the same way as it would be for England.

It might also explain why Sturgeon has pressed ahead with local lockdowns even as governments around Europe have locking down. 

I’m not sure she knew about the speed and change in Europe when constructing the tiered system. There was a large Eu meeting midweek to discuss the best way forward and since then large scale lockdowns are in fashion. Your point about Shetland is valid but sadly local thinking looks like being challenged by a one size fits all approach  

10 minutes ago, sparky88 said:

Unlike England, we have got fairly substantial populations on remote islands that have not been affected too much by COViD, apart from Shetland early on.  I'm not sure a Scotland wide lockdown is appropriate in the same way as it would be for England.

It might also explain why Sturgeon has pressed ahead with local lockdowns even as governments around Europe have locking down. 

I wouldn't count 2% as substantial.

Seems like things are speeding up down south with a cabinet meeting today.

I am guessing of angry cabinet ministers demanding something after reading all about it in the media. 

Given they deliberately leak like a sieve trying to find their mole will be more like Whack a mole. 

Keeping up with the amount of posts on here is nuts. Maybe there should be sub topics... one for discussing >82 year olds are expendable and acceptable collateral damage (as was discussed a number of posts back), a “get the pubs open” thread, a “get the schools shut” one, an anecdotal evidence thread to discuss things like “my mate’s, girlfriend’s mum’s auntie’s friend is the only person I know that has had it”, a “why are both Lanarkshire’s not in a permanent tier 5 all of their own” and, of course, one for the anti-masking, anti-vaxing, hoax, great resetter, zoomers to hang out on their own.

Anyone here who would desire the job of a decision maker during this shit-show? That thread could help identify a combination of the bravest members of this forum.....and also those who are deeply in grey cell deficit. Might be difficult to tell them apart.

1 - 0
2 - 0
3 -  a few but one of them is the same GP who has now islotated about 30 times and is a workshy bleep.
4 -  A couple but she sent her wean tae nursery anyway ken.
5 -  That's a difficult one, specifically covid then not really, however covid as an added  complication to existing medical conditions then yes a few.   Incidentally even when I was in one of the heath boards first covid assessment units  (where they gave me PPE that was a month later found to be ineffective) I never admitted anyone though some colleagues did.  

I do however know thanks to colleagues evidence in hospitals that they are  full again critical care wise, the vast vast majority of whom are older people with other medical issues, copd heart disease, obesity issues etc.   Those who are younger and fit are of course much less susceptible.
Interestingly the hospitals believe it or not are less prepared this time.  The reasons are due to increased winter demand due to normal seasonal flu and it makes you wonder why we locked down for so long in summer and reopened things as autumn approached. The real kicker though, the volume of staff now having to isolate, and also increasing levels of staff sickness due to stress, overworked, depression.  Morale is really on the floor.
I guess all that clapping didn't really help in place of a proper support network and actual proper recognition of the work that was being done.  Also working in that environment then having nothing to look forward too I guess can take its toll mentally.
On a personal note I know I am pretty close too burn out, my practice is busier than ever before, the punters are raging because they're not getting seen as quickly, their referrals to hospital etc are still outstanding and we are firefighting everyday.  The level of complexity we are dealing with is a nightmare as we can't get the specialist support from secondary care and you can only delay so much.  Furthermore we like other areas are constantly short staffed which is taking its toll.
This is before the hospitals once again have to pretty much close to non covid patients, but they have no choice as they dont have capacity and staff for doing anything else.   The next few months are going to really suck healthcare wise.   Roll on vaccine please.

When you say critical care are full you can’t mean full because of Covid surely. “Only” 83 Covid cases in Scottish critical care units as of yesterday compared to a peak 220 or so earlier in the year. If anything Covid hospital numbers and in particular critical care admissions look like they may be starting to plateau in Scotland albeit that’s not to say they won’t increase again.
I used to work in critical care. Thankfully retired in 2018. Agree with your comments re morale and certainly about an effective vaccine.

1 minute ago, Tynierose said:

Eclectic tastes, though im going through a bit of a Bowie phase just now.

Bowie was an interesting musician.  Not a huge fan at the time but appreciated him more in retrospect.

Glad he was able to shrug off The Laughing Gnome!

Its mostly non covid thankfully but capacity isn't there for an influx if it comes.

That’s interesting because although hugely concerned the couple of critical care docs I still speak to are much more worried about morale and the effects of Covid restrictions on other services rather than about capacity issues per se. Presumably some variation between the regions. I’m not in the central belt.

Edit to add I understand all critical care units have escalation policies in case of another surge. Fully accept it’s not just about physical space but the difficulty of staffing and the huge impacts that makes on other services e.g. again shutting down all but emergency surgery.

We'll be in full lockdown on Wednesday too. If you're happy to put Falkirk in tier 3 based on its proximity to Lanarkshire, then you'll also be happy to put Scotland in full lockdown based on its proximity to England.

Shame really, but she's tying herself in knots now. Tweeting a few times about how the measurements taken recently are working, and now (most probably) going back to full lockdown.

I know the Scottish Government are cautious but I'm not so sure this time.

If you look at England's figures it is clear they are at a different stage than the 3 other nations. Not saying there won't be more changes - they may not necessarily be a full lockdown.

Also, given that it's only a few days since the new tiers were passed by the Scottish Parliament, and they have not even come into force yet, I genuinely don't think they are going to abandon that plan yet.

Fire in Hairmyres the other day in ward one which was a covid icu. Everyone was OK, and patients were safely moved into the "clean" icu. Unfortunately now all the nurses that were in the clean icu have to isolate for 14 days 😔 

28 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

I hope you have a decent taste in music.

If everyone's stereo is on full blast it won't really matter, surely? Anyway, it will hardly affect you on your 1000 acre estate...

Fire in Hairmyres the other day in ward one which was a covid icu. Everyone was OK, and patients were safely moved into the "clean" icu. Unfortunately now all the nurses that were in the clean icu have to isolate for 14 days [emoji17] 
If they had been wearing correct ppe for situation they would not have to isolate.

3 minutes ago, superbigal said:
23 minutes ago, madwullie said:
Fire in Hairmyres the other day in ward one which was a covid icu. Everyone was OK, and patients were safely moved into the "clean" icu. Unfortunately now all the nurses that were in the clean icu have to isolate for 14 days emoji17.png 

If they had been wearing correct ppe for situation they would not have to isolate.

I think people were being moved from a burning room to one that wasn't on fire. They might not have had time to sort some of the finer points.

It was a fire in a ward full of oxygen machines.

7 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Seems like the Covid deniers prefer red dots to rebuttal.  :lol:

You’ve really changed your tune from the “AH’LL BE AT THE SHOPS WITH MY WIFE WHETHER THEY WANT ME TO OR NOT” days.

I’m far from a COVID denier, but it is utterly moronic to just go straight for a full month lockdown based on... something.

What is your reasoning for another full lockdown? Do you want us to continue with full lockdowns for a period, then relax for a period, then back to full lockdowns etc indefinitely?

We never had a "full lockdown" in this country at any point. You had folk piling into cars to buy yoghurts 30 miles from their house, going to 'Big Licks' for ice cream 5 nights a week and 25 folk in gardens when the R rate was sky high and 1,000 folk a day were dying in the UK from covid.