Coronavirus (COVID-19)

8 hours ago, TheGoon said:

Schools and universities staying open :lol: 

"National lockdown" 🤣

8 hours ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

And to prove the point - look who red dotted.

image.png.0a52990bb9e25c64f8780cab651e821b.png

That's a bit of a negative post!

You should focus on the positive reactions your invaluable contributions to this topic receive:

Screenshot_20201031-075707_Gallery.jpg.2d3957f8af2244415309623aebc4227a.jpg

tv show lol GIF

3 minutes ago, Tynierose said:

1 - 0

2 - 0

3 -  a few but one of them is the same GP who has now islotated about 30 times and is a workshy bleep.

4 -  A couple but she sent her wean tae nursery anyway ken.

5 -  That's a difficult one, specifically covid then not really, however covid as an added  complication to existing medical conditions then yes a few.   Incidentally even when I was in one of the heath boards first covid assessment units  (where they gave me PPE that was a month later found to be ineffective) I never admitted anyone though some colleagues did.  

I do however know thanks to colleagues evidence in hospitals that they are  full again critical care wise, the vast vast majority of whom are older people with other medical issues, copd heart disease, obesity issues etc.   Those who are younger and fit are of course much less susceptible.

Interestingly the hospitals believe it or not are less prepared this time.  The reasons are due to increased winter demand due to normal seasonal flu and it makes you wonder why we locked down for so long in summer and reopened things as autumn approached. The real kicker though, the volume of staff now having to isolate, and also increasing levels of staff sickness due to stress, overworked, depression.  Morale is really on the floor.

I guess all that clapping didn't really help in place of a proper support network and actual proper recognition of the work that was being done.  Also working in that environment then having nothing to look forward too I guess can take its toll mentally.

On a personal note I know I am pretty close too burn out, my practice is busier than ever before, the punters are raging because they're not getting seen as quickly, their referrals to hospital etc are still outstanding and we are firefighting everyday.  The level of complexity we are dealing with is a nightmare as we can't get the specialist support from secondary care and you can only delay so much.  Furthermore we like other areas are constantly short staffed which is taking its toll.

This is before the hospitals once again have to pretty much close to non covid patients, but they have no choice as they dont have capacity and staff for doing anything else.   The next few months are going to really suck healthcare wise.   Roll on vaccine please.

But apart from that...

IMG_3992.jpg

If Boris is announcing a lockdown on Monday how is wee Nic going to announce that it’s stating here first?
Sunday evening broadcast incoming to your house IMO.

Just now, Lex said:

IMG_3992.jpg

If Boris is announcing a lockdown on Monday how is wee Nic going to announce that it’s stating here first?

They're more fucked up than us

Due to having done nothing over last month whereas at least we have taken some measures

Although in answer to question multiple areas will be put into tier 4 within the week which is tantamount to the same thing

7 hours ago, Scotty Tunbridge said:

If this second lock down is brought back in England I can’t see it being complied with. people are over it now so are putting their own mental health and financial needs first this time, furlough gone and not coming back, schools/unis staying open this time is going to put people off complying as well, came in too late again etc etc.

Can't see how the furlough scheme won't be immediately revived

From April, at the height of the first wave:
Screenshot_20201030-235717_Gallery.thumb.jpg.e83122170a50d0fe941ecc24e4d6f5eb.jpg

This is The Guy we have as National Clinical Director that people fawn over because "he talks like a real person" and "likes the football and that eh".

No wonder the pandemic response in this country has been a shambles.

I'm saying that SG policies are lead by populist policies.
As it appears atm, though, it would have been less disruptive overall
If polls are to be believed, we would be full lockdown using your reasoning as every study / poll I've seen puts support for that at 65% and upwards. You do realise your stance on this is a pretty extreme one popularity wise no matter how many posts you try to pump out pushing it?

7 minutes ago, Binos said:

Can't see how the furlough scheme won't be immediately revived

I wouldn't completely count on that. The Government appear to be doing nothing much in terms of financial assistance. For example the controversial Universal Credit minimum income floor returns in 2 weeks. That's going to be catastrophic for a lot of self-employed folk. 

IMG_3992.thumb.jpg.22f7455a677e7bf7c21b9f60f6b6b3f3.jpg

They will give their new system at least until the first review especially as the new infections seem to be generally levelling off. Would need them to start accelerating again too I would think especially as the vibes this morning are min 4 possibly 6 weeks down south.

We'll be in full lockdown on Wednesday too. If you're happy to put Falkirk in tier 3 based on its proximity to Lanarkshire, then you'll also be happy to put Scotland in full lockdown based on its proximity to England.

Shame really, but she's tying herself in knots now. Tweeting a few times about how the measurements taken recently are working, and now (most probably) going back to full lockdown.

We'll be in full lockdown on Wednesday too. If you're happy to put Falkirk in tier 3 based on its proximity to Lanarkshire, then you'll also be happy to put Scotland in full lockdown based on its proximity to England.
Shame really, but she's tying herself in knots now. Tweeting a few times about how the measurements taken recently are working, and now (most probably) going back to full lockdown.

She has never mentioned going back into lockdown since this broke so the only person tying themself into knots is you. At the moment that is 100% all in your head !!!

8 hours ago, alta-pete said:

I appreciate PnB is a very small slice of a rather specialist demographic, but: could we please have a show of hands for those you know:

1. immediate householders who have Covid. 
2. those who have connections to, but self sufficent, family members with/suspected  Covid;.

3. Work colleagues self isolating with suspected Covid. 

4.  Known self isolations because of Covid. 
5. Any other known hospitalisations as a result or Covid? 

it’s definitely real but I’d be surprised if, in our little corner of the world,  we’ve got more than two dozen or so individuals  directly, seriously and significantly affected.

Prove me wrong?

(that does of course never deny individual hospitalisations or deaths as trivial. What I am trying to do to is get some sort of a measure of real experience vs what is being fed through the media). 

point 3 is irrelevant-we all know who the skiving shitebags at work are and we could all have predicted back in march the ones who almost immediately would need to take 2 weeks off to isolate,any genuine cases at our work will have been hidden by the chancers

8 hours ago, Ralstonite said:

But what if the powers that be sat around a table and debated how they would reduce emissions very quickly? "Aye, we know people need to stop taking flights and driving cars, but how do we stop them doing that?" they mused; perhaps. The economic damage might mean that people stop buying pointless shite, too. Just a thought.

it certainly crossed my cynical mind but surely....naw😮

17 minutes ago, Binos said:

They're more fucked up than us

Due to having done nothing over last month whereas at least we have taken some measures

Although in answer to question multiple areas will be put into tier 4 within the week which is tantamount to the same thing

Yes, the much publicised fight over Manchester going into Tier 3 and much of Northern England being chucked in there as well was indeed the Government "doing nothing". The only thing Johnson didn't do that the rest of the UK did was the circuit/fire  breaker.  

A national lockdown is unjust based on the figures. Granted figures are rising across the whole of England it is northern England and in particular the North West that remains the problem area it's been for months. It should've been properly locked down about two months ago. 

7 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
10 minutes ago, Steven W said:

She has never mentioned going back into lockdown since this broke so the only person tying themself into knots is you. At the moment that is 100% all in your head !!!

Give it a couple of days. She hinted at it last week anyway

20 minutes ago, Tynierose said:

All good, got a lovely new table delivered yesterday and I'm going to football this afternoon weather permitting.

You must be getting plenty of overtime, new car, new washing machine and a table now. Some are doing alright out of this virus!

Makes you think.

Hopefully NS and co are following trends like the one below and won't hit the panic button like BJ appears to be doing. BJ clearly doesn't want to be remembered as the PM that cancelled Christmas and the Oxford Uni vaccine people were getting excited about as the magic bullet exit stategy seems to have been delayed (no huge shock because developing safe and effective vaccines is always highly challenging):

EllwZhKXUAAYpaA?format=png&name=large

New cases already seem to have peaked in the Gerrymandered Orange Statelet under the Jackboot of British Military Occupation (or however people on here prefer to refer to Northern Ireland):

EllwaIRWMAIWxPr?format=png&name=large

6 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

You must be getting plenty of overtime, new car, new washing machine and a table now. Some are doing alright out of this virus!

Makes you think.

Maybe the don has a point

https://www.cnn.com/2020/10/31/politics/donald-trump-doctors-midwest-2020-election/index.html

Edited by doulikefish