Coronavirus (COVID-19)

I'm sorry but you wanting wee Latapy bussed off to school so you can watch Judge Rinder in peace should not be government priority right now. fact. end off x

A proper Yer Da AVE GOAT TWO WEANS post, but I had a quick swatch at my sent emails on the weeks during the original lockdown in March when I had my kids at my house. I sent, on average, three times more emails on the weeks my kids were at their Mum’s house than when they were with me.

My kids are 11 and 9, so not needing constant attention, but sort of goes to show that home schooling can be difficult whilst juggling WFH, so I’m sure my employer, and thousands of others, are praying that schools remain open over anything else tbh.

Edit: I write code for a living and in May I was probably quite close to getting the tin tack for taking a week to write a script that should probably have taken a day, but my youngest son was being a massive pain in the arse and wouldn’t shut up. Keep them in school plz.

18 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

I was on a bus yesterday, wearing my mask as is required. I went on the top deck as there's usually less people there.

A 50 something bam was sitting at the front with his mask pulled down, drinking an energy drink, coughing and sniffing, wiping his fingers everywhere. I was 2m away from this guy...

1) It did cross my mind to call him out about wearing a mask but cowardice won the day. Given there's likely to be more restrictions now I wish I had.

2) He seemed representative of the 15% a poster mentioned that don't give a f*ck. Some other folk got on and sat opposite this guy and if he did have Covid there's a good chance they were at risk of catching it. 

If more restrictions are put in place again will that get the message through to some folk or will they still not bother?

If the rules aren't backed up by serious enforcement and fines etc, then they will still not bother. Rather than tightening of the rules, which if anything should be relaxed imo, what should be done is more serious punishment for those who do actually breach them. Including those who refuse to wear masks. With almost no exemptions

12 minutes ago, Adam said:

A proper Yer Da AVE GOAT TWO WEANS post, but I had a quick swatch at my sent emails on the weeks during the original lockdown in March when I had my kids at my house. I sent, on average, three times more emails on the weeks my kids were at their Mum’s house than when they were with me.

My kids are 11 and 9, so not needing constant attention, but sort of goes to show that home schooling can be difficult whilst juggling WFH, so I’m sure my employer, and thousands of others, are praying that schools remain open over anything else tbh.

Edit: I write code for a living and in May I was probably quite close to getting the tin tack for taking a week to write a script that should probably have taken a day, but my youngest son was being a massive pain in the arse and wouldn’t shut up. Keep them in school plz.

Screenshot_20200922-180527_Free Adblocker Browser.jpg

Is there a chance the biggest driver of Covid from schools returning isn’t the kids entering the classroom but the behaviour it enables?

Mummies gathering at the school gates. Impromptu coffee outings. Heading back to Susan’s for a blether. Allowing parents to go back into their workplace. Picking the kids up from a childminder/family/grandparents and mingling as you do so. Invites to kids parties at the weekend and mingling with other parents.

Quite clearly shit started hitting the fan when schools went back. You can point to it on the chart. However the numbers for schoolkids, especially primary, are not rising at the rate of the general population. There has to be something in the ‘kids don’t carry it as much’ or one case in a class would at the bare minimum be sending down three or four every time, and that just doesn’t seem to happen. Equally Test & Protect would notice with ease if the parents of entire classes were picking up Covid transmitted via the asymptomatic kids.

The Facebook Maws might just be the real enemy.

When I go into the pub I get my temperature checked by the bar staff with one of those hand held thermometer things* If I have a high temperature, a Covid symptom, I presume I'll be sent away

Are they doing the same thing in schools? I don't know how much these thermometers cost but teachers could check pupil's temperatures at class registration in the morning easily enough.

*If you're an anti-masker they're actually for implanting suggestions into your brain.

Must..buy..The Daily Mail... Must... support....Clyde....

2 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

When I go into the pub I get my temperature checked by the bar staff with one of those hand held thermometer things* If I have a high temperature, a Covid symptom, I presume I'll be sent away

Are they doing the same thing in schools? I don't know how much these thermometers cost but teachers could check pupil's temperatures at class registration in the morning easily enough.

*If you're an anti-masker they're actually for implanting suggestions into your brain.

Must..buy..The Daily Mail... Must... support....Clyde....

852734.jpg?b64lines=Q09NRSBPTiwgUFVUIFRIQVQgQVdBWS4gClJBREFSIEdVTlMgR0lWRSBZT1UgQ0FOQ0VSLg==

1 minute ago, Paco said:

Is there a chance the biggest driver of Covid from schools returning isn’t the kids entering the classroom but the behaviour it enables?

Mummies gathering at the school gates. Impromptu coffee outings. Heading back to Susan’s for a blether. Allowing parents to go back into their workplace. Picking the kids up from a childminder/family/grandparents and mingling as you do so. Invites to kids parties at the weekend and mingling with other parents.

Quite clearly shit started hitting the fan when schools went back. It’s abundantly clear. However the numbers for schoolkids, especially primary, are not rising at the rate of the general population. There has to be something in the ‘kids don’t carry it as much’ or one case in a class would at the bare minimum be sending down three or four every time, and that just doesn’t seem to happen. Equally Teat & Protect would notice with ease if the parents of entire classes were picking up Covid transmitted via the asymptomatic kids.

There's a report today that some of the rise has been seen among women between ages of 20-40, who are the group most likely to have childcare responsiblities and to work in childcare.

1 minute ago, ICTChris said:

There's a report today that some of the rise has been seen among women between ages of 20-40, who are the group most likely to have childcare responsiblities and to work in childcare.

It's obviously time for all publicly spirited P&Bers to crash Mumsnet and call them a bunch of dull witted disease spreading Typhoid Marys....

26 minutes ago, Adam said:

I would imagine most parents would want their kids in school for similar reasons. It must be a nightmare having to see to them while trying to work. It's perfectly reasonable to want them out the house.

At least you're honest about it instead of screaming about a lost generation and such like because kids will have to see their teachers via Zoom for a few months during a global pandemic.

I'd say leaving schools open and shutting down play parks, cinemas, libraries, leisure centres, etc, again to facilitate this would have more of a detrimental impact on most children than blended learning.

Edited by Szamo's_Ammo

12 minutes ago, Paco said:

Quite clearly shit started hitting the fan when schools went back. You can point to it on the chart. However the numbers for schoolkids, especially primary, are not rising at the rate of the general population. There has to be something in the ‘kids don’t carry it as much’ or one case in a class would at the bare minimum be sending down three or four every time, and that just doesn’t seem to happen. Equally Test & Protect would notice with ease if the parents of entire classes were picking up Covid transmitted via the asymptomatic kids.

I have a number of teachers in my family and the pre-back to school drinky-poos with the girlies wouldn't have helped things either. 💅

Just now, Szamo's_Ammo said:

At least you're honest about it instead of screaming about a lost generation and such like because kids will have to see their teachers via Zoom for a few months during a global pandemic.

Scottish children did not see their teachers via Zoom, or any other messaging app, during the pandemic.

1 hour ago, Billy Jean King said:

The vast majority of parents wants schools to remain open as it's by far the best mechanism for learning.

The vast majority of parents have got no fucking idea what the best mechanism for learning is. They have pedagogical insight or training whatsoever to make that judgment. They just want things back to the way that was because it is most convenient for their schedules.

They also have no actual experience of how blended learning works despite the common myth peddled by yourself and others on here that what we had from March-June was a taste of that horror. It was nothing of the sort.

7 minutes ago, Paco said:

The school I work at finishes at 3 o’clock for P1-3’s and 3.15pm for 4-7’s to stagger pick ups but outside the school gates is mobbed with parents.

I’m not sure what more the school can do but the potential for it to spread amongst waiting parents is huge as it’s a narrow path with around 200 odd kids piling out at two separate intervals.

Lol at productivity being measured in emails. The Chinese might be able to build a hospital in a week but it'll be decades before they surpass our email and meeting industry.

Schools need to remain open. Kids are already weird due to iPad parenting and not getting outside on their own. Desocialising them further is just cruelty.

3 hours ago, RH33 said:

That’s the highland league binned for the season then.

This would be annoying - should be easy to social distance what with the size of Highland League grounds & the amount of people that go to the games. Safer as well, as it’s outside. Bit of common sense needed from the Government when it comes to our level of football 🤷🏻‍♂️

44 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Meanwhile in Vicky's pet country who can do no wrong..

Good to see that you're taking your mumbleclown failure on the masks thread well by, erm, dropping flailing non-sequiturs into another thread. On a topic that was in fact highlighted by yours truly a week ago:

On 15/09/2020 at 09:56, virginton said:

Sweden's cases have dropped so much that they're now getting put back on the green travel list by other EU countries:

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/sweden/

Czechia on the other hand, having sailed through the spring outbreak, seems to have timed its response badly and is getting clobbered second time round:

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/czech-republic/

Gammonland's figures are just reliably piss-poor across the board:

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/uk/

Thanks for playing anyway champ. 

1123341775_tenor(7).gif.607ba71985ac562889e2b2db62643277.gif

Edited by vikingTON