Coronavirus (COVID-19)

I will happily wager my next mortgage payment that more people will die because of alcohol this weekend. Absolute madness that pubs are opening before the likes of swimming pools, and I personally feel that alcohol sales should have been heavily restricted if not banned from the outset of this crisis.
Careful now, you'll be witchunted for telling the truth.

5 minutes ago, G_Man1985 said:

We have people on the door. Refuse entry. This is usually where the staff member gets assaulted or spat at. 

However when in store and they arent keeping distance or following one way system is when we get told we are not the police.

Fair enough.

Are the police being called following these instances? I'd certainly hope the victim would be pressing charges.

Just now, D.A.F.C said:
16 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:
I will happily wager my next mortgage payment that more people will die because of alcohol this weekend. Absolute madness that pubs are opening before the likes of swimming pools, and I personally feel that alcohol sales should have been heavily restricted if not banned from the outset of this crisis.

Careful now, you'll be witchunted for telling the truth.

I can't understand why you get a hard time at work.

You seem quite rational.

Just now, Gaz said:

Fair enough.

Are the police being called following these instances? I'd certainly hope the victim would be pressing charges.

Yes. 

However isnt always the case when customer kicks off. Had one kick off because a staff member told them to follow the arrows. They didnt want to n told staff member to f**k off, manager got involved and told customer to leave. While customer left they decided to throw some milk onto the floor. ( why no idea )

Meh it is what it is.

Just now, G_Man1985 said:

Yes. 

However isnt always the case when customer kicks off. Had one kick off because a staff member told them to follow the arrows. They didnt want to n told staff member to f**k off, manager got involved and told customer to leave. While customer left they decided to throw some milk onto the floor. ( why no idea )

Meh it is what it is.

That should be a police incident as well. Unless they're coming to Tesco with their own milk ready to go, then it's a whiter area.

20 minutes ago, Thereisalight.. said:

I was out and didn’t watch the briefing, did they give any indication how long the wearing of face coverings is shops is likely to last? 

No they did not

Just now, Ludo*1 said:

That should be a police incident as well. Unless they're coming to Tesco with their own milk ready to go, then it's a whiter area.

Cameras we have for the police to check and chase up also depending how badly the customer kicks off also.

Police we see frequently as stealing the now is pretty high the now. However that is another matter :-).

However I speak ot the minority.  Not everyone spits and swears at staff members. 

I can't understand why you get a hard time at work.
You seem quite rational.
That's the personal attacks started. Only a matter of time wasn't it really.

You're the one that's completely irrational and won't move on anything depsite evidence showing you otherwise.

Lockdown was unnecessary.
Unlocking won't make any difference.
Sweden got it right.

Staggering levels of ignorance.

56 minutes ago, Detournement said:

Aye but facemasks become ineffective if you touch them and no one is going to be able to work in a shop for hours without touching them unconsciously.

They also need to be changed and disposed of every four hours or if it's taken off.

It's certainly better to not touch them whenever possible - or to simply clean your hands before and after doing so - but the idea that they need to be removed several times in a single day or no longer prove an effective barrier is utter nonsense. This is the sort of pish that Leitch has been peddling for months until the economy was left in a fucking ditch. 

Surprised it took till half 3 tbh

But to read another thread and pick something out of it while not contributing to it seems a bit shitty does it not?

As if you're looking for ammunition because you are in the wrong perhaps?

I'm currently reading Private Eyes from 35 years ago. Nothing has changed - government incompetence/corruption, civil service/HMRC getting conned by IT consultants, planning laws getting the run around, listed buildings mysteriously catching fire, EU subsidies being used for money laundering, nepotism/corruption in local and national politics, trade unions looking after their officials rather than their members, old boys network re quango/House of Lords appointments, civil servants retiring and taking up lucrative "consultancies" in their field of expertise, inquiries into disasters - e.g Herald of Free Enterprise - resulting in cover ups, it's a bit depressing, actually.

7 minutes ago, D.A.F.C said:

But to read another thread and pick something out of it while not contributing to it seems a bit shitty does it not?

As if you're looking for ammunition because you are in the wrong perhaps?

Go outside and rejoice. You'll feel better

Just now, doulikefish said:

Cannae believe all the global pandemic specialists are arguing on a football forum.I thought they would have better things to be getting on with 

Wild that folk are posting opinions on a forum, madness!

28 minutes ago, virginton said:

It's certainly better to not touch them whenever possible - or to simply clean your hands before and after doing so - but the idea that they need to be removed several times in a single day or no longer prove an effective barrier is utter nonsense. This is the sort of pish that Leitch has been peddling for months until the economy was left in a fucking ditch. 

In my work there was a training session on using PPE and individual masks can only be used for four hours max then need to be safely disposed of in a designated bin.

Edited by Detournement

27 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

I'm currently reading Private Eyes from 35 years ago. Nothing has changed - government incompetence/corruption, civil service/HMRC getting conned by IT consultants, planning laws getting the run around, listed buildings mysteriously catching fire, EU subsidies being used for money laundering, nepotism/corruption in local and national politics, trade unions looking after their officials rather than their members, old boys network re quango/House of Lords appointments, civil servants retiring and taking up lucrative "consultancies" in their field of expertise, inquiries into disasters - e.g Herald of Free Enterprise - resulting in cover ups, it's a bit depressing, actually.

....Morton still in our shadow. Correct, fcuk-all changes.

8 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

aye I've no idea how virginton reached that conclusion from what you said (other than usual spoiling for a fight nature)

The issue obviously is if your employer is providing PPE they need to go with the actual product standard rather than folk buying masks from the corner shop and treating them like a scarf or gloves.