Coronavirus (COVID-19)

1 minute ago, Wee Willie said:

Whit! Non-controversial! So do you accept that the British (& Scottish) Labour party supports Trident in Scottish waters. And that's no controversial?

Do you also accept the British (& Scottish) Labour party supports Scotland paying a share of HS2 and other expensive English projects. And that's no controversial?

Do you agree with me that the Tory & Labour parties are twa cheeks o' the same arse regarding their disdain for Scotland?

How do you explain a royalist as the heid man of a so-called socialist party?

The two main parties' disdain, and perceived disdain, for Scotland just reflects the casually racist attitude a majority of potential voters down here hold towards all the Celtic Nations.

There's a lot of Labour members, MPs and yes, even a very recent leader, who want rid of all Nuclear weapons. It is an idea which has been pushed aside in the priority queue by Brexit, imho. Let's see where we go in future.

What exactly makes you think that Labour supports HS2 in the form promoted by the Tories? There was a party which had a manifesto pledge to continue the line into Scotland, which I assume you would be in favour of. Shame England wanted to Get Brexit Done...

How much of a Royalist is Starmer? How important is his view on that issue to his psition as leader? Again, I would say there is a large minority of the Party (YT included) who would kick the Windsors and all their extanded family of parasites onto the streets and use their property portfolio as housing for the deserving, but that is something we'd be swimming against the tide with at the moment.

I do enjoy reading your posts, Willie, but at times you do come over a wee bit McGlashan-ey.

46 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

Nah! I prefer ♫ Should I stay or should I go

BTW are you still a YES man?

Aye, I've a feeling that we'll see a lot of chaos over the next few years (from Westminster) and we'll get a second referendum, which hopefully the nawbags won't fcuk up.

11 minutes ago, cyderspaceman said:

pubcovid.jpeg

Bound to happen,  which is why I'll be avoiding pubs for a good while longer,  a nice cold pint would be nice though.  Cans and bottles just aren't the same and those wee mini kegs always seem to fcuk up half way through.

11 minutes ago, bennett said:

Bound to happen,  which is why I'll be avoiding pubs for a good while longer,  a nice cold pint would be nice though.  Cans and bottles just aren't the same and those wee mini kegs always seem to fcuk up half way through.

I will be finding a nice quiet corner of my local for a cold pint of T once they are reopened.

3 hours ago, alta-pete said:

I think we’re ahead of that curve here in Scotland. Your post even confirms your view on what you are trying to criticise.

Everything is framed from a Nat/Yoon perspective with very little, if any, reasoned middle ground. 

Maybe that’s because there is no coherent argument for Unionism.  

1 hour ago, bennett said:

Aye, I've a feeling that we'll see a lot of chaos over the next few years (from Westminster) and we'll get a second referendum, which hopefully the nawbags won't fcuk up.

Gaun yersel Bennet

42 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Maybe that’s because there is no coherent argument for Unionism.  

That's why I've asked him for the 'reasoned middle ground'

As a non-boozer it doesn't excite me but one of my old haunts in Edinburgh near the meadows will sell you huge plastic tubs of draught beer out of a hatch, which you can they enjoy whilst sitting on the grass or on a bench. 

3 minutes ago, Boostin' Kev said:

Has Sturgeon mentioned anything about post quarantine holidays here?  

Think she's keen on taking a week to do the North 500 but might head to the Canaries a long weekend in October as well if she can get the time aff

22 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

As a non-boozer it doesn't excite me but one of my old haunts in Edinburgh near the meadows will sell you huge plastic tubs of draught beer out of a hatch, which you can they enjoy whilst sitting on the grass or on a bench. 

Can you then use said tubs to piss into? It seems the biggest issue for folk down here now is not the virus, it's finding somewhere for a quiet slash.

2 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

Can you then use said tubs to piss into? It seems the biggest issue for folk down here now is not the virus, it's finding somewhere for a quiet slash.

How about Lancashire... ;)

3 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

Yes, then drink that too. 

1 hour ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

The two main parties' disdain, and perceived disdain, for Scotland just reflects the casually racist attitude a majority of potential voters down here hold towards all the Celtic Nations.

It's no just the casual racism of potential English voters. It's also the same thing from the English political parties.

The Tory and the Labour party (& the LibDems) have all refused to acknowledge that Scotland can decide herself  (through a referendum) whether to stay or go .

Would you agree with me it is the Scottish electorate who will make the decisions and no BoJo or Starmer.

There's a lot of Labour members, MPs and yes, even a very recent leader, who want rid of all Nuclear weapons. It is an idea which has been pushed aside in the priority queue by Brexit, imho. Let's see where we go in future.

Rubbish! This is from 3 years ago

THE LABOUR PARTY MANIFESTO 2017

Labour supports the renewal of the Trident nuclear deterrent. As a nuclear-armed power, our country has a responsibility to fulfil our obligations under the Nuclear Non- Proliferation Treaty.

and this is the Scottish Labour version. Weasel words  from a weasel party

THE SCOTTISH LABOUR PARTY MANIFESTO 2017

Defence is a reserved issue and UK Labour continues to support the renewal of the Trident nuclear deterrent.

What exactly makes you think that Labour supports HS2 in the form promoted by the Tories? There was a party which had a manifesto pledge to continue the line into Scotland, which I assume you would be in favour of. Shame England wanted to Get Brexit Done...

I've no idea but I've yet to read anything from a UK/Scottish Labour party decrying the fact that Scotland has to pay a share of the HS2 costs as well as other expensive English projects. Also I'm no in favour of extending HS2 to Scotland. It would make far more sense to electrify the whole of main line Scottish Routes.

How much of a Royalist is Starmer? How important is his view on that issue to his psition as leader? Again, I would say there is a large minority of the Party (YT included) who would kick the Windsors and all their extanded family of parasites onto the streets and use their property portfolio as housing for the deserving, but that is something we'd be swimming against the tide with at the moment.

He is enough of a royalist to bend the knee and acknowledge Charlie Windsor as his better/superior. If he is the heid man of a socialist party then why does he no reject his title?

408675972_keithstarmer.jpg.bbb6b2d76e41a69632f401f3647e7304.jpg

I do enjoy reading your posts, Willie, but at times you do come over a wee bit McGlashan-ey.

I always enjoy reading your posts and usually concur with the sentiments but how can you say that the Labour Party is non-controversial.

And what or who is McGlashan?

3 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

It's the done thing to pish in someone else's tub when they're not looking. The new normal.