Coronavirus (COVID-19)

3 hours ago, Father Ted said:

Good to see Dispatches getting the boot into the Tories, regards initial response to Coronavirus tonight.

Amateurish, out of their depth, ignorant and arrogant throughout.

Sir Paul Nurse, of Francis Crick Institute described them as a blancmange.

Macron was due to shut border with UK, if Tories didn't get their finger out. 

Worth a watch.

I watched it and by f**k as the minutes rolled by my teeth got drier from the inhales.

Watching parliament as they talked of "a world class response" to the disease and they all cheered I was half expecting a quick blast of Rule Britannia.

With the evidence of how incompetent Boris and his gang of fools are laid out in the way C4 did, it really is hard for the most hardened of Tory voters to defend them on this.

3 hours ago, Gaz FFC said:

I watched it and by f**k as the minutes rolled by my teeth got drier from the inhales.

Watching parliament as they talked of "a world class response" to the disease and they all cheered I was half expecting a quick blast of Rule Britannia.

With the evidence of how incompetent Boris and his gang of fools are laid out in the way C4 did, it really is hard for the most hardened of Tory voters to defend them on this.

The defence is: fakenews. 

Politics is dead. Everything is deliberately framed as leave / remain. With the damage the tories could do in the next 4 years I really don't see how the country can recover. Verging on US style partisan politics. 

Check the figures from the likes of France, Italy and Spain 2-3 weeks ago and compare them to ours now.
I still find it incredible that people not only don't seem to remember that we have been 2-3 weeks behind throughout the outbreak, but seem outraged and surprised that we haven't somehow fast forwarded those weeks and caught up.
If we are still at the level we are today in 2-3 weeks then of course we can be angry at not being closer to the levels they are at just now. But pointing it out right now as if it's a fresh outrage displays a lack of understanding IMO.

2 weeks ago Italy 161 deaths, Spain 110 deaths, France 110 deaths

3 weeks ago Italy 195 deaths, Spain 184 deaths, France 83 deaths

11 hours ago, Todd_is_God said:

Check the figures from the likes of France, Italy and Spain 2-3 weeks ago and compare them to ours now.

I still find it incredible that people not only don't seem to remember that we have been 2-3 weeks behind throughout the outbreak, but seem outraged and surprised that we haven't somehow fast forwarded those weeks and caught up.

If we are still at the level we are today in 2-3 weeks then of course we can be angry at not being closer to the levels they are at just now. But pointing it out right now as if it's a fresh outrage displays a lack of understanding IMO.

Being 2-3 weeks behind provides an opportunity to learn from others mistakes; ending up with a worse outcome is a massive fail.

2 weeks ago Italy 161 deaths, Spain 110 deaths, France 110 deaths

3 weeks ago Italy 195 deaths, Spain 184 deaths, France 83 deaths
The problem is that the figure that is officially announced bears no resemblance to the actual number of deaths that day - it's a count of how many additional deaths they have to add the total. For example, the other day added 450 deaths that had taken place from mid April.

The only daily figure that is worth tracking is the ONS and NRS figures but obviously they come with a delay.

2 hours ago, madwullie said:

Politics is dead. Everything is deliberately framed as leave / remain. With the damage the tories could do in the next 4 years I really don't see how the country can recover. Verging on US style partisan politics. 

I think we’re ahead of that curve here in Scotland. Your post even confirms your view on what you are trying to criticise.

Everything is framed from a Nat/Yoon perspective with very little, if any, reasoned middle ground. 

On 03/06/2020 at 23:03, dirty dingus said:

Is this someone from on here?

I do hope he's at least thinking , if not actually saying"brrm, brrm, brrm, brrm...".

eta      

McDonald's has reminded people that pedestrians, horse riders and cyclists can't use the drive-thru, while cars, vans, motorbikes and road-legal mobility scooters can.

Edited by cyderspaceman

3 hours ago, madwullie said:

At least we in Scotland have another option Wullie

49 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

I think we’re ahead of that curve here in Scotland. Your post even confirms your view on what you are trying to criticise.

Everything is framed from a Nat/Yoon perspective with very little, if any, reasoned middle ground. 

If you have Nationalists on one side and unionists on the other side what is a 'reasoned middle ground'?

1 hour ago, true_rover said:

The problem is that the figure that is officially announced bears no resemblance to the actual number of deaths that day - it's a count of how many additional deaths they have to add the total. For example, the other day added 450 deaths that had taken place from mid April.

The only daily figure that is worth tracking is the ONS and NRS figures but obviously they come with a delay.

Here, anyway, the greatest percentage of deaths announced each day occurred 2 days prior, with the rest scattered over weeks and months. They also include deaths in all settings. I genuinely don't know what other countries count as a Covid-19 death (China, for example, only include symptomatic cases in their infection totals) or what their reporting lag is.

As mentioned the NRS figure is the best indicator. Last week saw 83 more all causes deaths in Scotland than the previous high for that week, and 108 (10.6%) more than the previous 5 year average.

I'm starting to doubt Scotland is a couple of weeks behind the rest of the UK on this journey tbh. At worst we appear to be at the same stage, at best we are closer to the numbers returning to normal levels. If anyone is behind it is England...

20200604_074413.jpg

2 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Here, anyway, the greatest percentage of deaths announced each day occurred 2 days prior, with the rest scattered over weeks and months. They also include deaths in all settings. I genuinely don't know what other countries count as a Covid-19 death (China, for example, only include symptomatic cases in their infection totals) or what their reporting lag is.

As mentioned the NRS figure is the best indicator. Last week saw 83 more all causes deaths in Scotland than the previous high for that week, and 108 (10.6%) more than the previous 5 year average.

I'm starting to doubt Scotland is a couple of weeks behind the rest of the UK on this journey tbh. At worst we appear to be at the same stage, at best we are closer to the numbers returning to normal levels. If anyone is behind it is England...

20200604_074413.jpg

I totally agree about who's in front of who, not sure where we stood before England eased the lockdown but I'm very confident that we're now in front of them. 

Getting really fed up with events continually being cancelled all across the globe (I take an interest in the World Rally Championship and woke this morning to the news that the Finland leg in August and New Zealand in September are now cancelled).

Can't see there being any live gigs, football or indeed any sport with fans any time this year. Mass participation events (running events) likewise. And who knows, possibly not next year either.

All work (if you're lucky) and no play makes for a pretty grim existence

1 hour ago, Wee Willie said:

If you have Nationalists on one side and unionists on the other side what is a 'reasoned middle ground'?

Stuck in the middle with you?

1 hour ago, Wee Willie said:

It is a phrase which you have rightly put in quotes, as it as near meaningless as makes no difference. In a world where Labour's manifestos at the last three elections have been branded as "extremist" and "marxist", and the Conservative Party would struggle to get a fag paper between their recent manifestos and that of the BNP twenty years ago, you would have to put the likes of Heath's Government and even Thatchers in the Centre ground, or at worst centre-right. Blair's mob would, as always, nestle comfortably alongside his heroine.

Looking around Europe, you would have to say that the UK Labour Party comes closest to what the majority of Europeans would regard as reasonable and non-controversial. Just a shame the Mail, Express and Sun have the influence they do, eh?

10 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

It is a phrase which you have rightly put in quotes, as it as near meaningless as makes no difference. In a world where Labour's manifestos at the last three elections have been branded as "extremist" and "marxist", and the Conservative Party would struggle to get a fag paper between their recent manifestos and that of the BNP twenty years ago, you would have to put the likes of Heath's Government and even Thatchers in the Centre ground, or at worst centre-right. Blair's mob would, as always, nestle comfortably alongside his heroine.

Looking around Europe, you would have to say that the UK Labour Party comes closest to what the majority of Europeans would regard as reasonable and non-controversial. Just a shame the Mail, Express and Sun have the influence they do, eh?

Whit! Non-controversial! So do you accept that the British (& Scottish) Labour party supports Trident in Scottish waters. And that's no controversial?

Do you also accept the British (& Scottish) Labour party supports Scotland paying a share of HS2 and other expensive English projects. And that's no controversial?

Do you agree with me that the Tory & Labour parties are twa cheeks o' the same arse regarding their disdain for Scotland?

How do you explain a royalist as the heid man of a so-called socialist party?