Coronavirus (COVID-19)

This is day 7 of Bairnardos unconfirmed coronavirus journey. Symbolic as it represents the theoretical end of self isolation.

Lastnights thunderous shits are a it of a mystery. I am unconvinced they were actually a symptom of the virus. I feel they may be unconnected which should allow pub car king some slight relief....

I am still a bit clammy, and there are still some aches in my legs and lower back but despite this, today is the first day where I have woke up and not felt specifically unwell. I feel fairly normal. The cough is still there intermittently but is now quite productive and I am a wee bit snotty. It's a bit like the proper virus has left and what I have now is just the aftermath.

I still cant smell or taste though with only tiny, barely perceptible improvement if any over the past couple of days. This is now my biggest concern.

20 minutes ago, Gaz said:

You miss my point.

Yes, they were set up to mimic working from home - this means that, feasibly, Prudential could have set up these wee cubicles at a person's home. And they would have worked.

Plus - this was sixteen years ago.

It's an absolute fallacy to suggest that call centre work couldn't be carried out at a person's home because of technical limitations.

I didn't miss your point at all, I questioned the reliability of the test. I can only say again that if the purpose was to prove operations could be conducted from people's homes then why didn't they do just that?  To say they proved their back-up plan would work simply isn't true - they didn't carry it out in the alternative environment. I wonder why?

I think you're missing the point though, if you have followed the debate from the off you'd be aware that nobody said it wasn't technically possible, rather that it wasn't feasible. Far from being the same thing.

Lets not lose sight of the original question - why do call centres need people to come to work at the moment? The answer is because they wouldn't he able to provide an acceptable level of service to customers. Just to underline my point - I live in the Philippines, one of the BPO capitals of the world.  Currently, we are on lockdown and many people cannot get to work even if they should. I have been waiting 5 days for my Internet company and 4 days for my bank to respond to my calls/emails.  My own emoloyer has advised us online tutors they will not be able to deal with issues promptly because staff are working from home - this is the No1 online school in Japan. The system has collapsed because people aren't at the call centres. That's the proof of the pudding.

2 minutes ago, hk blues said:

I think you're missing the point though, if you have followed the debate from the off you'd be aware that nobody said it wasn't technically possible, rather that it wasn't feasible. Far from being the same thing.

Well, no. This was the post I originally replied to.

21 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Also call centre workers don't just chat in the line to folk. They need to be able to access customer accounts and other information, as well as be able to update customer accounts. They need to be able to use systems that can change things in real time. They also need to be able to transfer calls or call a colleague in another department up to ask them something. And if one dickhead customer demands to speak to a supervisor then that of course can't happen. In addition they need time after a call to be able to do things like update a customer's notes. Unless they use the usual telephony system they won't do that, as just putting calls on forward to employees means they'll just get call after call with no stop. They'd have to turn their phone off during breaks.

So every employee needs a laptop or other computer that has VPN and needs to have specialised software and internet access at all times to specific intranet sites.

Then there's massive data protection risks, especially for financial call centres. Indeed the data protection laws might even mean it isn't legal for folk to work from home. On top of that calls cannot be monitored, which also carries data protection issues.

Absolutely laughable to think that call centre workers can easily work from home.

1 minute ago, Gaz said:

Well, no. This was the post I originally replied to.

Aye...but you can't just jump into a debate in the middle and ignore what was posted previously. The post you were replying to was in response to a previous one and so on.

12 hours ago, Lofarl said:

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/03/27/world/europe/coronavirus-italy-bergamo.html

Read this.  f**k me it is a brilliant piece of real journalism.  If anyone downplays the seriousness of this.  Slap them fucking silly until both arms are tired, then slap them a bit more and make them read this.

That was sobering

Sporting/Shooting estates now greeting because "that Sturgeon" has excluded them from business support payments.

OR maybe it's because they're based on rateable value. Rates I believe that the same estates fought tooth and nail to avoid paying.

ROFLCOPTER.

They've also got Phil designing their memes.
FB_IMG_1585392471753.jpg

2 hours ago, Tight John McVeigh is a tit said:

China propaganda also suggests they have found patient zero. An American serviceman. See they have the equivalent of the daily mail in China as well.

Was his name Chuck?

I'd love this to be true though, I'm a member of an ex-pat forum mostly with American members - a bigger bunch of sexist, homophobic and racist people you'd be hard pushed to find.

And before anybody adds, no I don't fit in well!

42 minutes ago, eindhovendee said:

Belarus apparently doesn't give a flying f**k about Covid 19 and has never heard of social distancing.

This is from 5 mins ago. They have full set of fixtures over the weekend.

20200328_100320.jpeg

Flog all your bog roll on Ebay and put it all on FC Minsk at home to Dinamo Minsk. Nap at 21/10 with McBookie. I'm taking over from the resident expert on Ukrainian football. :whistle

44 minutes ago, Gaz said:

No, there are several practical reasons why call centres wouldn't allow employees to work from home:

1) High turnover of staff - call centre work is mind-numbing, soul-destroying work. For that reason it has a huge turnover in terms of staff. Not practical in terms of setting up booths at a person's home when they might only be there for a few weeks / months.

Serious question having never worked in a call centre - why would you need to set up a booth at home?

7 minutes ago, throbber said:

What part of his post are you not understanding?

The booth. I assumed the booths were set up as separate workstations and to limit sound. Why would you not just sit at a table in your house or even better, sit on your couch with your mobile, scratching your nads?

Edited by Dee Man

1 hour ago, MONKMAN said:

As another who risks my life 160 days a year offshore to satisfy the UK energy demands, I demand a round of applause from each and everyone of you plebs.

Not really, Johnnydun is a complete roaster.

ETA... the piper alpha reference, not sure where to start with that one.

The appropriate expression is "above and beyond the call of duty".  You were doing your duty (or job if you prefer) and yes it was important and valuable work and yes you might have been putting your life at risk at time.  Same could said about firemen, policemen, pilots and any number of other professions.

How the NHS staff are performing an essential service right now.  They could stay at home to avoid the risk of infection but they are not.  In a lot of cases they are not paid a lot but they still do it.

That is what they are being applauded for.