Coronavirus (COVID-19)

With God on our side.

https://www.rawstory.com/2020/03/christian-pastor-who-thought-covid-19-is-just-mass-hysteria-among-the-first-in-virginia-to-die-from-virus/amp/?__twitter_impression=true&fbclid=IwAR3TvR2w_Bm3N6U0fdwRq1GZFy93iu1A72iVeTZavsZqTaaOWx0AhctC208

On a side note. Why is Bear Grylls career over? Seems to be all over my interweb. Is it some sort of seedy porn algorithm?

Edited by dirty dingus

10 hours ago, welshbairn said:

Aye, good luck with importing them from the US when the individual states are desperately bidding against each other and the Federal Government, and the UK is competing against the EU. And ramping up from zero production to thousands from when they get approval to delivering before the peak. And finding enough spare staff to train up in time. Hope it all happens obviously, but I can't see it.

If the big engineering firms throw all their resources at it and cut out superfluous layers of administration they should definitely be able to produce what we need. And hopefully more for poorer nations. 

China have already shown how powerful modern engineering is when combined with state planning.

Edited by Detournement

11 minutes ago, Bairn Necessities said:

Don't assume incompetence doesn't exist in any bureaucracy.  

Incompetence  is the cornerstone of bureaucracy.

Like most public sector organisations, no amount of restructuring to remove middle/senior management is going to divert funding to front line services. 

The only way to do that is to increase funding directed at the frontline services.

The stock market should be suspended.  Stock prices at the moment are not a reflection of companies’ value but are a reflection of stock manipulation for profiteering.

Mind you since the people doing this are all Torycunts I doubt the government will take action.

Being a naturally grumpy c**t I didn't want anything to do with the clapping thing, but my 94 year old Mother saw something about it on the telly so I had to help her get out with her zimmer frame. Despite myself it was quite moving when gradually a few people came out, lights came on and people started clapping and waving from their windows. It felt more about isolated people saying they were still here and saying hello rather than any virtue signalling propaganda thing.

I don’t see the hate towards folk clapping from their doors and windows, if it raises their morale as well as that of a few NHS workers It is a good thing that didn’t take a great deal of anyone’s effort. There is so much more that can be moaned about right now than that ffs.

7 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Being a naturally grumpy c**t I didn't want anything to do with the clapping thing, but my 94 year old Mother saw something about it on the telly so I had to help her get out with her zimmer frame. Despite myself it was quite moving when gradually a few people came out, lights came on and people started clapping and waving from their windows. It felt more about isolated people saying they were still here and saying hello rather than any virtue signalling propaganda thing.

Oh shut up you old blouse.

You shut up.as well @throbber.

8 minutes ago, throbber said:

I don’t see the hate towards folk clapping from their doors and windows, if it raises their morale as well as that of a few NHS workers It is a good thing that didn’t take a great deal of anyone’s effort. There is so much more that can be moaned about right now than that ffs.

We’re you out clapping?

2 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

An absolute promise from the been that HUtH will not be moved or cancelled. I can see light at the end of the tunnel. I'll be going outside to clap Martin, Martell and Dion. (But not Lucy, fūcking deserter)

Aye punters who generally stay in the house during the day need their fix of people buying things, selling things and moving to the country/Spain/Australia.

Capitalist Realism is the backbone of this country. 

Well the love for the NHS didn't last long:
Mrs Mathematics is currently at M&S, making use of the early opening hour for NHS workers. Queue to get in was filled with old people, and when they got told to scram, one old guy had started roaring and screaming at the M&S worker for "chanigng the rules".
Mrs Mathematics, kind soul that she is, is probably stoking the flames a bit by telling him to f**k off and applaud her some more.

Of course it didnt, its all platitude pish for social media likes. Want to show appreciation for the NHS, dont vote for governments who f**k it up.

5 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Oh shut up you old blouse.

You shut up.as well @throbber.

No I’m not going to shut up, if a message of positivity offends you at this time then you should get your priorities sorted.

Just now, Melanius Mullarkey said:

We’re you out clapping?

No I was not.

After being told we're shutting for 2 weeks to allow us self isolation time, chat is now I'll have to go in next week to work on jobs that are sitting about.

End of today I'll be told we're opening up as normal next week, absolute fucking NAP.

31 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Not just Par Jr to be fair.

I know it’s a generalisation but the group who seem to be making the biggest c***s of themselves during this crisis are definitely older folk.

It's only in jest (well, only partly) but there's a moronic right in general it seems and the auld yins are not exempt. It's quite something when you, Granny Danger, is seen as one of the warm and fuzzy ones! Even on here you'll see it - it's like people have become empowered to be complete c***s. 

Pulling some numbers out my arse there's about 1million NHS staff directly doing hospitally stuff and I guess the WHO standard PPE costs 200 quid so 200million quid * however many times these things need replacing, for the duration of this crisis maybe 2 billion quid? The point being if they can spend 350billion & counting keeping people receiving a wage then it's not a question of affordability. All financial plans should have gone out the window. Of course every country in the world is also in this boat and that's probably putting strain on supplies but nonetheless to have folk like [mention=74006]Inanimate Carbon Rod[/mention] saying they're *STILL* not being properly equipped after *WEEKS* of this is an absolute scandal.

Its about to start costing them NHS workers lives. :( im fucking terrified for my wife’s safety.

15 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

So in short, no I think my generation will be just as much of a bunch of arseholes in the eyes of the young once we're auld. The solution is to just be generally pro-youth and support what they want even if you don't quite get it.

The big difference will be younger people will have never known anything but the big data companies being completely dominant and integrated into every part of your life.