Coronavirus (COVID-19)

2 minutes ago, GordonS said:

Tbh I read this again and now I'm even more angry.

You're specifically arguing *against* what everyone who knows what they're talking about is saying. And more than that, you're insulting people for following the advice of public health authorities. Do you understand just how wrong you are?

You get to call people names when you get your qualification in epidemiology, virology or mental health. Until then, STFU.

Gordon, you’re succumbing to the typical rank British arrogance that many of the people in this country have. So the advice of specialists in other countries is wrong, and the advice in this one is correct? Everyone advising to stay at home completely in other countries “don’t know what they’re talking about”?

26 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

Sounds fine. I still wouldn't do it though.

That's fine. It's absolutely your right and your choice. I'm going to continue to follow the official public health advice 100% in both letter and spirit.

5 minutes ago, Bairn Necessities said:

On another note GPs now saying people are lying about their symptoms to get seen face to face. Wankers

I had a doctor's appointment last week. I had to sit in my car until the previous patient had left, then I was called in. The nurse who treated me had the gloves and visor, although the poor receptionist was in civvies.

Then I went to the chemists - the serving area was cordoned off, and the assistant serving us had gloves and a mask.

I have arranged to get our prescriptions delivered.

I wasn't out again until Saturday when I did a round trip between home and 2 of my step daughters collecting/delivering stuff (soap powder, nappies that sort of stuff). Wasn't in contact with anyone other than family members - and wasn't really in much contact with them.

Called at an automated filling station on the way home, put on a pair of disposable gloves, got my normal quota of diesel, disposed of gloves, went home, washed hands and applied sanitizer (or it may have been sanitizer only, can't remember now).

Ill probably get slaughtered for this but I’m going out for a hike today. I know I’ll probably pass one or two people on the way there. I’ll make sure I give them the space that has been recommended. Staying indoors just isn’t feasible for me right now. In the last few months I’ve had a long term relationship break down, my Dad passed away and now I have no work because of coronavirus shutting places. My mental health was already at an all time low because of the events I’ve mentioned. Being hemmed up indoors would really put me over the edge. 

Edited by Thereisalight..

38 minutes ago, GordonS said:

For the Nervous Nellies: Our family went to the Kinneil Estate yesterday. Here was our thinking. If you can tell me what was actually wrong with it, I'd love to hear it.

We thought about walking or cycling round Linlithgow Loch, but it's always pretty busy and we thought it would be worse yesterday. Same for the canal, and that path is too narrow to pass with sufficient distance, especially on bikes.

Then we thought about Muiravonside, because it has wide paths. We knew it could be busy, we thought about going to see and if the car park was busy then we'd turn back. But it didn't seem worth it.

Then we remembered Kinneil Estate is always quiet, it's very spacious and the paths are wide. There were about 10 cars at the car park. We walked round the estate, easily keeping 2m distance from the handful of people we passed. Everyone was making big, exaggerated moves to the edge of the paths, it was quite funny. We didn't pat dogs, for a change. We didn't sit on benches because you're bound to put your hands where others have. We had a picnic and threw a ball around on a wide, empty area of grass.

We washed hands before we left and as soon as we got home. We used wipes before the picnic and before getting back to the car.

Anyone who thinks that we should have stayed home is making up their own rules and expecting others to live by them.

This is a hard one, not sure if theres really a right or wrong here. Folk are going to need fresh air and recreation but the problem is if everyone does it.

2 hours ago, bernardblack said:

Surely playing golf by yourself is one of the more sensible things to do? Given you don’t touch the pin or the bunker rakes etc?

Tempted to go out and wet a line as I could do with a few hours out but probably best not too if we want this over with faster.

2 hours ago, Slenderman said:

Think some of these boomers think they are invincible. Just continuing life as normal.

Won't be told what to do by Gen x/Millenials. Their arrogance will literally be the death of them.

Billy Idol can fcuk off.

18 minutes ago, GordonS said:

Quoting word-for-word the Chief Medical Officer, Catherine Calderwood, who has just spoken after the First Minister:

"We know that this is difficult, and we know that this is for the long haul. We have said that these measures are for at least three months in the first instance. So we need to be realistic about people's lives. Exercise is extremely important, fresh air, keeping fit, but also it's very good for people's well being. So we're saying people should go out once a day to exercise, whatever that exercise may be for you - a walk, a run, a cycle - but don't do it except in small family groups do not mingle with other people while out in the outdoors. We're going to have to adapt to life in this new world, we don't want people to become unwell for other reasons, we want to keep people as fit and healthy as possible. So we will encourage people to continue to use the outdoors to keep their mental and physical wellbeing as good as possible. But we're really in this for a marathon, not a sprint."

Argument over.

Some people are undoubtedly going to take this as "get outside in small groups and if the place you are going happens to be heaving, then so be it.  If it's your health vs the health of the elderly who should be at home anyway, then c'est la vie".

1 minute ago, DA Baracus said:

I get what you mean and don't mean to be a dick, but just saying you heard a rumour, not even saying where from, can create panic.

Oh I agree. I think it's coming. Every day the FM and CMO are practically begging folk to smarten the f**k up, but people just aren't listening.

Just heard on the radio that Germany have banned folk gathering in groups of 2 of more. Merkel said that people's behaviour is the biggest issue to the spread and containment of the virus.

Damn, I hope they don't do that here, that would be the Garnock Valley Ayr United supporters association screwed since there's three of us !!

Guest bernardblack
Ill probably get slaughtered for this but I’m going out for a hike today. I know I’ll probably pass one or two people on the way there. I’ll make sure I give them the space that has been recommended. Staying indoors just isn’t feasible for me right now. In the last few months I’ve had a long term relationship break down, my Dad passed away and now I have no work because of coronavirus shutting places. My mental health was already at an all time low because of the events I’ve been mentioned. Being hemmed up indoors would really put me over the edge. 

Absolutely nothing wrong with going for a hike if you keep enough space etc.

Keep your head up and hope you’re okay :)

24 minutes ago, WATTOO said:

I don't actually disagree with much of what you're saying, however as I've also mentioned I find the risk of me contracting the virus commuting or at my work in Glasgow to be FAR greater than contracting it on the golf course where I'll be socially distanced and not touching any foreign surfaces.

If one is acceptable and one not, I'd expect the Glasgow one to be the "unacceptable" one and also the risk of bringing the disease into my rural community should also be taken into account but it's not.

Of course your risk is much higher on a commuter train or bus, I've already said that the majority of us shouldn't be going to work. The problem there is that people generally don't have a choice to go to work or not, they need to do what their employer tells them or they don't get paid, hence it's essential for them to travel. A round of golf isn't essential. 

1 minute ago, Thereisalight.. said:

Ill probably get slaughtered for this but I’m going out for a hike today. I know I’ll probably pass one or two people on the way there. I’ll make sure I give them the space that has been recommended. Staying indoors just isn’t feasible for me right now. In the last few months I’ve had a long term relationship break down, my Dad passed away and now I have no work because of coronavirus shutting places. My mental health was already at an all time low because of the events I’ve been mentioned. Being hemmed up indoors would really put me over the edge. 

Fair play to you. Anyone who criticises you for that clearly doesn't appreciate that this idea of staying in like a hermit for a period of time that still hasn't been determined is going to drive up people's depression and make them climb the walls. I get terrible cabin fever and I don't think I'd be able to do it but thankfully my job is essential so I will be getting out the flat a few times a week regardless of what happens.

4 minutes ago, Thereisalight.. said:

You're following the advice of our medical experts. Youre doing the right thing. 

Stay safe and enjoy nature. 

2 minutes ago, Thereisalight.. said:

The Chief Medical Officer was very clear that we should continue to get out for exercise once a day, so long as we're following the social distancing rules. This is going to be with us for three months, minimum, so you need to take care of yourself. Hope you have a great walk.

Choosing routes, I would avoid anywhere I'd need to touch a gate or stile. 

Don't pay any attention to the folk who think they know better than public health experts. They just get their kicks from a false sense of superiority.

My wife works in a chemist and they are struggling to keep up with prescriptions. They had staff in until 10pm a couple of nights last week to catch up. 

They are now only open to the general public at certain times - so that they can keep on top of prescriptions daily.

Today they have a bouncer working on the door.

Edited by Mallo_Madrid

Utter nightmare. The pharmacy called me earlier to say that the eye gel was not only not in stock but not available to order.

Called the doctor (she gave me her number as was worried this might be the case) and she's managed to source some (in an ask no questions manner). I have to meet her at Ninewells to get it, which means a bus there and back sadly. Yikes!

I should note that the doctor has been absolutely brilliant, from taking the time yesterday to see me to sorting this for me. She's been so helpful, especially during this time which will no doubt be busy and stressful for her. The NHS is brilliant and we're so lucky to have it and folk like her. 

Just arrived at Ninewells. Will he sure to tell her.

1 minute ago, DA Baracus said:

Utter nightmare. The pharmacy called me earlier to say that the eye gel was not only not in stock but not available to order.

Called the doctor (she gave me her number as was worried this might be the case) and she's managed to source some (in an ask no questions manner). I have to meet her at Ninewells to get it, which means a bus there and back sadly. Yikes!

I should note that the doctor has been absolutely brilliant, from taking the time yesterday to see me to sorting this for me. She's been so helpful, especially during this time which will no doubt be busy and stressful for her. The NHS is brilliant and we're so lucky to have it and folk like her. 

Just arrived at Ninewells. Will he sure to tell her.

Get her pumped

1 minute ago, Jamaldo said:

Fair play to you. Anyone who criticises you for that clearly doesn't appreciate that this idea of staying in like a hermit for a period of time that still hasn't been determined is going to drive up people's depression and make them climb the walls. I get terrible cabin fever and I don't think I'd be able to do it but thankfully my job is essential so I will be getting out the flat a few times a week regardless of what happens.

Indeed.  Based on the word-for-word quote a few pages back, I think I'll adhere to the advice of the nation's Chief Medical officer over that of the the plumbers / shelf stackers / mortgage underwriters of a football forum.  Mental behaviour, I know.

1 minute ago, Stellaboz said:

Get her pumped

I wish! Just got the gel and profusely thanked her. Back on the bus. Feel dirty just sitting on it. Worse, there are jakey neds on it, one whom is wearing a Celtic cap. I can fucking smell them. Disgusting. Any time I see a mink with a Celtic or Sevco cap on I know that they're going to be utterly reeking. Never been wrong yet.