Coronavirus (COVID-19)

How many unfortunate working parents will be forced to ask potentially vulnerable Grandparents to look after the Grandkids when the Schools close??   
How many grandparents watch their grandkids regularly as it is though? I expect quite a lot. The idea of shutting the school is surely to minimise the chance of kids carrying it and passing it on to people like their vulnerable grandparents.

There's pros and cons about this decision.

2 minutes ago, DigOutYourSoul said:

Schools shutting makes sense. Wife home at lunch upset because they’ve no idea what it means for the kids doing higher/advanced highers/who’ve applied to uni.

Highers won't do them any good after this when they're out in the fields fighting for turnips.

3 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Highers won't do them any good after this when they're out in the fields fighting for turnips.

Well, after the brexit, at least they won't have to fight against the East Europeans. I know who my money would be on. 

7 minutes ago, DigOutYourSoul said:

Schools shutting makes sense. Wife home at lunch upset because they’ve no idea what it means for the kids doing higher/advanced highers/who’ve applied to uni.

Seems like a moot point to be in terms of university applications. By the time September comes, will everything be back to normal with thousands of people moving around the country/world and congregating the way they usually do for that?

The more this goes on the more I wonder just how fucked everything is outside of the virus itself. The world isn't going to recover any time soon.

10 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Wee fcukers running around smearing their snottery fingers on McDonalds ordering screens from now until the end of the summer? Oh joy. 

McDonalds are shut, m8. Drive thru only.

Seems like a moot point to be in terms of university applications. By the time September comes, will everything be back to normal with thousands of people moving around the country/world and congregating the way they usually do for that?
The more this goes on the more I wonder just how fucked everything is outside of the virus itself. The world isn't going to recover any time soon.

Probably not but it’s basically all that she’s caring about just now, how the kids do in their exams. Mad, i know, but imagine the vast majority of teachers will be the same.

@stumigo is the only one I know on here who could confirm.

On 15/03/2020 at 20:41, 19QOS19 said:
On 15/03/2020 at 20:39, G_Man1985 said:
Somebody was saying about purchases going through the till ( only so many allowed ) still not happened. We however have wrote it so people stop being selfish c***s and leave some for others. Is working slightly but still had to argue to a gentleman who wanted to take 27 handwashes. Meh was pretty eventful

Have they moved the foodbank donation boxes yet? They are near the exit down here and I fully expect them to be raided sooner or later.

It's tragic how fucking predictable scumbags are. They've now moved the foodbank donation box at our big shop because of this. 

14 minutes ago, Clockwork said:

How many unfortunate working parents will be forced to ask potentially vulnerable Grandparents to look after the Grandkids when the Schools close??   

How many vulnerable grandparents will tell them to gtf? 

Guest bernardblack
How many grandparents watch their grandkids regularly as it is though? I expect quite a lot. The idea of shutting the school is surely to minimise the chance of kids carrying it and passing it on to people like their vulnerable grandparents.

Good point. My nieces go round their grans every day after school so, fingers crossed, not a big deal there

19 minutes ago, Clockwork said:

Well, in theory, the kids aren't being kept off school to socialise with their mates. Responsible parents should be keeping them in the hoose as much as possible. So there's not going to be as much risk of passing it onto grandparents if the kids haven't been anywhere to catch it in the first place.

21 minutes ago, DigOutYourSoul said:

They're just going to go "nae joy kids" and force them to become scrubbers for the rest of their lives.

Or, they'll just move the exams forward.

9 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

I think it would be criminal if everything went back to exactly how it was.

This surely must kick the hubris and complacency out of the world. Economically and logistically, it's shown just how much of a knife-edge we've been walking for decades.

So aye, everything will probably go back to how it was 😔

Absolutely.
Mine dont and hers dont. We work it out so we dont need childcare ( this is why being at school helps). Now that they wont be this will properly f**k us over. Is hard enough using holidays when schools are off in holidays .
It is what it is