Scott Robertson - West Committee

HaroldWilson

If he had used comments mocking people with learning difficulties,would that merit an apology?.
Discrimination is discrimination regardless of the target group of any individual instance thereof.

Are you suggesting that some prejudice is more acceptable than others?

What an odd question. [emoji848]

3 hours ago, PRICEY said:

If he had used comments mocking people with learning difficulties,would that merit an apology?.

In the 21st century where everyone bar the SJFA seem to be then yes. In fact even in the 20th century thats why Glenn Hoddle lost his job was by saying that disabled people had done sins in a past life and FA couldn't let him continue as England Head coach

Could we now get back to 3pm kick offs?No longer should the whole grade suffer for the sake of one team bus worrying about heavy traffic on the Kingston Bridge 

Just as an aside a few years ago Johnstone Burgh and ourselves put forward a proposal to move to 2-30 as a compromise and to align with the other junior regions. The most heated argument came from the rep of an Ayrshire club who said if we move away from 2pm his club won’t get back from away games until later on and as Saturday night was date night for him and his wife would have to get later table bookings. It’s things like that we are in the mess that we are now.

13 minutes ago, Arthurlie1981 said:

Just as an aside a few years ago Johnstone Burgh and ourselves put forward a proposal to move to 2-30 as a compromise and to align with the other junior regions. The most heated argument came from the rep of an Ayrshire club who said if we move away from 2pm his club won’t get back from away games until later on and as Saturday night was date night for him and his wife would have to get later table bookings. It’s things like that we are in the mess that we are now.

Laughable.Its that kind of 18th Century village mentality which has held junior football back.Hopefully now we can review these things and take progressive steps to pushing things forward.

1 hour ago, Lokloyal said:

Laughable.Its that kind of 18th Century village mentality which has held junior football back.Hopefully now we can review these things and take progressive steps to pushing things forward.

Did they have date nights in the 18th century? Ye Olde Curry Hoose.

That's a bizarre post.

It’s a question in relation to your use of the phrase “crayon munchers”,which is a derogatory reference to people with learning difficulties,in the future of the Juniors thread.Im sure you’ll remember it was pointed out to you that this was offensive.

Pots,kettles etc.

3 hours ago, Black Pennel said:

P.S. Don't distract from the tenet of this thread. The auld c*nt is an odious individual and always has been. I'm more worried that nobody stopped him the moment he said it.

It's odd that, isn't it? 60 or so delegates as well as Management Committee and not one walked out or stood up to complain. It's almost as if they weren't that angry at the time but later thought we'd better get offended by this. I think most of the outrage on here is caused by people hating the man and they've found their "Gotcha" moment and now they can get rid of him.

The apology isn't enough. Getting rid of him isn't enough - the West Region didn't act fast enough. Maybe the whole West Region office bearers should stand down. Maybe the West Region should be kicked out of football.

And here come the red dots again.

5 hours ago, theesel1994 said:

It's odd that, isn't it? 60 or so delegates as well as Management Committee and not one walked out or stood up to complain. It's almost as if they weren't that angry at the time but later thought we'd better get offended by this. I think most of the outrage on here is caused by people hating the man and they've found their "Gotcha" moment and now they can get rid of him.

The apology isn't enough. Getting rid of him isn't enough - the West Region didn't act fast enough. Maybe the whole West Region office bearers should stand down. Maybe the West Region should be kicked out of football.

And here come the red dots again.

You are correct! Agreed!

However, there comes a point when enough is enough and that stage has been reached with certain individuals associated with the West Juniors and the SJFA. You can't argue very strongly against the view that they have brought it upon themselves. Sadly they will bring down some decent people with them unless those now stand up and be counted.

Ideally he should have been challenged on it, but I wouldn't judge people too harshly for not doing it as it's just an incredibly awkward and unexpected situation to find yourself in. The main thing is that he isn't given a second chance because that would be the real sign of having shat the bed. 

It’s good to see this being widely condemned on here as well . A few years ago there would have been a slew of apologists giving it 'how come it's awrite to call someone a fat or baldy b*****d but no a black wan?'. 

9 hours ago, Black Pennel said:

It's also the same story that Ayrshire folk tell about the "Lanark" mafia. It was, and is, intended as a joke. There is nothing wrong with the 2 o'clock kick off and it suits a lot of people. Me, for example. :)

It clashes with live TV games therefore it is a major issue. Football is a 3pm saturday afternoon thing. And once the West joins the 20th Century, floodlights might even mean 3pm all year round.

It’s a question in relation to your use of the phrase “crayon munchers”,which is a derogatory reference to people with learning difficulties,in the future of the Juniors thread.Im sure you’ll remember it was pointed out to you that this was offensive.

Pots,kettles etc.
Old firm thinking. Complete whataboutery to deflect from the subject at hand and score points in a game no one is playing.

It's this kind of attitude that keeps discrimination alive and thriving in Scottish football.

I've not seen the comments you reference and certainly wouldn't condone if I had, but trawling a forum to find some other potentially offensive comments from someone else in order to deflect from the matter at hand achieves what?

Aye you suggesting what was said was OK because other people (allegedly) say offensive things too?

36 minutes ago, cmontheloknow said:

It clashes with live TV games therefore it is a major issue. Football is a 3pm saturday afternoon thing. And once the West joins the 20th Century, floodlights might even mean 3pm all year round.

Absolutely spot on.One mans private life was causing reduced gates at every junior game in the country.3pm is for football in so far as the time of year permits.