Worst Moment of the Last Decade, Following your Club

One of the worst moments in our decade didn’t seem like it at the time but with 2020 (geddit) hindsight it was the root of a lot of the downfall of the late 2010s.

October 10th 2015. Scottish cup holders Inverness reject an approach for manager John Hughes by the Scottish Premierships current bottom side Dundee Utd. Hughes clearly wanted to speak to Utd but I think our board at the time thought “we are a regular top six team, we are the cup holders, the days of us losing managers are over” and held firm. United appointed Mixu and got relegated and we had a fairy disappointing season, failing to make the top six for the first time in three seasons. At the end of the season Hughes left amid acrimony between him and the board and we appointed Richie Foran, who was totally unprepared for the job and we were relegated.

If we’d let Hughes go to United we probably wouldn’t have appointed Foran mid season. We would have had the opportunity to either appoint a more experienced hand or if we’d gone with someone new to management they’d have had more time to ease into the job. The season we were relegated there were some pish teams in the league (Accies were poor that year and Dundee lost about ten games in a row at one point), I think a semi competent manager with our squad at the time would’ve kept us up. Hey ho though.

Specific lowlights include:

2013 - blowing 3rd place on the final day in a derby defeat. It was a game too far for that squad, we lost four of our last five, we just ran out of steam. A great season though.

2014 - Losing the league cup final to Aberdeen. It was a really tight game, but we didn’t really create anything and it felt a bit of a let down.

2017 - The close season shambles after we got relegated. Going through three chairman, sacking Duncan Shearer by voicemail and then pretending we were naming a youth tournament after him, offering Highland League sides £0 for their players, releasing players on Twitter without telling them first, the Twitter account favouriting porn accounts. Heady days.

My recollection was it was a postponed game so the draw had been made.
It was scores level, up against 10 men, into injury time, Albion were clinging on, and we had a corner. One unnecessary foul by us, a quick kick out and the ball was in the back of our net.
Head in hands.......

Yep that’s pretty much how I recall it. The draw had definitely been made so a tie against Celtic awaited the winners. A dreadful night.

One of the worst moments in our decade didn’t seem like it at the time but with 2020 (geddit) hindsight it was the root of a lot of the downfall of the late 2010s.

October 10th 2015. Scottish cup holders Inverness reject an approach for manager John Hughes by the Scottish Premierships current bottom side Dundee Utd. Hughes clearly wanted to speak to Utd but I think our board at the time thought “we are a regular top six team, we are the cup holders, the days of us losing managers are over” and held firm. United appointed Mixu and got relegated and we had a fairy disappointing season, failing to make the top six for the first time in three seasons. At the end of the season Hughes left amid acrimony between him and the board and we appointed Richie Foran, who was totally unprepared for the job and we were relegated.

If we’d let Hughes go to United we probably wouldn’t have appointed Foran mid season. We would have had the opportunity to either appoint a more experienced hand or if we’d gone with someone new to management they’d have had more time to ease into the job. The season we were relegated there were some pish teams in the league (Accies were poor that year and Dundee lost about ten games in a row at one point), I think a semi competent manager with our squad at the time would’ve kept us up. Hey ho though.

Specific lowlights include:

2013 - blowing 3rd place on the final day in a derby defeat. It was a game too far for that squad, we lost four of our last five, we just ran out of steam. A great season though.

2014 - Losing the league cup final to Aberdeen. It was a really tight game, but we didn’t really create anything and it felt a bit of a let down.

2017 - The close season shambles after we got relegated. Going through three chairman, sacking Duncan Shearer by voicemail and then pretending we were naming a youth tournament after him, offering Highland League sides £0 for their players, releasing players on Twitter without telling them first, the Twitter account favouriting porn accounts. Heady days.

It terms of the actual gut-wrenching feeling, there was nothing worse than that 2013 game where we blew 3rd place for me.

Over the course of the season we were definitely the 3rd best team, but our post-split results were terrible. The combination of losing 3rd place, losing to County, losing to a team we had absolutely owned all season and Motherwell (already 2nd, on the beach) lying down to St. Johnstone on the same day was very hard to take.

2010s, barring two seasons, was pretty much a car crash for the club. A lot of lows.

The whole of 2014-15 season takes the cake for me. You could argue it’s the worst season in our history, just for the fact we were full-time, signed all these supposed best players of the league from the previous season and ended in total disaster.

For me it's got to be the moment the club allowed Caldwell to unceremoniously cut Kris Doolan adrift 6 months before his testimonial. Everything about this episode was so wrong on so many levels... 

Unfathomable how our player of the decade could have been treated in this way. That utter roaster Caldwell should never be allowed to set foot in Firhill again...

5 hours ago, Hammer Jag said:

Some notable lowlights:

- Losing 2-1 to Rangers at the end of season 2016/17. The game itself meant little in the grand scheme of things, but the nature of the defeat was really tough to take. Especially as we had already chucked a game to them earlier in the season in similar circumstances. I’ve never really recovered from the trauma of this game.

There's a good argument that was the start of the decline. While as you say the game meant very little other than giving us a chance of catching Hearts in 5th for a few more shekels in prize money, the fact it was the second time that season we'd lost 2-1 to Rangers at Firhill after being 1-0 up with 10 minutes to go was gut-wrenching. We must be one of very few full time teams who didn't take the chance to give them a kicking in the 2012-18 period which will always annoy me.

Of course, after that we downed tools and lost our last 3 games 0-1, 0-5, and 0-6 before imploding over the next 2 seasons (and potentially still counting).

Losing 0-1 to a Motherwell team who were resting players ahead of the cup final in the 2nd last match of the relegation season, even a point would have kept Hamilton in it going into the last day but we were totally inept.

Going back to the start of the 2010s, I remember losing back to back matches vs Stirling and Cowdenbeath after going 1-0 up in both, not really for this thread but that whole period was grim. Looking back at the start of that season it's hard to believe McCall wasn't sacked other than we couldn't afford to pay him off at that point.

2 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

And you're going against your own thread title, as are several others "Worst MOMENT" surely means picking one specific moment not a selection.  Also I don't think it's been fully clarified if we would actually have been drawn against Celtic if we had beaten Albion Rovers if teams were numbered alphabetically in the draw. Anyway, for my pick  I'll agree with one of your picks though,   the cup defeat to Falkirk. 

I was offering a list of contenders.

As others have pointed out, there was nothing speculative about saying we'd have played Celtic.  The draw had already been made and the tie was 'Albion Rovers or Queen of the South v Celtic'.

35 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

As others have pointed out, there was nothing speculative about saying we'd have played Celtic.  The draw had already been made and the tie was 'Albion Rovers or Queen of the South v Celtic'.

It was. And Sky had already confirmed the tie would be picked up for live coverage. This was back when a live Scottish Cup tie meant £92k per club not the £32k it is now. Throwing away that game cost up well over £100k.

The final whistle of a Fife derby at Stark's Park, March 2013.

There was a real feeling in the week leading up to that game that that was it - after that game was played, the club would never play another game. As you'd expect given the circumstances, the whole game was quite emotional and it was a very strange combination of feelings when Andy Geggan scrambled a second half equaliser from about a yard out in front of the Pars fans.

The game finished 1-1, and the final whistle was awful. Even worse when the players came up to the away end shortly afterwards and the song was 'Dunfermline til I die'. I was in tears as it came to me that actually the club was probably going to die before me.

It was a horrible day but I'm so glad I was there. The experience had quite an effect on me, and it still upsets me every time I recount what happened that day.

1 hour ago, Monkey Tennis said:

I really should stay off threads like this with my memory. 

50 minutes ago, Socks said:

The final whistle of a Fife derby at Stark's Park, March 2013.

There was a real feeling in the week leading up to that game that that was it - after that game was played, the club would never play another game. As you'd expect given the circumstances, the whole game was quite emotional and it was a very strange combination of feelings when Andy Geggan scrambled a second half equaliser from about a yard out in front of the Pars fans.

The game finished 1-1, and the final whistle was awful. Even worse when the players came up to the away end shortly afterwards and the song was 'Dunfermline til I die'. I was in tears as it came to me that actually the club was probably going to die before me.

It was a horrible day but I'm so glad I was there. The experience had quite an effect on me, and it still upsets me every time I recount what happened that day.

Made it out the other end though, that's all that matters now.

7 hours ago, Scosha said:

Getting pumped 10-2 off Hamilton will probably be worst moment of the century never mind decade. 
Other moments include: losing to Spartans in the Scottish Cup, getting relegated in 2014, Nacho Novo, Garry O’Connor. 

Yeah but if Morten had succeeded in their quest to stop Dundee winning the title, it would of course been their greatest moment of the decade.

From when Jim Jeffries took over until Alan Johnson arrived.
Club nearly died.
Losing to Alloa in the playoffs after only needing a draw against Airdrie who were already relegated. It all just seemed inevitable.
Losing to Cowdenbeath in the playoffs.
Getting grannied by Arbroath and similar sides.
The John Potter era.
Neil McCann thinking he was a decent coach.
Only plus was Falkingham, Geggan and the few months in the championship where we actually looked not bad.
The Cowdenbeath game was probably the low point though, we were totally outclassed and tbh they had some very decent players.

Grannied?

Pick any of the defeats in League 1 under Potter in 14/15. You sat there and wondered just how far we could actually drop.

Players being sacked.

Singing at the end of a Fife derby thinking we might have seen Pars play for the last time.

Beating Thistle 3-1 with five mins left when we just need a win to survive despite a big points deduction and we draw. We then lose to an already relegated Airdie, again just needing a win to stay up.

Losing 3-0 at home to Cowdenbeath in play off final and missing out on a Champ with Rangers, Hearts and Hibs.

Missing three penalties in one half against Dundee United.

Losing the play off QF against United when we should have had the tie wrapped up.

Either of the two Falkirk defeats at EEP last season - one of their worst teams *ever* beat us twice. Not even sure which performance was worse.

Horrible cup exits to Raith and Stranraer.

Countless other terrible performances, results and signings I’ve forgotten about.

He might do. It's only ever meant beat to nil to me. 

Aye heard that in pool, but would be pretty stupid putting that into your worst moment of a decade for your team.

Getting beat 1-0 by a team currently level on points with us after 19 league games

Kind of puts the decade into perspective. Dunfermline seem to be a team we are always shite against or always get pumped by too