Six Continents (take two)

AsimButtHitsASix

So here's how the opening part of the season went (Mexico has one of those Apertura/Clausura seasons). I was in charge for the last five games so you can see I won 3 and lost 2 but I played the weans for the most part as I was never getting into the play offs. The team's alright. Would have been challenging for play offs if I was here all season with that line up but a decent amount of cash to splash. Let's see how I wasted it...

image.thumb.png.f7998b606a419a54e4821ca8348b4391.png

First of all the best players here when I arrived...

Rodolfo played a mix of games upfront and behind the striker. His finishing looks really good so, depending on who comes in he might be the first choice striker...

image.thumb.png.7e9051482ca58e18864f3df425039dd1.png

Really good right winger who got an injury just in time to stop Arsenal and Barcelona bidding for him...

image.thumb.png.d694e0bc9026380d09c5b93ae5642a15.png

And always good to have a reliable keeper when ye turn up...

image.thumb.png.6a69cf5bb7f2990b08c5d6d3dfa96171.png

The weak points are the left wing and full back positions. I have a guy, Edson Alvarez, with 175 caps for Mexico at Centre Back who is 35 years old who is still sitting at four stars but he'll nose dive soon enough. If yer starting a new game I'd give him a look. He's won a few Champions Leagues before he came back to Mexico.

Some signings

This fella came in for £2,500,000 from Uruguay. He'll be a good shout for the striker position which he's share with Crino (Although Crino can also play behind the striker). He'll aslo be getting trained up to be an option as a goalscoring winger.image.thumb.png.c3e1675b6dcf69b88561212f751941ba.png

This is the boy I signed for Al Ahly on loan and he got a cruciate injury. He's been smashing it in Egypt since then, very adaptable and, although he cost £3,000,000+ if he turns a few of those 10-15 stats to 15+ he'll be a worldy. Can do a job straight away across the back four and midfield

image.thumb.png.0259f33e98771c7959b847d2e6202fe2.png

The other option behind the striker is this Columbian fella. £2,000,000 well spent.

image.thumb.png.eed1a1d555e268807492fd3c7c5fbd0f.png

I am fucked at left back and my options were poor. My national team coaches love this guy so, without having scouted him in any detail, took a big (£8,000,000) gamble. Both footed so will train him up to be a right back as well. He should come good but not sure if he's good enough so far for starting left back but he's better than what I had.

image.thumb.png.3c7e98435c9f3053e65ef6f096a52497.png

£18,000,000! I have a team of average Mexicans and this fella had ma scouts jizzing everywhere. The only domestic outfielder in the Mexico squad. Hoping he isn't nicked by a big European team in the next coupla years and I get some use out of him.

image.thumb.png.edb9f1432b6fb203f0cd4198a4ab54e6.png

I sold an older centreback and midfielder because some Chinese mob were throwing £10,000,000 for each. This left me a bit short in both positions. Luiz covers in centre back.

image.thumb.png.49967a434b9c6fb6e8aeb7ecafb04ed6.png

You may have noticed those signings are all young but I may not be around to see them bloom as it appears I am in the Champions League this year! I never even bothered checking
image.thumb.png.0304d75f8db3b79b00dba883adf9858e.png

Pumas are the only club I'm worried about in my half of the draw. No doubt Montreal Impact will put me out now despite them being shite.

image.thumb.png.e1b2d8e266ae60bca711bf6e00430011.png

Two months into the business end of the season. It seems to be gelling but the defence was all over the place to start. I think playing a high line and having a 35 year old centre back didn't go well together. Sorted out the full back positions but never realised how short I was leaving myself at centre back. 

image.png.6f2b547b44eebe0e240af2fed99f67bb.png

That defence is not winning any continental competitions unless the strikers keep hitting two or three a game minimum. Luckily, so far, they are.

image.png.b641330f543a1ee7d8dd835c656d5872.png

No need for big updates in this campaign. I see the Mexican sides as being a hell of a lot better than the MLS sides in this game (having said that bottom of the MLS Montreal Impact did beat Pumas to get to the semi final). My 47th minute goal v Dallas put us 3-0 up on aggregate so rested players and annoyed with the defeat but came through over all. Smashed Montreal, whose best player was my Al Ahly winger Ahmed Kamal, and have Club America in the final. They're running away with the Mexican league so are clear favourites.

Unlike other continental competitions I wont mind if we lose. I'm really enjoying my time in Mexico. It's a mental league and we're in some kinda play off at the end of the season. Mexico City derby in the Champions League final is tasty. 

Never mentioned this boy earlier as he was signed on a free as a squad player but what a fucking signing.
image.png.ed339d0f13bb517443e05ec78569c04b.png
image.thumb.png.c7aeb897853658b0f3b8d3314d48b870.png 
Rated three stars by my scouts. Had played 30+ games a season for the last 5 seasons for Palmeiras but that includes state league games and 80% were sub appearances. But he could play M AM RLC so was ideal filler. Turns out he's a fucking demon in central midfield. I love him

image.png.a982f755280f590a199842d73ab6f66f.png

Drew 1-1 at home to Club America but lost 2-1 away. Hit the post twice in the first leg. Annoyingly Crino and Olivera had howlers in the play offs and we had six players out the final match between injuries and suspensions. Such is life. Took over a team 14th in the league and won the Champions League in a single season.

image.thumb.png.cc98ff991d5be224d0491f5a95e21ee2.png

If I don't get any of these jobs I get the feeling I might need to go to Europe and do well with a smaller team (Leicester, Atalanta, Sociedad, etc) before the big boys will take me on. We'll see. Hoping for Liverpool. English league has all the money and, going by how they keep nicking all the good young Brazilian players, I presume they have a work permit scheme that's a help rather than a hindrance after Brexit.

image.png.aa87a2f6ce7b5b5bfc5229ec04cbe5b7.png

Wee Brucie bonus with the World Club Cup. Players were short of match fitness but played the Best XI in the group games. Two teams better than my lot but we snuck through. Had to play a second string v Inter Milan and, no word of a lie, we were the better team. 1-0 up before a sending off in the 30th minute. 1-0 up at half time. They equalised early in the 2nd half and got a 2nd with half an hour to go. They added a coupla at the end when we were chasing teh game. Been interviewed by AC, Liverpool and Sevilla.

Milan, Liverpool and Lazio declined to offer me the role after the interview process. Sevilla did but with no transfer budget so knocked them back. Might be stuck here until the next World Cup. Hopefully win that with Brazil and then I'll surely get a big team?

image.png.042c797ebfe4c60eaf2139b56cd03a6d.png

A few older players in amongst that and Argumosa wants to leave. Happy enough with my attacking options in the first year but might want to snap up a few decent youngsters to take over in due course. The real issue is defenceimage.png.184c8efdebacc2a35c65724e99b48f3b.png

Shit an old.Finished 5th last year. In the Europa League. Expected to get that again this year.

This team isn't even in the Champions League this year and aint good enough to win it even if we were. A lot of our players are over 32. I need to start signing top quality young players now and, with that in mind, I sold our best player for £100,000,000

image.thumb.png.c2ad4367b785c1fe60e6572071e153cc.png

A bit gutted. I've voted him World Player of the Year about half a dozen times. Needs must. I especially needed a non-EU player to leave because this guy's release clause was suddenly being met and I was desperate to get him

image.thumb.png.04bb7a9930188b783deaf7b183d82186.png

He's been in the Brazil squad a few times but yet to make a debut. I was close to signing him with Gremio and Cruz Azul. In two year time he'll be a better player than he who just left plus I made an £80,000,000 profit and knocked £100k a week of the wage bill. That bargain makes up for spending £25 million on this guy...

image.thumb.png.013ed119cdcdc7b88219c5e2f5c15b70.png

My scouts got that one wrong. They had him up for up to five star potential and I was willing to overlook his important stats being in the low teens as I expect them to get a bit higher. Doubt he'll ever be first choice centre back now I see his full potential but he's not awful.

image.thumb.png.2b9819a4000d24de34c067b91d6a525b.png

£10,000,000 for this lad. He'll fight it out with the current #1, who retired at the end of this season, and will probably end up being back up when I get a real top notch keeper in but I aint too worried about that now. He's decent.

Now, picture the scene, there's a left back in the Italy squad worth £60 million, beyond my budget, but when he was sold by his previous club he had a £35 million buy back clause and 40% of future fee negotiated. So yer man was able to get a £60,000,000 player for under £20,000,000 net. Nice. Got two amazing full backs now and a decent starting XI

image.thumb.png.34c621065bb3d4517d53720e7eb19acc.png

There were a coupla more signings I'll get to later. I've took over a Juventus team bleeding money and who have missed out on the Champions League two years in a row. I sold their best player. We smashed the Europa League group stage as expected v Genk, Malmo and some Portuguese mob but how is the Serie A campaign going?

image.thumb.png.5205707154b5288a0e30e6268b398561.png

We lost three of our first six matches including Juventus's worst ever defeat which happened to be against our biggest rivals. Lol

image.thumb.png.e370f85b072093c6d40de803cfe36000.png

Went on a wee run since then. Very tight at the top tho. 

Now I explained that I signed Pinto Nunes because someone else was going in for him and Durand on a two year loan but look at the other part of my strike force
image.thumb.png.97b7ccc3e33206f37f055298a768aef7.png

Who is this Dragutin Bronic? Like Nunes I had eyes on him and was hoping to leave him a year in Croatia then snap him up next year but some bigger teams were sniffing and I couldn't risk not getting him

image.thumb.png.ab56cf6a1884429b1d9bcb9c5658a35f.png

15 goals in 13 games for me. I fucking love him. As does the rest of the world...

image.png.13e33f1c3e58e03ec537c8971255b145.png

My Europa League run comes to an end. After a 5-1 hammering of PSV at home they scored three goals in nine minutes early doors in Eindhoven. Squeeky bum time but we scored a few more to square it up.

Then we played Schalke...

image.png.838a54a43193770e5f10d2b01b15a429.png

Beat us 3-1 in Turin. Smashed us 5-1 away. 

In the Copa 3-2 victories in both legs against Atalanta got us through to the final... We've done well against Lazio in the two league games so hoping for some silverware there

image.png.804e52f7f8c38770b9ba53adf6b1fd49.png

My main aim this year is Champions League qualification. The club needs it financially and I need it to end this game. That's on track but, despite being top at the halfway point, we'd dipped a bit. Serie A Champs might be beyond me but we have AC away next and Sampdoria at home at the end of the month. Apart from those two all our other opposition are in the bottom half of the table. 

image.thumb.png.6176de5b825997e74fd5fe513bd1baf4.png

Quite excited about next year. Here's the elder statesmen of my squad...
image.thumb.png.26e224aa15bd7857315f96c639ec2573.png

Dragowski, Olmo and Bentacur are retiring. No great loss with any of them. This will free up £550,000 per week in wages. 

Martinez has been useful but is fading fast, Colley is back up at best and getting rid of both will free up two nonEU spots.

Happy for Ajer, Rubino and de Ligt to stay. All have a year left in them even as back up but wouldn't KB a decent offer either. 

Gomes, Cangiano and de Ron can get to f**k asap. 

Feddal's on a two year loan but will play less next year 

Big rebuild on the horizon. Cannae wait.

Iker Alvarez was available on a free at the start of the season and has over 100 caps. He'll be my third choice for the foreseeable just as cover so I can loan out younger, better, keepers and give them game time.

Edited by AsimButtHitsASix