SONS VS BLUES

Just now, BallochSonsFan said:

Draw was a fair reflection of a poor game. That said, 1-0 up so late in the game and we should have seen it out for the 3 points. 

Lots of effort but little attacking quality. Thought Hutton played very well - covered a hell of a lot of ground, won his tackles and used the ball well. 

I said the same at the game. Thought he was our best player.

Does Duffy actually give a f**k? 3 points today and we're right in the hunt for fourth and putting pressure on East Fife and he's happy to sit with 13 players. We can play trialists and our left backs brother is looking for a club, I'm sure there's others out there without a club who'd take a few games too. Failing that, how about not sending out 3 players on loan, one seemingly done as a favour to help a junior side through injuries too. Total joke IMO.

I went along to this one today as I couldn't get to Peterhead and fancied a bet.

Stranraer used their resources as well as they could've. There was enough about their two big forwards to fashion the odd chance and they had enough experience and physicality about them to avoid being easily opened up by Dumbarton. They conceded very few corners or free-kicks high up the pitch and quickly turned Dumbarton away whenever they got into the final third. If Stranraer were going to get a goal, it only ever threatened to come from a dead ball or maybe, just maybe, from a fortunate break of the ball in the greasy conditions.

On Dumbarton. No doubt Duffy would've put out a different side had he a full squad to pick from but starting with just one out and out forward, and a small one at that, didn't strike me as wise. Especially with McCluskey available and sat on the bench. His introduction later on in the game was unsurprising. Dumbarton could have lost Langan earlier on and might've scored sooner for it.

I think Dumbarton's problem, if they have one, is much like our own. They've been able to beat the better teams more easily than the poorer teams, at least as judged by league position. Some of that owes to unfortunate injuries. I can imagine Layne and Crossan maybe making today easier, for example. But some of it owes to poor decision making too, witness today.

Having said all that, you could argue that Duffy started cautiously acknowledging the wounded animal that Stranraer are, and reacted rightly by bringing on McCluskey. It's then the game management aspect which you're left to think about. Meaning, not seeing out the game with a few minutes left. You need an experienced, spirited side to do that. And while Sons do have a few experienced heads, and no shortage of stature to defend dead balls, they seemed a bit at odds with one another today. I could see Tumilty, Neill and McGeever visibly despairing at the team's collective indecision at times. Not knowing who's hitting a dead ball. Not taking them quick enough. Fuming at the choice of pass made. That's something for a manager to fix.

Think we, Stranraer and Dumbarton might play out a couple of close ones over the next fortnight.

Does Duffy actually give a f**k? 3 points today and we're right in the hunt for fourth and putting pressure on East Fife and he's happy to sit with 13 players. We can play trialists and our left backs brother is looking for a club, I'm sure there's others out there without a club who'd take a few games too. Failing that, how about not sending out 3 players on loan, one seemingly done as a favour to help a junior side through injuries too. Total joke IMO.

Assume you are pissed and were not at previous 2 away games

1 hour ago, Old John said:

I went along to this one today as I couldn't get to Peterhead and fancied a bet.

Stranraer used their resources as well as they could've. There was enough about their two big forwards to fashion the odd chance and they had enough experience and physicality about them to avoid being easily opened up by Dumbarton. They conceded very few corners or free-kicks high up the pitch and quickly turned Dumbarton away whenever they got into the final third. If Stranraer were going to get a goal, it only ever threatened to come from a dead ball or maybe, just maybe, from a fortunate break of the ball in the greasy conditions.

On Dumbarton. No doubt Duffy would've put out a different side had he a full squad to pick from but starting with just one out and out forward, and a small one at that, didn't strike me as wise. Especially with McCluskey available and sat on the bench. His introduction later on in the game was unsurprising. Dumbarton could have lost Langan earlier on and might've scored sooner for it.

I think Dumbarton's problem, if they have one, is much like our own. They've been able to beat the better teams more easily than the poorer teams, at least as judged by league position. Some of that owes to unfortunate injuries. I can imagine Layne and Crossan maybe making today easier, for example. But some of it owes to poor decision making too, witness today.

Having said all that, you could argue that Duffy started cautiously acknowledging the wounded animal that Stranraer are, and reacted rightly by bringing on McCluskey. It's then the game management aspect which you're left to think about. Meaning, not seeing out the game with a few minutes left. You need an experienced, spirited side to do that. And while Sons do have a few experienced heads, and no shortage of stature to defend dead balls, they seemed a bit at odds with one another today. I could see Tumilty, Neill and McGeever visibly despairing at the team's collective indecision at times. Not knowing who's hitting a dead ball. Not taking them quick enough. Fuming at the choice of pass made. That's something for a manager to fix.

Think we, Stranraer and Dumbarton might play out a couple of close ones over the next fortnight.

Stefan wasn't fully fit which was why he didn't start. Young Ryan Tierney hasn't started a league game this year (I don't think) but was our only option up front due the our depleted squad.

We have actually been fairly decent at seeing out games and another thing we have done well is not knowing when we are beat. We have come behind a number of times this season. But when we are missing 2 or 3 key players - as was evident with both of our teams today - you can see that we lack squad depth.

It was clear both sides lacked any real quality today due to the injuries. Lots of work in January for us (Duffy) as we are looking very thin. A draw was about fair today, even though the fashion in which we lost the goal is a bit gutting.

2 hours ago, The Moonster said:

do you really think any of the players we have sent on loan would have made a difference today? 

Yes it looked bad not being able to fill the bench but if they were available I really don’t see people calling to get those players on.

My guess is McMillan is out to get fit to take over from Tumilty and the rest have been moved on to make room. 

You have to wonder about Dumbarton. Fan involvement. What has the trust achieved in its 20 years or so.

You have to wonder about a club with old filing cabinets in main concourse and a car park that resembls the wastelands of Aleppo.

I know the trust aka PTA mean well. And they have their little table, shiny landyards and importantf titles. But what the f**k has it actually done, other than fund the ballboys jackets and make a few feel more important than they did before.

As for the direction of a club. One week it big hurrah and partnership moving forward with youth committments and local football partnerships. Then its one outfield sub available due to lack of playing squad.

All a bit wee diddy club like one thinks.

8 minutes ago, FALESIA1 said:

You have to wonder about Dumbarton. Fan involvement. What has the trust achieved in its 20 years or so.

You have to wonder about a club with old filing cabinets in main concourse and a car park that resembls the wastelands of Aleppo.

I know the trust aka PTA mean well. And they have their little table, shiny landyards and importantf titles. But what the f**k has it actually done, other than fund the ballboys jackets and make a few feel more important than they did before.

As for the direction of a club. One week it big hurrah and partnership moving forward with youth committments and local football partnerships. Then its one outfield sub available due to lack of playing squad.

^^ Stevie Aitken ^^

do you really think any of the players we have sent on loan would have made a difference today? 

Yes it looked bad not being able to fill the bench but if they were available I really don’t see people calling to get those players on.
My guess is McMillan is out to get fit to take over from Tumilty and the rest have been moved on to make room. 
Subs can be used for a number of different reasons - to change the shape, to replace an ineffective player carrying a knock, to freshen things up.

Zata, Crawford or McMillan certainly aren't world beaters but having them available on the bench is a far superior option to what we had today.

I hope all the injured players enjoyed their wee convenient Christmas holiday and are ready to get the fingers out for what is a honker of a trip to Falkirk next week.

1 hour ago, FALESIA1 said:

Strange one for a 2nd post.

You can level a degree of criticism at the trust. It hasn't always got things right. It still doesnt. Some of that is down to the fact that those involved are volunteers with lives that extend beyond saturday afternoon. If you're asking what the trust has achieved in 20 years then it would be remiss to ignore what it's done over it's lifetime. It has provided funding to the club at short notice, raised further funds for the club over the years, offers time and effort on a voluntary basis to support club initiatives and was heavily involved in discussions with Brabco to try to represent fans interests with an ownership group whose intentions aren't first and foremost for the benefit of the club.

You could contrast that with the actions of previous chairmen, one of whom ran the club with a degree of hostility towards the supporters and who saw them as an inconvenience and with a former chairman who threatened to sink the club via a winding up petition. The current board make mistakes. God knows it was a massive error funding Aitken to the extent that they did on relegation to league 1 and at times what comes from the current chairman is strong on intention but weak on practicalities.

Some of the criticisms though? The one major factor is money. It takes money to maintain the stadium - something previous boards never budgeted for and that caused a significant problem with damage to the roof that required significant repair. It takes money to sort out the land around the ground - something that the club don't have and would be criticised for using to tarmac a car park when the owners haven't entirely abandoned their plans to move. Youth commitments? Great if you can afford it. When clubs like Falkirk are cutting back on youth football then you can be assured that finances in youth football are non-existent outside of Project Brave. For a club like Dumbarton? Who was the last youth player to make an impact on reaching the senior team? Lack of a playing squad? Nothing short of increased income is going to solve that. As a club we either get more fans through the door, find a sponsor willing to pay big money (relative to the division) or find a way of bringing in more money from non-football areas. Some of which you'll have seen the club pursuing in the past 18 months thanks to the commitment of the club and the time and effort of fan volunteers.

Criticism of the trust is fine when it's constructive and when it's justified. When it isn't? You do start to wonder exactly what axe the complainer has to grind.

2 hours ago, squeezeboxson said:

Stefan wasn't fully fit which was why he didn't start. Young Ryan Tierney hasn't started a league game this year (I don't think) but was our only option up front due the our depleted squad.

We have actually been fairly decent at seeing out games and another thing we have done well is not knowing when we are beat. We have come behind a number of times this season. But when we are missing 2 or 3 key players - as was evident with both of our teams today - you can see that we lack squad depth.

It was clear both sides lacked any real quality today due to the injuries. Lots of work in January for us (Duffy) as we are looking very thin. A draw was about fair today, even though the fashion in which we lost the goal is a bit gutting.

Ah. I never knew McCluskey had a fitness issue. Seemed very sprightly when he came on.

But aye. Clyde are in precisely the same spot when it comes to depth. We had Danny Lennon on the bench again today, god bless him.

Subs can be used for a number of different reasons - to change the shape, to replace an ineffective player carrying a knock, to freshen things up.

Zata, Crawford or McMillan certainly aren't world beaters but having them available on the bench is a far superior option to what we had today.

I hope all the injured players enjoyed their wee convenient Christmas holiday and are ready to get the fingers out for what is a honker of a trip to Falkirk next week.

So you think all the injured players are at it?

9 hours ago, boghead64 said:

Assume you are pissed and were not at previous 2 away games

I wasn't pissed and I've been on holiday for the last 3 weeks, but if that means I can't comment on games then it'd be awfy quiet on forums. Do you agree or disagree that we should have utilised the trialist option for a crucial home game where we're missing a good number of starters? Or are you happy with a point against a team who fielded South of Scotland level players (with all due respect to those lads and Stranraer)?

8 hours ago, Sons Fan said:

McMillan might have helped sure things up after taking the lead. Any of them would've done in case someone got injured. Regardless of that, why are we not getting trialists in? Stranraer done everything in their power to field the best team they could, we hoped some injured players would be fit enough and they weren't. All I'm saying is it reeks of half arsedness not to have a trialist or two or recall someone from loan when you've got 11 fit players and a sub goalkeeper. Duffy bemoans the fact we can't use trialists in the League Cup group stages, yet doesn't bother his arse to use them throughout the season when it's allowed.

Strange one for a 2nd post.
You can level a degree of criticism at the trust. It hasn't always got things right. It still doesnt. Some of that is down to the fact that those involved are volunteers with lives that extend beyond saturday afternoon. If you're asking what the trust has achieved in 20 years then it would be remiss to ignore what it's done over it's lifetime. It has provided funding to the club at short notice, raised further funds for the club over the years, offers time and effort on a voluntary basis to support club initiatives and was heavily involved in discussions with Brabco to try to represent fans interests with an ownership group whose intentions aren't first and foremost for the benefit of the club.
You could contrast that with the actions of previous chairmen, one of whom ran the club with a degree of hostility towards the supporters and who saw them as an inconvenience and with a former chairman who threatened to sink the club via a winding up petition. The current board make mistakes. God knows it was a massive error funding Aitken to the extent that they did on relegation to league 1 and at times what comes from the current chairman is strong on intention but weak on practicalities.
Some of the criticisms though? The one major factor is money. It takes money to maintain the stadium - something previous boards never budgeted for and that caused a significant problem with damage to the roof that required significant repair. It takes money to sort out the land around the ground - something that the club don't have and would be criticised for using to tarmac a car park when the owners haven't entirely abandoned their plans to move. Youth commitments? Great if you can afford it. When clubs like Falkirk are cutting back on youth football then you can be assured that finances in youth football are non-existent outside of Project Brave. For a club like Dumbarton? Who was the last youth player to make an impact on reaching the senior team? Lack of a playing squad? Nothing short of increased income is going to solve that. As a club we either get more fans through the door, find a sponsor willing to pay big money (relative to the division) or find a way of bringing in more money from non-football areas. Some of which you'll have seen the club pursuing in the past 18 months thanks to the commitment of the club and the time and effort of fan volunteers.

Criticism of the trust is fine when it's constructive and when it's justified. When it isn't? You do start to wonder exactly what axe the complainer has to grind.
Good reply, but I wouldn't have bothered my arse. For the record, Falesia is a small resort on the Portuguese Algarve but this troll stays much closer to home.

Ignore him and he'll go back to typing with his right hand.

2 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

Good reply, but I wouldn't have bothered my arse. For the record, Falesia is a small resort on the Portuguese Algarve but this troll stays much closer to home.

Ignore him and he'll go back to typing with his right hand.

Would I be right in thinking this person has gravitated here from the echo chamber of the Sonsteam List? Similar "edgy" posting style to someone I would have put on "ignore" from that forum.