Dundee United v Dundee. Dundee Derby

11 minutes ago, Shadow Play said:

Yes, you are correct.  It was because of this banner that Thompson sold up.  

I can’t believe some people think it’s because he had sold every player worth any money and that the only thing left to sell was the club itself. 

The context was regarding attendances: a sizeable number of fans appear to have returned as a) Thompson has gone and b) people turn up to see a winning side.

I quite like a flag display, it only really works when there is a full house but it can add to the occasion if they are done well. The banner in the Shed was something a bit different and it works in compact stands like that. The flags in the George Fox were out out too early and then quickly moved on as the crowd in the stand clearly got annoyed that their view was being blocked!

Maybe we should have had one that contained a message of support for the the kiosk workers of Tannadice.

22 minutes ago, stumigoo said:

Maybe we should have had one that contained a message of support for the the kiosk workers of Tannadice.

I think Mike 'bairn puncher' Barile has set up a JustGiving for badges for that particular cause. 

There's a racist shout directed towards Kane Hemmings from the Shed circulating online. Many Dee's are focusing on retweeting it to condemn it. 

I'm torn between whether or not this is the right thing to do. Such is the video, there is no chance the culprit will be caught. So sharing the video is only allowing this one fucking moron to tarnish the name of Dundee as a city. What good will come from sharing it? 

Really disappointing to hear something like that from either side of the Dundee support. Been a long, long time since there could be racist accusation thrown at either support.

On a more general note - I dunno if it's just being publically shamed more or if there's been a large spike of late (Since Brexit) but this sort of thing seems much more prevalent across our country and the UK over the past few year. 

1 minute ago, Ludo*1 said:

There's a racist shout directed towards Kane Hemmings from the Shed circulating online. Many Dee's are focusing on retweeting it to condemn it. 

I'm torn between whether or not this is the right thing to do. Such is the video, there is no chance the culprit will be caught. So sharing the video is only allowing this one fucking moron to tarnish the name of Dundee as a city. What good will come from sharing it? 

Really disappointing to hear something like that from either side of the Dundee support. Been a long, long time since there could be racist accusation thrown at either support.

On a more general note - I dunno if it's just being publically shamed more or if there's been a large spike of late (Since Brexit) but this sort of thing seems much more prevalent across our country and the UK over the past few year. 

Aye I've seen that too. Frustrating as f**k to see that from your own support. Hopefully he got pelters for it, can't tell from the video as it cuts out just after the shout.

6 hours ago, Yenitit said:

Shankland plus the  same group of players as last year yet your crowds are up 3000 for some of the games. Those extra punters wouldn’t be anywhere near Tannadice if we didn’t get relegated last season.  The difference is Dundee is in your league and that’s what you want to see. The home gate was up 3500 on your previous game, yet again it’s because they want to see Dundee. The only game they’ll be back for is the last game when you’s get presented with the trophy. Next season if we don’t go up your home gates will be around 6000. Always has been and always will be all about The Dees. 

Deeluded and total crap.

4 hours ago, stumigoo said:

I quite like a flag display, it only really works when there is a full house but it can add to the occasion if they are done well. The banner in the Shed was something a bit different and it works in compact stands like that. The flags in the George Fox were out out too early and then quickly moved on as the crowd in the stand clearly got annoyed that their view was being blocked!

Maybe Dundee fans will have a banner apologising for the fans that continuously threw coins at united players. Or was that their version of just giving.

5 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

He's been racially abused on twitter previously by Arabs as well so it's not an isolated instance like some will try and make out. Agree it seams to be creeping back in to society in the UK again. Absolutely disgusts me.

8 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

Of course it should be shared. The more people who see and condemn it then the more chance there is of a reaction next time. Let's not Bury our heads in the sand here, it's an absolutely vile thing to shout. 

This isn't a one off aimed at Kane. This is from a fan base who a section of spent time making photoshops of and calling him "Harvey" after Katie Price's son as soon as he signed back. 

Edit : I've actually just read that back. "Don't want to share as it'll shine Dundee as a city in a bad light". WTF. Aye, let's just let folk off racially abusing footballers because Erm, we don't want the underage pregnancy, drug death capital of Europe to get a bad name. Fucking hell man. 

Edited by Dele

Of course it should be shared. The more people who see and condemn it then the more chance there is of a reaction next time. Let's not Bury our heads in the sand here, it's an absolutely vile thing to shout. 
This isn't a one off aimed at Kane. This is from a fan base who a section of spent time making photoshops of and calling him "Harvey" after Katie Price's son as soon as he signed back. 
Edit : I've actually just read that back. "Don't want to share as it'll shine Dundee as a city in a bad light". WTF. Aye, let's just let folk off racially abusing footballers because Erm, we don't want the underage pregnancy, drug death capital of Europe to get a bad name. Fucking hell man. 

I can’t make out what the boy says apart from “b*****d”. Sounded a bit like “blue nose b*****d” to me.

I haven't watched the video. I don't want to watch the video.

If the fan has used racially abusive or discriminatory language then it is an absolute disgrace. Anytime a 'fan' does something like this it tarnishes an experience I love and a sport I follow religiously. They do not represent football fans and I would hope that 99.99% of supporters would agree and shame anyone who does engage in anything like this.

What I also do have an issue with is the pluralising of an incident like this and for people to use language that does tarnish United fans as a group. As far as I know I have seen a tiny number of idiots using terminology that is unacceptable (and again they should be shamed and humiliated for doing so), however, to use this larger scale language is something that makes me incredibly angry. Again, they do not represent me, a football fan, and they certainly do not represent my club.

11 minutes ago, stumigoo said:

I haven't watched the video. I don't want to watch the video.

If the fan has used racially abusive or discriminatory language then it is an absolute disgrace. Anytime a 'fan' does something like this it tarnishes an experience I love and a sport I follow religiously. They do not represent football fans and I would hope that 99.99% of supporters would agree and shame anyone who does engage in anything like this.

What I also do have an issue with is the pluralising of an incident like this and for people to use language that does tarnish United fans as a group. As far as I know I have seen a tiny number of idiots using terminology that is unacceptable (and again they should be shamed and humiliated for doing so), however, to use this larger scale language is something that makes me incredibly angry. Again, they do not represent me, a football fan, and they certainly do not represent my club.

Well said. This shouldn't be used as point scoring. Every club in the country will have idiots amongst their fanbase.

5 minutes ago, rhumbaclub said:

"wayyy f@*king black b@$tard" that is shouted quite clearly in my opinion. 

If this is the case, there should be some self policing amongst the fans and this moron reported. Regardless of the occasion, there is no place at Tannadice or any other ground for this pish.

However, this bawbag should not be used as a stick to beat the whole club and support with.

Every support has its smattering of utter fucking roasters and he is clearly just one of ours.

8 minutes ago, Big Shedboy said:

Well said. This shouldn't be used as point scoring. Every club in the country will have idiots amongst their fanbase.

Nobody is using it as point scoring. There's also the fact that your fans sing "You'll always be a m*ng", too. 

Again, it's not point scoring. Every club has its idiots. Yours seems to have quite a fucking high number who are still doing it on a regular basis. 

As Stu said, they dont represent most of you on here, they dont represent the support as a whole and they don't represent the club. They do, however, continually drag your clubs name through the gutter with shite like this. Hiding the video doesn't change that - it needs widely shared, condemned and then the problem ones can be called to task. 

Edited by Dele

2 minutes ago, MacArab said:

If this is the case, there should be some self policing amongst the fans and this moron reported. Regardless of the occasion, there is no place at Tannadice or any other ground for this pish.

However, this bawbag should not be used as a stick to beat the whole club and support with.

Every support has its smattering of utter fucking roasters and he is clearly just one of ours.

Totally agree but also have to say again it's not a one off as far as racial abuse from Utd to Hemmings in concerned, is it coming from the same person!?