Saints v Buddies 21/12/19

46 minutes ago, The Marly said:
1 hour ago, Valentino Bolognese said:
Having watched back the Hearts game last night, I'm far from convinced that we've really turned the corner yet. 
Now I'm not being negative but trying to be realistic. The last 2 games have been very good away results, but you can only play what's in front of you. It's obvious Hearts are dire and there's mounting evidence that Killie are returning to mediocrity. St Mirren have a confidence not supported by results (plus ca change) but there does seem a general impression that they are playing decent football. 
Gordon is very clearly a big upgrade on Duffy and we're seeing a far better Kerr as well. Personally, I think Ralston can do a job and he's probably a liability (no doubt he should have had a straight red on Saturday). Watching Booth, yes he's more solid defensively than Tanser but he also seems to be beaten fairly easily in a Tanser-esque way. We seem to be much better at dealing with crosses when they reach the box (Zander seems less pinned to his line too) and are generally better at breaking down the opposition through the middle (McCann/Holt/Murray do a good job with this), but my concern is that this defence has not faced much quality since Motherwell so it's far to early to sit back and say 'problem solved'. 
MOH and Kennedy are good wingers and cause problems but we've been struggling to create quality chances through them, and when we do we don't always have the men in the middle, although this improved on Saturday when Hendry came on as he seems quick in getting in behind the line. I also think that what we've gained in Booth we've lost in Tanser so Kennedy is getting far fewer balls up that left channel and there's not so much support/overlap for him. 
Zander hasn't been tested for a couple of games but there's real question marks over his kicking this year for me. Don't remember that being as big a problem last year but he seems very poor in dealing with pass-backs, reluctant to take a touch and very prone to slicing. 
Main point is that we were only as good as we needed to be against Killie and Hearts without actually being especially good. 2 up front would rob us of the midfield trio that I think have been equally important as the defensive changes in stemming the tide of goals against, so I'm against that idea. 
St Mirren will be the toughest test we've faced and if we get a result, ideally one with a clean sheet, then I'll be firmly on the 'Saints Rennaissance' bandwagon and I'd expect us to deal with Hamilton and County and boost up the table. 
I think that this will be a nervy 1-0 home win with a relatively late goal and a few cards in the mix, but equally I can see a low scoring draw. 

Still, could be worse eh?

Might not sound like it but really looking forward to this one, got a heavy cold and the weather's pish hence the I M Jolly act. 

Certainly could be a lot worse though. 2pm Saturday I'll be full of the joys and confidenly predicting 5-0. 

3 hours ago, Valentino Bolognese said:

Having watched back the Hearts game last night, I'm far from convinced that we've really turned the corner yet. 

Now I'm not being negative but trying to be realistic. The last 2 games have been very good away results, but you can only play what's in front of you. It's obvious Hearts are dire and there's mounting evidence that Killie are returning to mediocrity. St Mirren have a confidence not supported by results (plus ca change) but there does seem a general impression that they are playing decent football. 

Gordon is very clearly a big upgrade on Duffy and we're seeing a far better Kerr as well. Personally, I think Ralston can do a job and he's probably a liability (no doubt he should have had a straight red on Saturday). Watching Booth, yes he's more solid defensively than Tanser but he also seems to be beaten fairly easily in a Tanser-esque way. We seem to be much better at dealing with crosses when they reach the box (Zander seems less pinned to his line too) and are generally better at breaking down the opposition through the middle (McCann/Holt/Murray do a good job with this), but my concern is that this defence has not faced much quality since Motherwell so it's far to early to sit back and say 'problem solved'. 

MOH and Kennedy are good wingers and cause problems but we've been struggling to create quality chances through them, and when we do we don't always have the men in the middle, although this improved on Saturday when Hendry came on as he seems quick in getting in behind the line. I also think that what we've gained in Booth we've lost in Tanser so Kennedy is getting far fewer balls up that left channel and there's not so much support/overlap for him. 

Zander hasn't been tested for a couple of games but there's real question marks over his kicking this year for me. Don't remember that being as big a problem last year but he seems very poor in dealing with pass-backs, reluctant to take a touch and very prone to slicing. 

Main point is that we were only as good as we needed to be against Killie and Hearts without actually being especially good. 2 up front would rob us of the midfield trio that I think have been equally important as the defensive changes in stemming the tide of goals against, so I'm against that idea. 

St Mirren will be the toughest test we've faced and if we get a result, ideally one with a clean sheet, then I'll be firmly on the 'Saints Rennaissance' bandwagon and I'd expect us to deal with Hamilton and County and boost up the table. 

I think that this will be a nervy 1-0 home win with a relatively late goal and a few cards in the mix, but equally I can see a low scoring draw. 

Worth mentioning we've had a couple of earlier season games where teams created nothing against us, and then we shipped a goal from absolutely nothing.

Have to see us playing 180 minutes, away from home, and not conceding a single goal, as a positive step regardless of opposition quality. Beforehand any ball in the box caused complete chaos.

Worth mentioning we've had a couple of earlier season games where teams created nothing against us, and then we shipped a goal from absolutely nothing.
Have to see us playing 180 minutes, away from home, and not conceding a single goal, as a positive step regardless of opposition quality. Beforehand any ball in the box caused complete chaos.

For once he’s spot on. There wasn’t the same panic and fear every time Hearts won a free kick and corner. Of which there were quite a few, we did a good job of dealing with it and Clark took quite a lot cleanly which was refreshing. Defence looked more solid and Gordon is making a difference. Do I think we’re back to being solid, no far from it; however the defence and midfield are tracking players better and McCann in particular is being allowed to shield the centre backs.

I think it was Radford who said it was his quietest performance and whilst I’d agree, he did a lot of the unseen stuff. Won second balls all day and helped challenge the strikers so they never got a clean take down or header. Not withstanding this he was the furthest forward player in the final seconds when Wotherspoon had a taken a shot, showing his energy.

23 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Don't disagree at all, it's a far more positive place to be than after the Motherwell game. 

Just tempering the enthusiasm with pointing out we've not had the toughest of games and we're not doing a lot at the other end of the park.  Without digging out the stats, it certainly feels that the opposition shots/shots on target have been reduced in the last 2 games. To me that's a combination of better CB performances, possibly better FB performances, better centre mid performances but also poorer play by our opposition. The relative impact of these factors is debatable, but point is that I think that the last one will be more important come Saturday. 

Hard to argue that we'd not have conceded on Saturday with Duffy in place of Gordon, but to be fair to both him and Tommy it's been pointed out more than once that he was never intended to play anywhere near the minutes he's already put in this season.

29 minutes ago, Widge said:

McCann in particular is being allowed to shield the centre backs.

I think it was Radford who said it was his quietest performance and whilst I’d agree, he did a lot of the unseen stuff. Won second balls all day and helped challenge the strikers so they never got a clean take down or header. Not withstanding this he was the furthest forward player in the final seconds when Wotherspoon had a taken a shot, showing his energy.

I thought Holt was a stand-out for similar reasons. He's very good at reading the game, breaking down play and getting the ball back when he loses it. Also a nippy wee bugger that covers a lot of the park, likes a niggley tackle, generally winding folk up and getting in the ref's ear.  I'd like to keep him if we can. 

35 minutes ago, Valentino Bolognese said:

Without digging out the stats

Not sure theyd be much use tbh, when comparing against different sides. The old trusty "eye test" maybe better.

For example Hearts seemed to have a fair amount of corners in the game and I'm not sure a single one caused any bother, with Clark claiming quite a lot. That's an improvement. A staggering amount of goals this season have been from crosses/set pieces (most crosses from our left back position/finished in right CB position...), cant think of any chances Killie/Hearts got from that.

4 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Not sure theyd be much use tbh, when comparing against different sides. The old trusty "eye test" maybe better.

For example Hearts seemed to have a fair amount of corners in the game and I'm not sure a single one caused any bother, with Clark claiming quite a lot. That's an improvement. A staggering amount of goals this season have been from crosses/set pieces (most crosses from our left back position/finished in right CB position...), cant think of any chances Killie/Hearts got from that.

Yeah they had loads, double figures I expect, and we handled them well. It's a bit of a circular argument but it's also true that poorer teams are, all things being equal, poorer at set pieces. 

23 hours ago, Center half said:

Watching the Brighton game, interesting fact came up about Michael O'Halloran his best mate in football Aaron Mooy was given a free transfer from the fakes?    

We released him in the summer of 2012 I think as he wanted to go back to Australia. I thought he had potential and never really got a fair crack with us, although I didn't think he'd go on to be as good as he has.

Had he stayed on for the following season we could have had a midfield containing him, Kenny McLean and John McGinn!

Tuesday is the eighth anniversary of Aaron Mooy Day.

2 hours ago, Stu said:

We released him in the summer of 2012 I think as he wanted to go back to Australia. I thought he had potential and never really got a fair crack with us, although I didn't think he'd go on to be as good as he has.

Had he stayed on for the following season we could have had a midfield containing him, Kenny McLean and John McGinn!

That was the last time i did a cart-wheel.  

On to Saturday:  The Buds to deliver a crushing blow to the Saintees 'Renaissance', 3 goals, (Morais, Obika and Mullen) and all 3 points watched by 3333 hardy souls. 

This thread been conducted surprisingly cordially so far.  Long may it continue...  

I'm quite optimistic for this weekend, as long as all our players are fit to play.

The positive feeling from 2 decent away results, and an increased confidence in the defence after consecutive  clean sheets, will see a bit of a buzz throughout the team, and I reckon that this could be the game when it clicks.  We've looked like an organised team with a good shape to us in the two recent matches, just need to get it going a bit more at the other end and create and take a few more chances.

A bright up and at thum opening, and especially if we get an early goal, and Id really fancy us to kick on.  3-0 St Johnstone.

This obviously has potential to go badly awry and be cast up on Saturday evening, but I'm sticking with it...

3 hours ago, Stu said:

I distinctly remember the manager at the time criticizing him for "trying too hard" to make things happen. That translates as he showed a bit of skill which isn't on so we'll stick a hammer thrower in there instead. No doubt the same nonsense with mahrez who was running amok in the reserves but oh no you can't get a game unless you're a big time charlie or one of the banter lads like stevie "stand still and moan" thompson. Typical scottish football fare really.

10 hours ago, Stu said:

One of my then 9 year old son’s favourite memories of watching St Mirren. 

Great to see the family stand cheering on saints, something our short sighted board have decided that they don’t want when Celtic come visiting on Boxing Day. 

On 17/12/2019 at 23:53, christinanade said:

I distinctly remember the manager at the time criticizing him for "trying too hard" to make things happen. That translates as he showed a bit of skill which isn't on so we'll stick a hammer thrower in there instead. No doubt the same nonsense with mahrez who was running amok in the reserves but oh no you can't get a game unless you're a big time charlie or one of the banter lads like stevie "stand still and moan" thompson. Typical scottish football fare really.

Mooy himself has said he was homesick, unfit and unhappy and had to go away and get his passion for the game back. When he went back to Australia he had to start from the very bottom. Credit to him. The other midfielders keeping him out the  team at that time were guys like McLean, McGowan,  Carey and Teale, hammerthrowers to a man, and Thompson was one of the best players ever to play for St Mirren, but apart from all that, great post mate.

2 hours ago, GAD said:

Mooy himself has said he was homesick, unfit and unhappy and had to go away and get his passion for the game back. When he went back to Australia he had to start from the very bottom. Credit to him. The other midfielders keeping him out the  team at that time were guys like McLean, McGowan,  Carey and Teale, hammerthrowers to a man, and Thompson was one of the best players ever to play for St Mirren, but apart from all that, great post mate.

He also said he wasn't given a fair chance which was true. He was criticised after his debut for trying too hard to dictate play and impress. If he'd just have ran around chasing crisp packets and kicking people he would of been in the team as a first pick.

Thompson is one of the worst strikers to ever wear the strip.  Almost single handedly got us relegated with his lazy big time attitude in a year when our midfield was excellent and creating chances for fun. I will never ever forget him in one game getting countless balls played down the side to him and him just stood still, arms out, moaning, refusing to move as it wasn't to his feet. One of the worst things I've ever witnessed. And as if that wasn't bad enough, when we got relegated, he said oh I don't want it to end like this and kept playing on next season, almost getting us relegated for a second season running. We only survived and picked up when he was finally dropped and punted. Will never forgive him or forget when we were fighting relegation and he was pretending like he wasn't part of it, faking injury, even laughing about it on sportscence with his bbc gravy train pals who were pointing out he was running around the studio acting like a daft wee lassie just fine, when he was supposed to be unable to walk and crippled with a knee injury and a torn hamstring. And then there's the fact he threw a spear through mcginns leg because he nutmegged him 😂 Can't be showing big time stevie up in front of the boys. I used tae be a Burnly reserve! Oh but that's only banter, it's ok lads.

But hey think what you will. We're all entitled to an opinion.

Other than that, totally agree though "mate".

Edited by christinanade

What total and utter shite . This must be one of the WUMs escaped from BWA ?

He also said he wasn't given a fair chance which was true. He was criticised after his debut for trying too hard to dictate play and impress. If he'd just have ran around chasing crisp packets and kicking people he would of been in the team as a first pick.
Thompson is one of the worst strikers to ever wear the strip.  Almost single handedly got us relegated with his lazy big time attitude in a year when our midfield was excellent and creating chances for fun. I will never ever forget him in one game getting countless balls played down the side to him and him just stood still, arms out, moaning, refusing to move as it wasn't to his feet. One of the worst things I've ever witnessed. And as if that wasn't bad enough, when we got relegated, he said oh I don't want it to end like this and kept playing on next season, almost getting us relegated for a second season running. We only survived and picked up when he was finally dropped and punted. Will never forgive him or forget when we were fighting relegation and he was pretending like he wasn't part of it, faking injury, even laughing about it on sportscence with his bbc gravy train pals who were pointing out he was running around the studio acting like a daft wee lassie just fine, when he was supposed to be unable to walk and crippled with a knee injury and a torn hamstring. And then there's the fact he threw a spear through mcginns leg because he nutmegged him [emoji23] Can't be showing big time stevie up in front of the boys. I used tae be a Burnly reserve! Oh but that's only banter, it's ok lads.

35 minutes ago, christinanade said:

Thompson is one of the worst strikers to ever wear the strip.  Almost single handedly got us relegated with his lazy big time attitude in a year when our midfield was excellent and creating chances for fun. I will never ever forget him in one game getting countless balls played down the side to him and him just stood still, arms out, moaning, refusing to move as it wasn't to his feet. One of the worst things I've ever witnessed. And as if that wasn't bad enough, when we got relegated, he said oh I don't want it to end like this and kept playing on next season, almost getting us relegated for a second season running. We only survived and picked up when he was finally dropped and punted. Will never forgive him or forget when we were fighting relegation and he was pretending like he wasn't part of it, faking injury, even laughing about it on sportscence with his bbc gravy train pals who were pointing out he was running around the studio acting like a daft wee lassie just fine, when he was supposed to be unable to walk and crippled with a knee injury and a torn hamstring. And then there's the fact he threw a spear through mcginns leg because he nutmegged him 😂 Can't be showing big time stevie up in front of the boys. I used tae be a Burnly reserve! Oh but that's only banter, it's ok lads.

You've just made all that up you fucking lunatic.