When does the countdown to Christmas Start?

Oleksandr

As I grow older, the one that I now have a dislike of is New Year. I really used to like it as a kid. My mum and dad would allow us a cheeky wee Advocaat and lemonade, we could stay up late get to eat wee sausage rolls. The neighbours would come round and my mum would make sure everyone’s ‘glasses were charged’ for the bells. I always liked Hogmanay as a kid.
Now I really cannae’ be arsed with the maudlin nature of it all. Only an Excuse, Jackie Bird and Phil Cunninghame & Aly Bain....
I am not one for giving it ‘things were better in the old days’ but in the case of a Scottish Hogmanay, I think it definitely was better back in the day. Just my opinion.
In fairness it's an opinion I share, It was better back then. My old man taking his bottle of whisky and us all visiting the neighbors..eating biscuits/sausage rolls and drinking irn bru. Now it's just pish.

Guest Moomintroll
Snowflake [emoji23]
They weren't invented back then, my older cousins did get me roaringly drunk on whisky when I was 11 though (not on Hogmanay). Thank f**k mobiles were not around then to capture my Elvis & Daniel Boone impersonations.

2 minutes ago, John Lambies Doos said:
21 hours ago, pozbaird said:
As I grow older, the one that I now have a dislike of is New Year. I really used to like it as a kid. My mum and dad would allow us a cheeky wee Advocaat and lemonade, we could stay up late get to eat wee sausage rolls. The neighbours would come round and my mum would make sure everyone’s ‘glasses were charged’ for the bells. I always liked Hogmanay as a kid.
Now I really cannae’ be arsed with the maudlin nature of it all. Only an Excuse, Jackie Bird and Phil Cunninghame & Aly Bain....
I am not one for giving it ‘things were better in the old days’ but in the case of a Scottish Hogmanay, I think it definitely was better back in the day. Just my opinion.

In fairness it's an opinion I share, It was better back then. My old man taking his bottle of whisky and us all visiting the neighbors..eating biscuits/sausage rolls and drinking irn bru. Now it's just pish.

Look, I understand whisky is expensive, but don’t take a bottle of pish to your neighbours, that’s disrespectful. Have a word with yer’sel. 😀

1 hour ago, Moomintroll said:
1 hour ago, John Lambies Doos said:
Snowflake emoji23.png

They weren't invented back then, my older cousins did get me roaringly drunk on whisky when I was 11 though (not on Hogmanay). Thank f**k mobiles were not around then to capture my Elvis & Daniel Boone impersonations.

Daniel Boone's reputation has always confused me - wouldn't singing Beautiful Sunday while hunting scare all the animals away?

Guest Moomintroll
Daniel Boone's reputation has always confused me - wouldn't singing Beautiful Sunday while hunting scare all the animals away?
It would if I am singing it.

The current Hogmanay celebrations are a facsimile of a traditional Scottish New Year. It’s like we are acting out what people used to do normally, like how the zombies in Dawn of the Dead go to the shopping mall.

Just now, Snafu said:

Agoraphobic Nosebleed - Merry Chrystmeth

To some probably the worth thing they have ever heard in their sheltered life but to cultured ears a recommended antidote to the utter pish that is known as Christmas music.

Wtf is this shit, gtf out of my thread