Corbyn and the IRA

paranoid android

1 hour ago, BawWatchin said:

Because if history has taught us anything, it's that killing Jews is worse than killing anybody else.

No but I think what History has and will tell us about Corbyn is he has supported or given sympathy to many Terrorists Groups.

More so than to the victims. 

After some IRA  murderous attacks he blamed the British presence in Northern Ireland for it.

Another noted Marxist Ken Livingston did the same many times.

Another man not too fond of the Jews.

6 hours ago, paranoid android said:

A lot of folk I know (who I suspect would probably otherwise vote Labour), are saying they'll never vote for Labour while Corbyn is in charge because he was pictured shaking hands with adams and mcguiness.

What are folks' thoughts on this?

Complete load of shite but funny as f**k.  Corbyn took the correct and moral and statesmanlike position during the troubles and acted like a grown up, and the stick he gets for it from demented British nationalist idiots is entirely unwarranted, as is the criticism he gets for anti semitism which is also nonsense. 

But f**k him and f**k labour for the rest of time so i find it.highly amusing.  Maybe shouldn't have bussed and paid volunteers in their hundreds up here from different countries to go.into care homes all over Scotland and reduce pensioners to tears telling them their pension would stop the day after a yes vote.  What goes around comes around.

17 minutes ago, sureiknow said:

No but I think what History has and will tell us about Corbyn is he has supported or given sympathy to many Terrorists Groups.

After some IRA  murderous attacks he blamed the British presence in Northern Ireland for it.

Aye well that is the reason is it not

1 hour ago, dorlomin said:

The PIRA did not represent the "Catholic community". 

Your point is a strawman.

Where is your documented evidence he routinely called for an end to violence and for the problmes to be resolved democratically back in the 80s? His statements in parliament to this effect should be pretty volumous. 

Seems to me he simply responded to Republican violent attacks by repeating their demands. 

DA3UyJTXkAEZHKf.thumb.jpg.554747de6bf7e97581decd92f7471fc6.jpg

What is your documentary evidence from the 1980s for your suppositions. 

You mean he agrees with them.  As do I, as does any sane objective person who isn't a demented britnat weirdo.

Remember that this was before the IRA started attacking civilians randomly, rather than identified targets. I would have supported the ira at that point, as I would have supported Mandela and the ANC using violence in South Africa.

To many in northern Ireland it was a civil war, but the authorities and establishment in London was very much taking a side. Corbyn and other socialists saw this for what it was and attempted to give a voice to those on the other side.

You're also making the mistake of the anti Semitism chirade again. Livingstone was hounded by a right wing newspaper who supported the Nazis in the 1930s. He got caught up in stupid definitions that led to a rabbit hole of anti Semitic accusations.

These are well known media tactics to discredit those who pose a that to the established political system.

I'm no great fan of Corbyn or Livingstone but this is all a pile of nonsense.

46 minutes ago, pandarilla said:

Remember that this was before the IRA started attacking civilians randomly, rather than identified targets. 

The IRA always had random attacks on Civilians. 

Note the Warrington Bomb that killed two Children aged 3 and 12 in 1993.

Not sure what Corbyn said about that one.

Look at your avatar.. quelle surprise

18 minutes ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Look at your avatar.. quelle surprise

SureIknow is an ageing racist with a lengthy history of bigoted, creepy posts. 

Most of Corbyn's most vehement critics over his "terrorism links" are bootlicking fat gammons and various other military fetishists who think reading the majority of the Commando comics equals serving one's country. 

Corbyn is a fucking awful politician, but it's nothing to do with HAMAS or the IRA. He's just a personality vacuum with shit policies. 

Not this shite again. 

Corbyn was and probably still is unashamedly supportive of a united Ireland, as are many people. Support for a united Ireland does not necessarily mean that you support the IRA or condone their methods, particularly the civilian bombing campaign.

5 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:
9 hours ago, paranoid android said:
A lot of folk I know (who I suspect would probably otherwise vote Labour), are saying they'll never vote for Labour while Corbyn is in charge because he was pictured shaking hands with adams and mcguiness.
What are folks' thoughts on this?

Pretty shit thread are my thoughts

f**k you, then. :)

5 hours ago, LongTimeLurker said:

...and the moral of the story is be more careful about who you select as a leader. Somebody long viewed as being on the lunatic fringes of a party is probably there for a reason and usually should be left there because of baggage like this.

That's probably a fair point, actually - I reckon Corbyn is probably a decent man, and a leftist, which I think is important, Sadly, he comes across to most people as unelectable - a clean sweep for the tories is in the post, sadly - may god have mercy upon our holes. :(

3 hours ago, sureiknow said:

Serious question here. Who universally decides who the "terrorists" and the "heros" are?
Surely it just depends what side of the fence you're standing on?

1 minute ago, John Lambies Doos said:
4 minutes ago, BawWatchin said:
Serious question here. Who universally decides who the "terrorists" and the "heros" are?
Surely it just depends what side of the fence you're standing on?

Mandela. Just saying.....

It just seems that whoever wins get the "hero" status and whoever loses is branded the "terrorists" in the history books.

2 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:
3 hours ago, paranoid android said:
f**k you, then. emoji4.png

Only joking old chap, just a bit pissed with this right wing bullshit against Corbyn. Corbyn is an awful politician but I don't believe for one second that he condones the loss of innocent life...

Ken, m8 - nae bother! :)

It just seems that whoever wins get the "hero" status and whoever loses is branded the "terrorists" in the history books.
Yup.

Since 9/11 the word became supercharged with horrendously negative connotations.

We discuss this in school, starting as early as William Wallace.

Folk just don't think things through enough.