Celtic v the Rangers (League cup final)

Romeo

30 minutes ago, Hedgecutter said:

Whenever Celtic are pish like today and against Hamilton, the serial winners always grab that win.

Whenever the serial losers are handed an opportunity on a plate on the other hand, they contrive to fail miserably.  10 man Celtic today and bottling a 2-0 lead against an Aberdeen that just got pumped 3-0 off Hibs.

Your mob will be winning nothing any time soon, and Morelos knows it.

Have we ever played a team who played well? Every team we go against,  they're always labelled as shite.

We were never going to break a down a well marshalled ten man defence, who closed down our players and gave them very little room. To beat the invincibles we needed space to exploit and we were denied that.

More naivety from us and until we stop chasing games, we won't be winning anything. 

18 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Celtic were pish. Forster was outstanding, and that wee Frimpong guy looked to have some skill, but they were shite. Great effort from them though. To see the Sevco unable to beat a ten man Celtic, on a real off-day, with that fanny Morelos missing a penalty and sclaffing shots left, right and centre was a provider of much popcorn munching hilarity.

Celtic might not have been so ##### if

they had started with an actual centre forward with Eddie semi fit on the bench

18 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

RangersMedia has erupted in a multi-thread mass of folk challenging each other to fights, and every 3rd poster is being accused of being a Celtic fan which brings yet more threats to each other.

Outstanding.

But, if they play that well for the rest of the season, they'll win the league! 

How do you win the league without scoring?

19 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

As good as it is to watch rangers throw away a great opportunity to win a first trophy, that's 10 domestic cups in a row Celtic have won.  Into the fourth consecutive year.  And there is absolutely nothing going to change in the near future.

If anything, the two of them being back in competition will leave everyone else even further back.

We can go on about banter and all that but, let's be honest, our football is a futile, pointless waste of time for most of us.

Depends what league your in, my team are top of the table and in a cup semi final. Kinda glad we are no where near the SPL at the moment.

Just now, RandomGuy. said:

What can we do about it?

Rangers are horsing money straight in the fire, they still need to raise £8m at some point just to reach the end of the season, and Dave King has walked away. Best case scenario is Celtic continue scraping to wins, Rangers continue overspending in the belief one win sorts their issues and then we end up with a dead Rangers and weak Celtic. Then we just have to hope the clubs have the bollocks to deny Rangers a second time.

if the 2nd best team suddenly go into admin and a fire sale kicks off, they wont be 2nd best anymore.

3 minutes ago, gkneil said:

all I’d need would be daily images of Ryan Jack in tears.

Am I right in thinking that Ryan Jack has won more major Scottish silverware than the rest of the Rangers team combined, and that was when he lifted this trophy in an Aberdeen shirt?

1 minute ago, ali_91 said:

f**k convention, one nil down in a cup final with twenty to go and the opposition dropping like flies every couple of minutes, I’d be raging if Saints gave the ball back.

Indeed; can't fault Rangers for doing whatever it takes to win a crucial game from that position. It's all the sweeter that it didn't help them any.

Edited by Aim Here

2 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Rangers were the far better team but Celtic’s winning mentality is brilliant.

I think over the next couple of years Lennon will take Celtic backwards though from what BR was doing.

Lennon is a diddy and very lucky to have that job.

Depends whether he gets a back up centre forward

1 hour ago, Aim Here said:

Rangers are so dominant now that, from the principle of maximum seethe, the best result would be for Celtic to win 1-0 with a hotly disputed penalty kick/offside goal. The massive wave of righteous indignation and aggrieved sense of injustice would be a joy to behold.

You called it.  👏

7 minutes ago, bennett said:

We were never going to break a down a well marshalled ten man defence, who closed down our players and gave them very little room. To beat the invincibles we needed space to exploit and we were denied that.

More naivety from us and until we stop chasing games, we won't be winning anything. 

Bringing on Defoe and losing the extra man from the midfield definitely didn’t help in this regard. It condensed your players and the available space further which suited Celtic perfectly. As you say very tactically naive and desperate from Gerrard.