TALBOT V CLYDEBANK

happy

Working on the budget we are, where competitors can turn a players head with 3x their wages we work miracles. In terms of player development our Academy will be the envy of the lower league football in a few years. Aye ok we haven’t won a league dominated by teams paying 4x anything we can, because we fund our club within our means. What we do have is a hardworking board which instead of spunking money on a season of signing money grabbing players only to crash and burn the way many clubs before and (looking at the way some clubs are spending/not learning lessons) will again, they’ve put the club on a sound footing, with a base, secured our position within the community, put in place a fantastic youth structure and set the club up for decades after. The success will come as a result of this. We aren’t too good for the juniors, just many of us can’t be arsed with the ‘our village is better than yours’ stuff that seems to dominate many of the rivalries.

4 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Working on the budget we are, where competitors can turn a players head with 3x their wages we work miracles. In terms of player development our Academy will be the envy of the lower league football in a few years. Aye ok we haven’t won a league dominated by teams paying 4x anything we can, because we fund our club within our means. What we do have is a hardworking board which instead of spunking money on a season of signing money grabbing players only to crash and burn the way many clubs before and (looking at the way some clubs are spending/not learning lessons) will again, they’ve put the club on a sound footing, with a base, secured our position within the community, put in place a fantastic youth structure and set the club up for decades after. The success will come as a result of this. We aren’t too good for the juniors, just many of us can’t be arsed with the ‘our village is better than yours’ stuff that seems to dominate many of the rivalries.

Fair points within this, as long as you caveat it by acknowledging that Auchinleck Talbot are not one of the clubs throwing money at it. Your last sentence confuses me though. Whether it's villages, towns or areas of Glasgow city or Greater Glasgow, the jobby tennis will be the same whichever league you play in. Check other parts of this site for confirmation. Hardly a reason to flee the juniors.

Also, the point is made fairly regularly on here that the grade gave your club a platform to exist. Thumbing you nose like this doesn't win you guys many friends. Again, I'm all for ambition but a wee bit of humility and grace would smooth down the rough edges.

33 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

I applaud ambition but the problem is that there is a perception that Bankies supporters feel they're too good for the juniors.

Surely you can only truly feel that it's time to progress when you've conquered or outgrown the grade you are currently part of. Neither of those words apply to Clydebank, however much you would like to believe they do.

Well i can quite honestly say that I've never thought we are too good for the juniors and its not an opinion I've heard among the supporters i know.... having not won the top tier league it would be a bit silly to have this attitude ..... the opposite could be said intact that its Talbot who are too good for the juniors which is why i can't get my head round your willingness to hang around the "small pond" when you are clearly a "big fish" within that pond..... my understanding of the talbot mentality is that you are happy to hang around the juniors with what could be perceived as the arrogance of the knowledge that more often or not you are gonna be winning the league .... assuming your gonna be winning the junior scottish then gaining entrance to the scottish proper and all the income that generates which in turn enables you to strengthen to further dominate the junior game.... and so year after year the cycle repeats itself.... ultimately you guys go nowhere and the game itself is left in somewhat of a stranglehold with no one else able to access the riches of the scottish proper .... how you can resist the temptation of branching out ill never know... i enjoy visiting beechwood as its a great wee ground and a cracking surface but its the home fans who ruin it for me...some of them are truly nasty in their attitudes to travelling fans...the bitterness is off-putting.

Fair points within this, as long as you caveat it by acknowledging that Auchinleck Talbot are not one of the clubs throwing money at it. Your last sentence confuses me though. Whether it's villages, towns or areas of Glasgow city or Greater Glasgow, the jobby tennis will be the same whichever league you play in. Check other parts of this site for confirmation. Hardly a reason to flee the juniors.
Also, the point is made fairly regularly on here that the grade gave your club a platform to exist. Thumbing you nose like this doesn't win you guys many friends. Again, I'm all for ambition but a wee bit of humility and grace would smooth down the rough edges.

Jim, you say humility, we worked our way through the leagues doing it right. However on just about every stop have had to put up with the ‘homeless’ ‘airdrie’ shite from fans of many clubs, after 16 years it gets a bit grating, you’d forgive us for that. Or putting money into clubs raffles (200 visiting fans to some) for prizes of a quarter bottle of el d or paying into games for the club to suddenly announce taking a season off straight after our fans paid over a grand collectively for a sectional game. Aye we’ve been given a platform but we’ve also never been allowed to forget it or largely been treated like outsiders. That said yes theres a bit of suspicion on either side, aye we’ve had our backs up about certain things in junior football like the absolute struggle to modernise in any way, but now I think we largely just do our own wee thing and thats fair dos. Talbot are spending money but they appear to be living within their means in doing so, nae wonder with the money from cup runs.

10 minutes ago, mike strutter said:

Well i can quite honestly say that I've never thought we are too good for the juniors and its not an opinion I've heard among the supporters i know.... having not won the top tier league it would be a bit silly to have this attitude ..... the opposite could be said intact that its Talbot who are too good for the juniors which is why i can't get my head round your willingness to hang around the "small pond" when you are clearly a "big fish" within that pond..... my understanding of the talbot mentality is that you are happy to hang around the juniors with what could be perceived as the arrogance of the knowledge that more often or not you are gonna be winning the league .... assuming your gonna be winning the junior scottish then gaining entrance to the scottish proper and all the income that generates which in turn enables you to strengthen to further dominate the junior game.... and so year after year the cycle repeats itself.... ultimately you guys go nowhere and the game itself is left in somewhat of a stranglehold with no one else able to access the riches of the scottish proper .... how you can resist the temptation of branching out ill never know... i enjoy visiting beechwood as its a great wee ground and a cracking surface but its the home fans who ruin it for me...some of them are truly nasty in their attitudes to travelling fans...the bitterness is off-putting.

You asked and answered your own question there.

I'm in no position to comment on the ideology behind Talbot's staying in the Juniors or it's future but when you've been part of the set up for so long it's difficult to just jump ship. As a club who plied their trade primarily in Ayrshire before the reconstruction of the WOS, it's not easy to say to loyal supporters that their traveling time is going to greatly increase. Add to that the additional cost of entrance and travel and it becomes a major change for supporters. 

From the outside, I can see how the club have flourished with the current committee, management and group of players. The formula is correct and proven to be successful but would it still be so in the higher echelons? Hard to say, which in itself is a reason for reticence. 

As has been said, the club may well move but right now everyone involved has their cake and eating it right now. Winning regularly and getting the chance to joust with the bigger lads. What's not to like?

Edited by jimbaxters

Again, I'm all for ambition but a wee bit of humility and grace would smooth down the rough edges.

I laughed at this bit of humility & grace I’ve never ever met a Talbot supporter who has these qualities and you’ve the audacity to tell others to have . You just need to go through the threads on P&B and see what the greatest junior fans in the west are truly like they have a go at every team they play against with their obnoxious posts go read the threads then talk about humility & grace

Folk that don't go to the Talbot games think it's too easy for us , all the top teams in the league are hard games and never i think we are going to win before hand, Talbot work hard to win on and off the park it's not easy and we could easily go the rest of the season not winning anymore trophies, the end of the season is the most difficult, I seen how hard the players worked to win that league last season & it will be very difficult to maintain that.

Talbot had a great year finacially, no doubting that. The money hasn't been splashed out on new star players though, Brian Boylan apart, the pitch suffered terribly last season and the bottom end of the park had to have new drainage and the pitch relaid. That certainly wasn't cheap. Work has started on floodlights at Beechwood, and although the Building Committee are fundraising the main committee stumped up the original funding for all the preliminary works. The social club is going to get overhauled and extended so that we can get more sponsorship into games as the vast majority of them sell out very quickly now. Talbot are getting all the infrastructure right, for whether we actually do make a move across into the seniors ranks.

What really does worry me though, is the SFA directive that any of the clubs who moved across into the EOSL will have their licences revoked if they don't have floodlights up and running for next season. Not the welcoming environment some thought it was going to be, eh? If that is still the case in the close season, how many West clubs could even consider trying to move across, bar those clubs who play on local authority owned grounds complete with plastic pitch and floodlights. A handful I'd wager, and therein lies the problem, because the seniors have now woken up to the fact that there's a lot of clubs in the EOSL who were previously Junior, and if joined by a similar amount from the West they'll see their precious voting rights eroded? They are not going to be turkeys voting for Xmas.

We'll continue to get it right off the pitch, and constantly reupgrade Beechwood for whichever league we play in, in the future. I hope we are still successful, but as some of the Bankies fans say "it begins to grate" when constantly being reminded about being homeless etc becoming boring, don't you think it's exactly the same with us and other club's fans who constantly try to belittle our success? Personally I couldn't give a fig about it, and as I've mentioned before, have met many excellent Bankies fans, but we don't get this kind of "discussion" with any other club in the West. Why's that?

Talbot had a great year finacially, no doubting that. The money hasn't been splashed out on new star players though, Brian Boylan apart, the pitch suffered terribly last season and the bottom end of the park had to have new drainage and the pitch relaid. That certainly wasn't cheap. Work has started on floodlights at Beechwood, and although the Building Committee are fundraising the main committee stumped up the original funding for all the preliminary works. The social club is going to get overhauled and extended so that we can get more sponsorship into games as the vast majority of them sell out very quickly now. Talbot are getting all the infrastructure right, for whether we actually do make a move across into the seniors ranks.
What really does worry me though, is the SFA directive that any of the clubs who moved across into the EOSL will have their licences revoked if they don't have floodlights up and running for next season. Not the welcoming environment some thought it was going to be, eh? If that is still the case in the close season, how many West clubs could even consider trying to move across, bar those clubs who play on local authority owned grounds complete with plastic pitch and floodlights. A handful I'd wager, and therein lies the problem, because the seniors have now woken up to the fact that there's a lot of clubs in the EOSL who were previously Junior, and if joined by a similar amount from the West they'll see their precious voting rights eroded? They are not going to be turkeys voting for Xmas.
We'll continue to get it right off the pitch, and constantly reupgrade Beechwood for whichever league we play in, in the future. I hope we are still successful, but as some of the Bankies fans say "it begins to grate" when constantly being reminded about being homeless etc becoming boring, don't you think it's exactly the same with us and other club's fans who constantly try to belittle our success? Personally I couldn't give a fig about it, and as I've mentioned before, have met many excellent Bankies fans, but we don't get this kind of "discussion" with any other club in the West. Why's that?

It's like we are getting criticised for winning trophies lol

Well I am not and the majority are not, but it always seems to be the same on here, folk try and pick things out about us whether it be fans, segregation, facilities etc but they can't aknowlege the main thing which is results on the park.

Great team great results great achievements in big Scottish & Junior Cup the league but it’s there fans that’s very obnoxious not the team not the management not the committee but the fans and I don’t just think that’s my opinion it’s the opinion of most other teams fans on pie&bovril

1 hour ago, Blobby said:

Great team great results great achievements in big Scottish & Junior Cup the league but it’s there fans that’s very obnoxious not the team not the management not the committee but the fans and I don’t just think that’s my opinion it’s the opinion of most other teams fans on pie&bovril

Darvel thread not busy just now?

Thanks for the compliments

On 13/11/2019 at 11:59, TFW said:

I hope you're not deliberate posting false information. Only one club which moved over to the EOS had a licence - Linlithgow, and there's nothing wrong with their lights - so not sure how the SFA will be revoking licences of ex-Junior clubs.

The actual SFA directive seems to be that member clubs without floodlights - currently 7 of them - have until June 2020 to get them installed. Most of these clubs are in the process of getting them, a few already have planning permission.

I don't think Bonnyrigg Rose play at a council ground yet they've managed to install floodlights recently. West clubs don't require floodlights to move to the pyramid, only if they want to get a licence and/or progress up to the Lowland League.

Think you need to read the post again Ginaro? My post was aimed at those clubs who do not have lights, not those who do. 

What happens to the clubs who can't get them installed? Where will they be playing, if at all, in 2020-21?

The talk has definitely gone quiet about any proposed move into the senior set up for the West clubs. Want to hesitate a guess as to why?