Queens versus Queens............................

Bluenortherner

On 21/11/2019 at 21:56, QPSpider1867 said:

The Kung Fu was good on Saturday but it’s back to fitba’ this weekend.

Decent wee away trip for the black and white army. We competed very well in the League Cup with a notable win over Hamilton. Hopefully another competitive tie with a goal or 2 for the spiders.

QP 2-1 win. emoji835.pngemoji836.png

Can you give me the lottery numbers for tonight please.

8 minutes ago, badgerthewitness said:

Shocked at this result. What happened to that guy who scores all those goals?

Still playing in a division above you. 

We'll done Queens Park,  thoroughly deserved win. Best of luck in the next round.   Great consolation goal from Connor Murray but too little too late.  

Edited by Fae_the_'briggs

Well despite my half time semi-optimism we somehow managed to be even worse second half, with the visitors coasting through without breaking a sweat. For them it was a very professional and well executed performance from what looked like a young side. For us it was a complete embarrassment. No heart, no nous and no threat. Queens Park looked like the dominant full time team and we looked like the plucky outsiders caught in the headlights.

I honestly wouldn’t be against sacking AJ after that debacle. To go with that starting XI and then only make one change despite what was unfolding in front of him was tantamount to sabotage.

Very reminiscent of a midweek cup defeat to, I think, Albion Rovers where Colin McMenamin scored a worldy similar to Murray’s today that was equally of no consolation.

I hope Queens Park get a good draw in the next round, you thoroughly deserve one.

Simply not good enough.

First half was an odd one. At times we played some nice stuff. McCarthy should have scored, Oliver was twice in with just the keeper to beat and hit straight at him both times, Dobbie sidefooted wide of an open goal. The finishing was poor......... but not as bad as the defending. Queen's Park didn't offer a massive amount going forward, they were I think in our penalty area three times, but they scored twice and only a wonderful save from McCrorie tipping the ball onto the post prevented them scoring with all three. Clinical stuff from Salim, shocking stuff at the back from us with Kilday clearly a big miss. With a two goal lead to protect the Spiders team were excellent. The attackers never gave our back line a moment's peace, closing everything down. The defence and midfield sat fairly deep and didn't give us any openings. We played 45 mins of the second half without getting so far as I can remember a shot on target at any point. Until Connor Murray struck a possible goal of the season with virtually the last kick anyway. Too late to matter.

Well done Queen's Park. Thoroughly professional performance. Grabbed a couple of good goals and had no trouble at all holding on to the lead. Good luck in the next round.

Edited by Skyline Drifter

7 minutes ago, palmy_cammy said:

Well despite my half time semi-optimism we somehow managed to be even worse second half, with the visitors coasting through without breaking a sweat. For them it was a very professional and well executed performance from what looked like a young side. For us it was a complete embarrassment. No heart, no nous and no threat. Queens Park looked like the dominant full time team and we looked like the plucky outsiders caught in the headlights.

I honestly wouldn’t be against sacking AJ after that debacle. To go with that starting XI and then only make one change despite what was unfolding in front of him was tantamount to sabotage.

Very reminiscent of a midweek cup defeat to, I think, Albion Rovers where Colin McMenamin scored a worldy similar to Murray’s today that was equally of no consolation.

I hope Queens Park get a good draw in the next round, you thoroughly deserve one.

Can't argue with any of that .Utterly pathetic,  embarrassing display .

8 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Simply not good enough.

First half was an odd one. At times we played some nice stuff. McCarthy should have scored, Oliver was twice in with just the keeper to beat and hit straight at him both times, Dobbie sidefooted wide of an open goal. The finishing was poor......... but not as bad as the defending. Queen's Park didn't offer a massive amount going forward, they were I think in our penalty area three times, but they scored twice and only a wonderful save from McCrorie tipping the ball onto the post prevented them scoring with all three. Clinical stuff from Salim, shocking stuff at the back from us with Kilday clearly a big miss. With a two goal lead to protect the Spiders team were excellent. The attackers never gave our back line a moment's peace, closing everything down. The defence and midfield sat fairly deep and didn't give us any openings. We played 45 mins of the second half without getting so far as I can remember a shot on target at any point. Until Connor Murray struck a possible goal of the season with virtually the last kick anyway. Too late to matter.

Well done Queen's Park. Thoroughly professional performance. Grabbed a couple of good goals and had no trouble at all holding on to the lead. Good luck in the next round.

Yes, this.

At half time I still felt we'd a chance because we had at least created some chances. 

In the second though, we huffed and puffed a lot, but there was no invention at all, and QP were never in trouble.  They competed really well throughout.  I was kind of hoping they'd tire as the game wore on, but there was no real sign of that.  

Our goal came too late to make the end interesting.  Dismal from us - we were well beaten.