Tales of P&B Past

Torpar

Can't be bothered checking if it's been mentioned by the young East Fife fans trying to recruit new members to their 'crew'.  The topic included pictures of a group of about 6 neds with bottles of cider if I remember right.
I don't think anybody from here joined.
I seem to recall that they were asking folk what Adidas trainers they wore to games to determine if they were of sufficient quality to get involved.

Taking the cash is definitely a bit morally dodgy but it was more the utter denial of that fact that probably turned folk on him. If he'd come on and said "Aye, it's a bit cheeky but I've had a shit time so don't really care what you think", it would have gone a lot better for him.

Yeah, the way he went about it and the fact that he was a vastly unpopular poster on here really didn’t help his case but it isn’t really surprising to find out that he had contents insurance on his property that covered him for fire damage. Also there were numerous posters who implied that he did the entire thing on purpose just to get his holiday which was a total disgrace.

5 minutes ago, throbber said:

. Also there were numerous posters who implied that he did the entire thing on purpose just to get his holiday which was a total disgrace.

I agree it's a scandalous thing to do. That's why our premiums are so high, because of insurance fraudsters like him.

1 hour ago, RiG said:
3 hours ago, The Minertaur said:
Can't be bothered checking if it's been mentioned by the young East Fife fans trying to recruit new members to their 'crew'.  The topic included pictures of a group of about 6 neds with bottles of cider if I remember right.
I don't think anybody from here joined.

I seem to recall that they were asking folk what Adidas trainers they wore to games to determine if they were of sufficient quality to get involved.

This sounds exactly like something you would do tbh.

3 hours ago, Gaz said:

For any new posters unaware of the Grim references:

A few years ago a fairly prominent Spartans fan, who posted on here as Grim O'Grady, had a house fire.

There was a subsequent appeal to raise funds for said poster, and to all intents and purposes people were led to believe that he'd lost everything in the fire (including pets, which makes me genuinely sad).

And so, funds were raised.

What then transpired was that Grim's insurance paid for the entire repairs, and he used the proceeds from the funds to do up another house that he owned and rented out, with the excess being used to pay for a holiday in Russia.

He also attempted to organise a Leith Walk pub crawl in which no-one turned up to apart from one of his mates and was maybe the most tragic thing I've ever read.

1 hour ago, Marshmallo said:

Having a pop at O'Grady for the pets dying is out of order.

Him spending money raised to re-wire his second property and to go on a cruise was absolutely wild. I'm almost impressed at the brass neck.

He was an absolutely horrific poster. Genuinely up there with the Nesbits of this world.

I completely missed the house fire/holiday thing I think.
What a horrible c**t. Why did he get banned

Not P&B related but on the theme of people with unbelievable brass neck's, I mind at college a few years back everyone in the class put in a fiver as a gift for one of the guy's in the group, who had just become a dad in February. The middle age woman doing the collecting claimed to have lost all the money, so he never got a gift from the class.

Social media being what it is, said middle age woman ended up putting up a photo on Valentine's Day of the nice new trainers she'd bought for her boyfriend. Someone in the class saw this, did a bit of sleuthing and worked out they cost just shy of the total the class had raised to give to the guy.

Potentially a strange coincidence and she had genuinely lost the cash (unlikely), but whatever the case everyone in the class fucking hated the woman from then on. There was another argument along the lines of "even if she's lost the money that's her responsibility, so she should still buy the guy a fucking gift out of her own pocket" that tbh I was well behind but it never happened.

Another guy borrowed £50 from one of the guy's he was getting on ok with in the group, pleading some sort of sob story to get the cash, and in the exact same week the guy tapping the £50 fucked off and dropped out of the course (he'll have known fine well he was dropping out but smelled an opportunity for a Sick Boy style scam). He then blocked the guy he'd bumped £50 from all social media.

I literally don't understand the thought process that underpins the sheer opportunism of some folk and the subsequent manipulative, selfish scheme's. Even from a purely pragmatic point of view if you're going through life behaving like that, even if you're trying to pick and choose your target's there's surely only so much you can get away with before it eventually bites you on the arse and you end up i) with a reputation for being an untrustworthy piece of shit, ii) having a criminal record or iii) a situation where a scam backfire's and someone takes it so badly they end up knocking the everloving f**k out of the scammer in retaliation.

Edited by Thistle_do_nicely

3 hours ago, Gaz said:

For any new posters unaware of the Grim references:

A few years ago a fairly prominent Spartans fan, who posted on here as Grim O'Grady, had a house fire.

There was a subsequent appeal to raise funds for said poster, and to all intents and purposes people were led to believe that he'd lost everything in the fire (including pets, which makes me genuinely sad).

And so, funds were raised.

What then transpired was that Grim's insurance paid for the entire repairs, and he used the proceeds from the funds to do up another house that he owned and rented out, with the excess being used to pay for a holiday in Russia.

He also attempted to organise a Leith Walk pub crawl in which no-one turned up to apart from one of his mates and was maybe the most tragic thing I've ever read.

The most tragic thing I read was the endless parade of wrong 'uns who tried to white knight for the massive fraud and argued that he was entitled to take the money and go on holiday just because he had such a hard time lately, boo hoo waaah etc. Much like the recently banned weirdo from the Misc Other Fitba forum, nothing collectively rattles the cages of the #zeropointers and University of Life graduates quite like one of their own being subject to rightful opprobrium. 

4 minutes ago, Busta Nut said:

I completely missed the house fire/holiday thing I think.
What a horrible c**t. Why did he get banned

Virtually identical to Rab, just being annoying all over the forum and dotting campaigns etc. In fact, their posting styles were nearly identical, could easily be the same person. 

6 minutes ago, Thistle_do_nicely said:

Not P&B related but on the theme of people with unbelievable brass neck's, I mind at college a few years back everyone in the class put in a fiver as a gift for one of the guy's in the group, who had just become a dad in February. The middle age woman doing the collecting claimed to have lost all the money, so he never got a gift from the class.

Social media being what it is, said middle age woman ended up putting up a photo on Valentine's Day of the nice new trainers she'd bought for her boyfriend. Someone in the class saw this, did a bit of sleuthing and worked out they cost just shy of the total the class had raised to give to the guy.

Potentially a strange coincidence and she had genuinely lost the cash (unlikely), but whatever the case everyone in the class fucking hated the woman from then on. There was another argument along the lines of "even if she's lost the money that's her responsibility, so she should still buy the guy a fucking gift out of her own pocket" that tbh I was well behind but it never happened.

Another guy borrowed £50 from one of the guy's he was getting on ok with in the group, pleading some sort of sob story to get the cash, and in the exact same week the guy tapping the £50 fucked off and dropped out of the course (he'll have known fine well he was dropping out but smelled an opportunity for a Sick Boy style scam). He then blocked the guy he'd bumped £50 from all social media.

I literally don't understand the thought process that underpins the sheer opportunism of some folk and the subsequent manipulative, selfish scheme's. Even from a purely pragmatic point of view if you're going through life behaving like that, even if you're trying to pick and choose your target's there's surely only so much you can get away with before it eventually bites you on the arse and you end up i) with a reputation for being an untrustworthy piece of shit, ii) having a criminal record or iii) a situation where a scam backfire's and someone takes it so badly they end up knocking the everloving f**k out of the scammer in retaliation.

Aye you have to wonder how scumbags who continually scam folk live with it.

Also, fucking hell, learn the correct use of apostrophes! 

28 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Aye you have to wonder how scumbags who continually scam folk live with it.

Also, fucking hell, learn the correct use of apostrophes! 

People who do stuff like this just wing it and often get very far in life doing so.  The internet has made it easier, I'm sure there's been a thread on here about the social media grifters with their constant crowd funding and begging bowl patheticness.

9 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

People who do stuff like this just wing it and often get very far in life doing so.  The internet has made it easier, I'm sure there's been a thread on here about the social media grifters with their constant crowd funding and begging bowl patheticness.

These people also have no conscience or shame. 

Pretty sure there was a poster on here in the last couple of days bragging that they had no shame at all as if that's a great quality to have.