Auchinleck Talbot v Arbroath

Think we showed what we were about tonight, got it spot on with the system, no real need for four defenders when they’d play with one up front, get numbers in middle of the park and also keep two up front and pushed Bobby and Omar high up. 

We got down to work early and completely dominated the match from start to finish. 

Think we showed what we were about tonight, got it spot on with the system, no real need for four defenders when they’d play with one up front, get numbers in middle of the park and also keep two up front and pushed Bobby and Omar high up. 

We got down to work early and completely dominated the match from start to finish. 

Was very skeptical when I seen Ricky Little overlapping down the right wing in the first 5 minutes but DC spot on there

Showboating about at centre half

Easy 3-0 win

Darren Jamieson goals conceded against talbot = 0
Gaston goals conceded v Talbot = 1 , Jamieson should be number 1 keeper plus he wears long sleeved tops.

To that Auchinleck fan at halftime that had teeth like a st Mirren scarf , hope you have a shit bus journey back to Auchinleck to the comedy club

Walk in the park tonight. Got to laugh at these junior fannies claiming Talbot could play at a higher level, they are fucking mince. 

Fair play to the sheer amount of Talbot fans that made the journey tonight however, shame their team couldn't put in the same level of performance.

We should be looking to give Falkirk a good game, especially at Gayf.

Walk in the park tonight. Got to laugh at these junior fannies claiming Talbot could play at a higher level, they are fucking mince. 
Fair play to the sheer amount of Talbot fans that made the journey tonight however, shame their team couldn't put in the same level of performance.

Give them a good game? We should be beating they league 1 diddies

Gutted[emoji26]

I would feel a wee bit of sympathy for you but after being told that we didn't look like we had any decent players in comparison to a League 2 team, that 4 or 5 of your boys would get into our team and Colin Hamilton getting slaughtered it's hard to

Defending a 1-0 lead with 10 men behind the ball on a 7 aside Park was always a totally different game to what was going to happen tonight

If anything I think Talbot underestimated us after Saturday...

It was an absolute schooling from start to finish

I would feel a wee bit of sympathy for you but after being told that we didn't look like we had any decent players in comparison to a League 2 team, that 4 or 5 of your boys would get into our team and Colin Hamilton getting slaughtered it's hard to

Defending a 1-0 lead with 10 men behind the ball on a 7 aside Park was always a totally different game to what was going to happen tonight

If anything I think Talbot underestimated us after Saturday...

It was an absolute schooling from start to finish
I think u underestimated talbot on saturday and it was a soft penalty but never mind u won tonight on ur home ground just be grateful ur team took ur chances and won cause Saturday could have been a different story but good luck in the next round

The difference between the two teams really showed tonight - last 30 mins was nothing short of a training session for Arbroath, but was surprised how deep  Auchinleck were sitting when they were 3-0 down.

In fairness,  Auchinleck put all of their efforts into Saturday's match and their player's looked off pace tonight ( but this was an outstanding performance from Arbroath ).

Full credit to the  Auchinleck fans for travelling such a long distance - great away support.

Next cup match against Falkirk - it won't be easy, but think Arbroath have a great chance.

The romance of the cup is now over this season for  Auchinleck - but fair play to them for taking the match to a replay.

1 hour ago, ellichtie said:

If we play like we’ve played for 99.7% of this season you’ll win at least 2 zip.

12 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

If we beat Dundee or United next month it'll be soured by posts saying 'imagine whit the Talbot could've done to them #EPPPP'

Tbf anyone can beat Dundee 😉

On this debate of size of club, Arbroath are currently a larger club than Cove no question - having seen both this season. Although its clear that Cove have intentions and realistic ambition to be larger than Arbroath in the next 5-10 years. It looks like they may will be, size of home support is similar, Cove have larger catchment and oil money helping them.

Tbf anyone can beat Dundee [emoji6]

On this debate of size of club, Arbroath are currently a larger club than Cove no question - having seen both this season. Although its clear that Cove have intentions and realistic ambition to be larger than Arbroath in the next 5-10 years. It looks like they may will be, size of home support is similar, Cove have larger catchment and oil money helping them.

This is Coves first season in the league, if they keep up steady home attendances of 750-800 for a sustainable period of time then you can have the discussion. Edinburgh city's crowds in their first season were much bigger than their crowds now too

At the same time the only way I see our attendances going is up too. We cannot be too far off 1000 actual home fans most games so far, there'll be more for the Dundee teams and less in others like Alloa obviously but that's still good for part time

Not sure there was a debate on that either though to be fair, Cove were only brought up because an Auchinleck fan said we didn't look like we had any decent players in comparison to them

Spider-Man-Pointing-Meme.jpg%26f=1%26nofb=1&key=d4ca0cb4ca26cbc702598ca40696af7a6a57b6e2c0dd20cad52aa93de52e1680

Auchinleck literally a village to be fair, Arbroath is a decent sized town

Arbroath were always going to dominate possession and won comfortably in the end but Talbot carved out a few decent chances and if they were a bit more clinical arbroath would have been sweating. As it was though they didn't capitalise, but in reality they missed the real opportunity on Saturday. 

Talbot should be happy with a run that has seen them taking on and beating the hyped Cove and Kelty sides and be content at giving a decent Arbroath a real scare on Saturday.  It would have been nice to enjoy the exposure of being in the fourth round but it's a big ask to repeat it year on year. 

Ps. Does anyone at Gayfield want to train the kiosk staff to boil water properly? Tepid, flavourless brown water with an undisolved Bovril cube isn't really up to the high rolling standards i was expecting. 

Edited by Shanner

32 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

To be fair are you sure that's not just what Bovril tastes like everywhere?

It should be intensely beefy and contain about a weeks worth of recommend salt intake. 

Most importantly of all, it should ALWAYS burn f**k out of your tongue and the roof of your mouth.