Falkirk v Methil

21 hours ago, sirscottyoung said:

Just watched the Falkirk highlights. Not sure if we are just completely spoiled at East Fife. But the Billy big time bairns highlights are absolutely horrific. Felt seasick as the camera zoomed in and out at random times. Corners being taken out of view cause its so zoomed in and you just wait for the ball to appear. Barely keeping up with play and not catching the action on the screen.
I know it's probably volunteers and feel bad saying it but for a full time team that's utter guff. Send them on a wee course or give them a screen so they see what they are catching as our guys (numerous different camera men over the past 6/7 years) have managed to do so very well.

I think our tv is millions times better than two fans shouting what they believed to them it’s a penalty, they seem so much loved for David McMillan how awesome he was like he was some sort of Cristiano Ronaldo. Least our commentary of three that’s does it is a fair reflection of the match and the camera angles and views I can rate FTV a 3 out of 10 with its so far away views and it’s like watching the game in row Z than have the view to the game. Least I guess it’s course of criticism and opinions much feedback once they take a look at our highlight package and the compare the difference but your right Scott I felt my head was spinning trying to find the ball that zoomed out any more zoomed out it become wee dots and a football like on football manager screens lol least we can also view replays of shots and the goalie making a diving save etc which is really good, key to details really.

30 minutes ago, Cambuslang Fifer said:

I think our tv is millions times better than two fans shouting what they believed to them it’s a penalty, they seem so much loved for David McMillan how awesome he was like he was some sort of Cristiano Ronaldo. Least our commentary of three that’s does it is a fair reflection of the match and the camera angles and views I can rate FTV a 3 out of 10 with its so far away views and it’s like watching the game in row Z than have the view to the game. Least I guess it’s course of criticism and opinions much feedback once they take a look at our highlight package and the compare the difference but your right Scott I felt my head was spinning trying to find the ball that zoomed out any more zoomed out it become wee dots and a football like on football manager screens lol least we can also view replays of shots and the goalie making a diving save etc which is really good, key to details really.

Go easy CF. You're a top East Fifer but it's not an easy job being part of a media team (and to be frank, the wages are rank rotten). Fire me a wee DM as I admire your enthusiasm...

1 hour ago, Cambuslang Fifer said:

I rate your spelling and grammar 1 out of 10.

8 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said:

He will then claim that 16 points from a possible 36 is a superb foundation to build on for the next quarter.

Correcting to 16 from 27, which is Ray’s perfect 4 home wins and 4 road draws, that’s also 64 of 108. Since 70 seems the minimum to have a real shot at winning, and 55 pretty much assures the playoffs, that seems about Ray’s speed. Good luck.

6 hours ago, TxRover said:

Correcting to 16 from 27, which is Ray’s perfect 4 home wins and 4 road draws, that’s also 64 of 108. Since 70 seems the minimum to have a real shot at winning, and 55 pretty much assures the playoffs, that seems about Ray’s speed. Good luck.

Falkirk are getting a little bit of the medicine Raith had to swallow when they came down. You boys are the scalp, and a point is a decent enough result for most teams in the league, so they sit deep and counter. The fact the Falkirk fans expect three points most games (rightly so given the squad) means that should Mckinnon open up and chase the winner, then he plays right into the hands of the counter attack. I always think if you boys dont get the first goal in a game, you are in trouble. There are enough decent strikers in the league that can punish you from set pieces and counters.  

1 minute ago, FullTimePint said:

Falkirk are getting a little bit of the medicine Raith had to swallow when they came down. You boys are the scalp, and a point is a decent enough result for most teams in the league, so they sit deep and counter. The fact the Falkirk fans expect three points most games (rightly so given the squad) means that should Mckinnon open up and chase the winner, then he plays right into the hands of the counter attack. I always think if you boys dont get the first goal in a game, you are in trouble. There are enough decent strikers in the league that can punish you from set pieces and counters.  

In fairness to McKinnon he has been trying to attack teams, on saturday we had the full backs going forward, at least one CM, wide players plus the strikers. His problem is that he just doesn't know how to get the team to attack effectively, and if a number of forward players are having off days eg Saturday, he's not got a clue how to change things up.

5 minutes ago, champions said:

In fairness to McKinnon he has been trying to attack teams, on saturday we had the full backs going forward, at least one CM, wide players plus the strikers. His problem is that he just doesn't know how to get the team to attack effectively, and if a number of forward players are having off days eg Saturday, he's not got a clue how to change things up.

Quite surprised at that, in the second half of the season he was with us in particular we won a good few tight games after tactical changes and subs he made. I did suspect it was more good luck than judgement at times but he seemed to have the midas touch.

1 hour ago, champions said:

He doesnt have many options to change things up though thats more the issue for me.  On the bench on Saturday his only real attacking options were Sammon and Johnstone.  Sammon is a decent shout of course but Johnstone is pish and anyway you need far better options than simply changing the front two with another front two.  I dont see McShane and Tidser as being impact subs at all.  In fact why would you have both of them on the bench if you had better options.To me its decent options on the bench to replace Connolly and Longridge when they are having an off day/tired/injured that we really need. Mckinnon has made a pure cant of it though by signing the pish Moore on top of the already pish McLean.  They are the type of player we need on the bench just that unfortunately they are murder. They are money pished down the drain though when we badly need creative players.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

10 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

He doesnt have many options to change things up though thats more the issue for me.  On the bench on Saturday his only real attacking options were Sammon and Johnstone.  Sammon is a decent shout of course but Johnstone is pish and anyway you need far better options than simply changing the front two with another front two.  I dont see McShane and Tidser as being impact subs at all.  In fact why would you have both of them on the bench if you had better options.To me its decent options on the bench to replace Connolly and Longridge when they are having an off day/tired/injured that we really need. Mckinnon has made a pure cant of it though by signing the pish Moore on top of the already pish McLean.  They are the type of player we need on the bench just that unfortunately they are murder. They are money pished down the drain though when we badly need creative players.

Yeah i would have had either McLean or moore on the bench instead of johnstone or miller. I appreciate neither are very good but we had zero options for replacing longridge or Connolly, who were both pretty poor.

He must have thought going into the season that his narrow formation was going to be his go to setup, which meant he was scrambling about for wide options once he realised it wasnt working.

On 30/09/2019 at 10:10, FullTimePint said:

Last season I felt with the speed of raith going forward guys like nisbet, vaughan, flannigan and armstrong meant if raith scored first, they would rip the opposition to pieces. Defensively though they were a shambles if you went at them. In anderson, you have a guy who turned patricks season around last year, added stability & adds the odd goal. There also seems to be an acceptance of where raith are now. It's taken a while to change that attitude. Falkirk have a lot to learn about this level. Quality will go so far, but you need the right mentality.