Scottish Cup

Amateur Footie Fan

As the boy above has said, we can all see your fishing for bites but it’s looking increasingly like you have a gripe with the lauriston manager?

Did he not rate you as a player and turn you down for his team?

just seems like your wasting a lot of time on here hiding behind a username rather than just say your piece?

Id guess if you do get outed, you’ll no doubt class it as just a wind up 

As the boy above has said, we can all see your fishing for bites but it’s looking increasingly like you have a gripe with the lauriston manager?
just seems like your wasting a lot of time on here hiding behind a username rather than just say your piece?

Couldnt get a game with Lauriston so dropped to the diddy league i guess

56 minutes ago, Amateur Footie Fan said:

"Without prejudice, if the SAFA and relevant Committee wish to pursue the matter on the back of the referee's report, then it is without an appeal from Harestanes".

If that turns out to be the case then it stinks. Could be suggested they were made aware its in the report. Time will tell I suppose

If the SAFA are to investigate then I would imagine Friday draw will still have Harestanes included , I would tend to agree with above the statement has left it wide open for SAFA to act and the part of statement where there have been threats is this a ploy for replay game moved to neutral venue .

I don't think we have heard end of this yet...........

13 minutes ago, Im better than you said:

A was under the impression he’s jordyn sheerin naw? Common knowledge am lead to believe

If the SAFA are to investigate then I would imagine Friday draw will still have Harestanes included , I would tend to agree with above the statement has left it wide open for SAFA to act and the part of statement where there have been threats is this a ploy for replay game moved to neutral venue .
I don't think we have heard end of this yet...........

Only thing is do the SAFA really want Harestanes to travel through there with the current mood of everyone. Not saying anything would happen but lets be honest if theyve withdrawn their protest the commin sense decision is to leave well alone. Recipe for disaster written sll over it.

6 minutes ago, Amateur Footie Fan said:

Only thing is do the SAFA really want Harestanes to travel through there with the current mood of everyone. Not saying anything would happen but lets be honest if theyve withdrawn their protest the commin sense decision is to leave well alone. Recipe for disaster written sll over it.

Another one hinting at violence. Are people from Edinburgh the only ones who can handle themselves? Turn it up ffs

1 hour ago, Amateur Footie Fan said:

But saying if the referee has mentioned it in his report and the SAFA want to progress it then theyre happy with that. Wonder if they have been tipped the wink that its in the refs report......

A very crafty move from Harestanes. They have done enough to set the ball rolling then took a step back to make it look they are the good guys knowing full well some of their chums at the SAFA will finish the job off for them once the Referee confirms there were no flags.

Can't really blame the SAFA, they have been put in a position to act as there has been a breach of competition rules. Sore one for Laurieston which they might need to take on the chin while Harestanes don't come out of it with much credit.

if he never knew then harestanes would have told the ref the rule  and it would have been followed it is them that has to start it by saying we want to protest so get laurie captain in and put it on the teamsheet it is up to them to make sure they do this properly and they havnt by the sound of things 
The ref would have the teamsheets as they would be given to him before the match. If he is unaware of the rule he isn't going to allow teams to dictate what is written on the teamlines once in his possession! He would just let the safa be aware of what was said and let them deal with it.

As I suspected and stated in an earlier post, Harestanes will be well guided by the Central Scottish Committee on how to get the match replayed. Mr Dingwall will have told them to appeal, then withdraw the appeal and by then the SAFA will have all the info / ammunition to have the game replayed due to a breach of Scottish Cup rules.
Mr Dingwall / Harestanes / Central Scottish League doing their best to force another team through to the last 16 at ANY cost. League and Club should be ashamed of themselves

31 minutes ago, october said:

As I suspected and stated in an earlier post, Harestanes will be well guided by the Central Scottish Committee on how to get the match replayed. Mr Dingwall will have told them to appeal, then withdraw the appeal and by then the SAFA will have all the info / ammunition to have the game replayed due to a breach of Scottish Cup rules.
Mr Dingwall / Harestanes / Central Scottish League doing their best to force another team through to the last 16 at ANY cost. League and Club should be ashamed of themselves

Haha. Listen to yourself,  nonsense!! 

Pretty sure that will be the end of it, appeal withdrawn.

Yeah there may have been a breach of rules, but what about all the other ties that have been played without flags? Can of worms springs to mind.

SAFA will remind all officials to follow whatever guidelines are in place to prevent this from happening again and Lauriston will go into the draw on Friday and best of luck to them.

As u were gentlemen.

Embarrassing

This whole thing has been crazy. I think there's 2 narratives to consider...

1/ the rules/laws situation

2/ the 'should they or shouldn't they' have appealed?

-
1/ It seems that a rule was broken through no fault of Harestanes. We don't know if / when they told the ref (there seems to be conflicting information on this). So, IF they didn't tell the ref till after the game - it's underhand. IF they did tell the ref early on and again at half time - then I think they have every right to feel unhappy about the conditions in which the game was played (considering that according to Harestanes they raised it multiple times). However, I also think that if they were so upset then they should have not continued the game until flags were out (which I am sure they would now do if in this situation again). I think it's also important to recognise that according to Harestanes it was 0-0 when they informed the referee - and that they did not start to protest when 1-0 down. Had the home team / referee sorted the flags out when it was raised this whole thing would never have happened. Had the home team / referee ensured there was flags there in the first place, then again, this wouldn't have happened.

-

2/ The 'moral' or 'integrity' decision to follow through with an appeal or not. That's what everyone, man, woman and dog has jumped on. It's buried the facts of what happened in the game. And I've purposely not got involved in the 'morals' of their decision. People were jumping on a bandwagon, and turning it into an east v west thing, a wee team v big team thing... people were using it as a chance to get a kick in to a team who have sat near the top of the amateur game for a good while. So, if public comment is to be believed then it seems everyone has a well calibrated moral compass and nobody else would have done the same thing as Harestanes. Yet, a lot of these same people will try and gain every small advantage during every game they play - from things like claiming for decisions that they themselves know are not theirs. I ran a poll, that the results showed 1 in 4 would have appealed in the same way Harestanes did. Yet, if you were to go with public opinion on the comments - you would think it would be more like 1 in 1000 that would do the same.

-

I understand how this mistake in relation to corner flags can be made. Perhaps in the LEAFA flags are not mandatory - but in the CSAFL they are. Perhaps in the league the refs part of flags are not mandatory too. In my opinion, the moment no corner flags were raised with the referee (assuming it was during the game) - it should have been sorted out there and then, and maybe the ref thought it was sorted once he'd spoken to both teams believing that the flags were not mandatory. I have read that he is an excellent and experienced referee, and I've no doubt that if he was aware flags were mandatory that he would have got them. For what it's worth - as I said on twitter yesterday, if I was the ref I must admit I would have made the same error. Although my league requires them, I thought the Scottish Cup games were played to IFAB laws - and could have been played without flags if both teams are happy to do so. I've since learned that in SAFA Competitions that flags are mandatory.

-

Preventing things like this in future? How about consistent laws across leagues that are part of the SAFA. Specifically laws/rules relating to the playing of a game and necessary equipment... rather than have some leagues having corner flags mandatory and some not. I think local rules are great when used to tackle specific challenges that a league is facing - maybe the use of trialists for example. I think a consistent set of rules relating to the conditions in which a game must be played across the SAFA and all member leagues would help all involved and prevent something like this happening again. Maybe on the team lines of leagues and the SAFA competitions - having any local rules that could differ from league to league or league to cup on them would help notify the teams and referee of anything different than they might be used to. 

-

And finally, I can't wait for the remainder of the Scottish Cup this year. It's as open as it's ever been. Some smashing teams in it, some new teams in it at this stage and no doubt more than a few will be thinking that they realistically can win it. Fintry for me are dark horses in it.. knocking Thorn out who are the Caley premier champs. Fintry who were formally Douglas Ams that beat Colville only 2 or 3 seasons ago... have shown again that they can compete and beat the tops sides. Can't wait for the draw and best of luck to everyone in it. 

8 minutes ago, Gunner said:

-
1/ It seems that a rule was broken through no fault of Harestanes. We don't know if / when they told the ref (there seems to be conflicting information on this). So, IF they didn't tell the ref till after the game - it's underhand. IF they did tell the ref early on and again at half time - then I think they have every right to feel unhappy about the conditions in which the game was played (considering that according to Harestanes they raised it multiple times). However, I also think that if they were so upset then they should have not continued the game until flags were out (which I am sure they would now do if in this situation again). I think it's also important to recognise that according to Harestanes it was 0-0 when they informed the referee - and that they did not start to protest when 1-0 down. Had the home team / referee sorted the flags out when it was raised this whole thing would never have happened. Had the home team / referee ensured there was flags there in the first place, then again, this wouldn't have happened.

-

2/ The 'moral' or 'integrity' decision to follow through with an appeal or not. That's what everyone, man, woman and dog has jumped on. It's buried the facts of what happened in the game. And I've purposely not got involved in the 'morals' of their decision. People were jumping on a bandwagon, and turning it into an east v west thing, a wee team v big team thing... people were using it as a chance to get a kick in to a team who have sat near the top of the amateur game for a good while. So, if public comment is to be believed then it seems everyone has a well calibrated moral compass and nobody else would have done the same thing as Harestanes. Yet, a lot of these same people will try and gain every small advantage during every game they play - from things like claiming for decisions that they themselves know are not theirs. I ran a poll, that the results showed 1 in 4 would have appealed in the same way Harestanes did. Yet, if you were to go with public opinion on the comments - you would think it would be more like 1 in 1000 that would do the same.

-

I understand how this mistake in relation to corner flags can be made. Perhaps in the LEAFA flags are not mandatory - but in the CSAFL they are. Perhaps in the league the refs part of flags are not mandatory too. In my opinion, the moment no corner flags were raised with the referee (assuming it was during the game) - it should have been sorted out there and then, and maybe the ref thought it was sorted once he'd spoken to both teams believing that the flags were not mandatory. I have read that he is an excellent and experienced referee, and I've no doubt that if he was aware flags were mandatory that he would have got them. For what it's worth - as I said on twitter yesterday, if I was the ref I must admit I would have made the same error. Although my league requires them, I thought the Scottish Cup games were played to IFAB laws - and could have been played without flags if both teams are happy to do so. I've since learned that in SAFA Competitions that flags are mandatory.

-

Preventing things like this in future? How about consistent laws across leagues that are part of the SAFA. Specifically laws/rules relating to the playing of a game and necessary equipment... rather than have some leagues having corner flags mandatory and some not. I think local rules are great when used to tackle specific challenges that a league is facing - maybe the use of trialists for example. I think a consistent set of rules relating to the conditions in which a game must be played across the SAFA and all member leagues would help all involved and prevent something like this happening again. Maybe on the team lines of leagues and the SAFA competitions - having any local rules that could differ from league to league or league to cup on them would help notify the teams and referee of anything different than they might be used to. 

-

And finally, I can't wait for the remainder of the Scottish Cup this year. It's as open as it's ever been. Some smashing teams in it, some new teams in it at this stage and no doubt more than a few will be thinking that they realistically can win it. Fintry for me are dark horses in it.. knocking Thorn out who are the Caley premier champs. Fintry who were formally Douglas Ams that beat Colville only 2 or 3 seasons ago... have shown again that they can compete and beat the tops sides. Can't wait for the draw and best of luck to everyone in it. 

i spoke to a ex grade 1 ref about it and he has said this ifab is the laws of the game and overrule any local rule at low level games can be played without corner flags and refs can use common sense in the spirit of the game to get games played i am sure that 99.9 %  of teams would agree before a game to go play it rather than cancel it because there wiz no corner flags that would be a dose of nonsense imagine teams out warmed up and stripped and it being called off cos no flags when it can go ahead that is defos not in the spirit of the game 

In an earlier post when everyone was slating Harestanes I gave them the benefit of the doubt as I didn't know the facts and didn't know if they had raised a concern about the lack of corner flags prior to the game starting. They have now released a statement and that appears not to have been the case.

Everyone is in agreement that Laurieston breached rule 13 by not providing corner flags. It is now evident that Harestanes breached rule 15, which states "protests relative to grounds, goalposts or other appurtenances, and violation of rule, must be intimated to the referee and to the captain of the opposing team at the time the infringement took place." - the infringement took place when the game was about to kick-off without corner flags. If Harestanes felt that rule 13 had been breached and if they thought having no corner flags would impact the game in any way, they should've protested there and then. The fact they didn't, suggests they weren't bothered about corner flags at that time and were happy to play without them. I can understand why some people in this forum are, therefore having a go at them and saying they brought up the issue during the game as an insurance policy as perhaps the game wasn't going to plan. Who knows?

What I will say is, I know there have been some games played in this competition without corner flags  and the losing teams did not appeal.

I can understand people's reaction to Harestanes lodging an appeal for something as trivial as corner flags after losing the game. I don't think they have covered themselves in glory by doing so. Had they brought up the flag issue before the game started I don't think they would've been given so much stick. Personally, at the end of the day, I think corner flags would have had no bearing on how the game panned out or the overall result, regardless of what rules were broken or how many times Harestanes raised the issue during the game.

Harestanes statement seems to be an attempt to save face after the whole debacle, but it could be interpreted in different ways by the people on this forum, for example "We made both referee and the home team aware of this breach but neither deemed it appropriate to rectify the issue. Importantly we alerted both at 0 - 0, therefore not seeking to gain advantage." - it is unclear how far into the game this happened, but the cynical could read this as " game isn't going well, it's not as easy as we thought it was going to be, we are in danger of losing the game, let's play the "get out of jail free" card and mention the corner flags so if the worst comes to the worst and we lose, we can appeal.

"Neither deemed it appropriate to rectify the issue." Let's be honest, the addition of corner flags during the game would've made no difference to the outcome of the game or the result. In fact, from what I'm told, given the conditions on the day, corner flags would've been flat on the ground anyway.

"We are withdrawing our appeal and are moving forward with the rest of our season. Without prejudice, if SAFA and relevant committee wish to pursue the matter on the back of the referees report, then that is without an appeal from Harestanes AFC." - this could be interpreted as "we've appealed and brought it to SAFA's attention, they'll have to investigate and we'll probably get the replay we want, so let's withdraw our appeal and look like the innocent party." A clever ploy, but it looks like Harestanes reputation has already been damaged.

"We are a club who always strive to conduct ourselves in the correct manner on and off the pitch and have maintained this throughout our close to 40 year history." - some would say if this is true, should Harestanes have appealed in the first place or should they have gracefully accepted defeat and moved on? If SAFA decide there should be a replay, could they honestly say they've conducted themselves in the correct manner?

"We are withdrawing our appeal and are moving forward with the rest of our season". - If SAFA decide on a replay will Harestanes forfeit the tie? In the true spirit of the game, I believe that would be the correct thing for them to do, as in my opinion, Laurieston won the game and should progress to the next round.

57 minutes ago, Justaplayer said:

In an earlier post when everyone was slating Harestanes I gave them the benefit of the doubt as I didn't know the facts and didn't know if they had raised a concern about the lack of corner flags prior to the game starting. They have now released a statement and that appears not to have been the case.

Everyone is in agreement that Laurieston breached rule 13 by not providing corner flags. It is now evident that Harestanes breached rule 15, which states "protests relative to grounds, goalposts or other appurtenances, and violation of rule, must be intimated to the referee and to the captain of the opposing team at the time the infringement took place." - the infringement took place when the game was about to kick-off without corner flags. If Harestanes felt that rule 13 had been breached and if they thought having no corner flags would impact the game in any way, they should've protested there and then. The fact they didn't, suggests they weren't bothered about corner flags at that time and were happy to play without them. I can understand why some people in this forum are, therefore having a go at them and saying they brought up the issue during the game as an insurance policy as perhaps the game wasn't going to plan. Who knows?

What I will say is, I know there have been some games played in this competition without corner flags  and the losing teams did not appeal.

I can understand people's reaction to Harestanes lodging an appeal for something as trivial as corner flags after losing the game. I don't think they have covered themselves in glory by doing so. Had they brought up the flag issue before the game started I don't think they would've been given so much stick. Personally, at the end of the day, I think corner flags would have had no bearing on how the game panned out or the overall result, regardless of what rules were broken or how many times Harestanes raised the issue during the game.

Harestanes statement seems to be an attempt to save face after the whole debacle, but it could be interpreted in different ways by the people on this forum, for example "We made both referee and the home team aware of this breach but neither deemed it appropriate to rectify the issue. Importantly we alerted both at 0 - 0, therefore not seeking to gain advantage." - it is unclear how far into the game this happened, but the cynical could read this as " game isn't going well, it's not as easy as we thought it was going to be, we are in danger of losing the game, let's play the "get out of jail free" card and mention the corner flags so if the worst comes to the worst and we lose, we can appeal.

"Neither deemed it appropriate to rectify the issue." Let's be honest, the addition of corner flags during the game would've made no difference to the outcome of the game or the result. In fact, from what I'm told, given the conditions on the day, corner flags would've been flat on the ground anyway.

"We are withdrawing our appeal and are moving forward with the rest of our season. Without prejudice, if SAFA and relevant committee wish to pursue the matter on the back of the referees report, then that is without an appeal from Harestanes AFC." - this could be interpreted as "we've appealed and brought it to SAFA's attention, they'll have to investigate and we'll probably get the replay we want, so let's withdraw our appeal and look like the innocent party." A clever ploy, but it looks like Harestanes reputation has already been damaged.

"We are a club who always strive to conduct ourselves in the correct manner on and off the pitch and have maintained this throughout our close to 40 year history." - some would say if this is true, should Harestanes have appealed in the first place or should they have gracefully accepted defeat and moved on? If SAFA decide there should be a replay, could they honestly say they've conducted themselves in the correct manner?

"We are withdrawing our appeal and are moving forward with the rest of our season". - If SAFA decide on a replay will Harestanes forfeit the tie? In the true spirit of the game, I believe that would be the correct thing for them to do, as in my opinion, Laurieston won the game and should progress to the next round.

I’ve been advised not to comment but I can’t help it when I see things that aren’t true. 

In their statement they have said they made Lauriston aware of a breach of the rule and that we chose not to address it, that is not true at all, not once did they tell us anything. 

It’s the last I’ll comment on it. Tomorrow we should know what’s happening and if the matter is closed. 

Edited by Dinsey

-
-
-
-
-

I saw a post on Twitter by someone with a Harestanes Badge on their profile having a dig at you for, in his words, "unashamedly stirring the pot". I think that is bang out of order. If youre running such a big amateur account you cant just ignore/not retweet posts about one of the biggest controversies of the season because you are a ref in their league. Dougies tweets (without seeming to sook up your arse) as far as I can see were always pretty fair giving both sides the opportunity to sound off. If guys cant realise that you have more than one role in the ammy game and allow you to get on with each without using it to have a dig about the other then they need to grow up. Just bitter about his own club making a total arse of themselves nationally and tryjng to shift some responsibility and blame.