favourite bars restaurants for meals

Ylf

6 hours ago, Jarballs said:

Will lump in for Inverness:

Saffron in Cradlehall near Culloden is absolutely the best curry in the city and the country, hands down. Bring Your Own Booze if you want to sit in too. Cinnamon is second, sadly the Rajah's best days are long behind them.

The Dores Inn right on the banks of Loch Ness is still an amazing setting, however since the original owners sold up for - an alleged but entirely believable - £1m a few years ago the reputation has gone downhill. Not just for the food, some stories of very unsavoury attitudes towards customers have been reported and indeed a good few confirmed.

If you fancy Italian, Little Italy on Stephen's Brae in the city centre is pretty much your only option but a very good one. Cosy, homely, great for lunch and years ago the owner/chef used to come out and sing 'happy birthday' - when the occasion merited it of course, not just randomly. Haven't seen him for ages but would still recommend.

Speaking of venues which never disappoint, Cafè One beside the castle has been a cracking scran for over two decades, you really can't go wrong there.

Have only been to the Mustard Seed once for an afternoon work do this year, overlooks the River Ness and specialises in seafood apparently - didn't try any but had an excellent meal all the same.

Lastly but not leastly, if you want good value, tasty pub grub in a family-friendly environment then my local at the Fluke is the place to go. On the way into town just past the hospital, often has 2-for-1 and kids eat free deals on, a few screens for the football too but not rowdy.

Unfortunately, most of the stuff in the actual city centre is either pretty average or the usual pub chain pish. Been away for a couple of months so happy to be corrected.

I’d  add Sams for Indian, Aspendos and Rocpool to that list. 

3 minutes ago, Rugster said:

Can't remember the name of the steakhouse in Inverness, but since it's the only contribution I can make, it was excellent when I went there. Had a fucking belter of a cote de boeuf. 

As for Falkirk, I sampled Erawan Thai a few weeks ago having only ever had takeaway from it about 5 years ago and it was fucking brilliant.

6 hours ago, Jarballs said:

Will lump in for Inverness:

Saffron in Cradlehall near Culloden is absolutely the best curry in the city and the country, hands down. Bring Your Own Booze if you want to sit in too. Cinnamon is second, sadly the Rajah's best days are long behind them.

The Dores Inn right on the banks of Loch Ness is still an amazing setting, however since the original owners sold up for - an alleged but entirely believable - £1m a few years ago the reputation has gone downhill. Not just for the food, some stories of very unsavoury attitudes towards customers have been reported and indeed a good few confirmed.

If you fancy Italian, Little Italy on Stephen's Brae in the city centre is pretty much your only option but a very good one. Cosy, homely, great for lunch and years ago the owner/chef used to come out and sing 'happy birthday' - when the occasion merited it of course, not just randomly. Haven't seen him for ages but would still recommend.

Speaking of venues which never disappoint, Cafè One beside the castle has been a cracking scran for over two decades, you really can't go wrong there.

Have only been to the Mustard Seed once for an afternoon work do this year, overlooks the River Ness and specialises in seafood apparently - didn't try any but had an excellent meal all the same.

Lastly but not leastly, if you want good value, tasty pub grub in a family-friendly environment then my local at the Fluke is the place to go. On the way into town just past the hospital, often has 2-for-1 and kids eat free deals on, a few screens for the football too but not rowdy.

Unfortunately, most of the stuff in the actual city centre is either pretty average or the usual pub chain pish. Been away for a couple of months so happy to be corrected.

No mentions for Number 27 or the Castle Tavern?

15 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Can't remember the name of the steakhouse in Inverness, but since it's the only contribution I can make, it was excellent when I went there. Had a fucking belter of a cote de boeuf. 

As for Falkirk, I sampled Erawan Thai a few weeks ago having only ever had takeaway from it about 5 years ago and it was fucking brilliant.

Probably McGonagles in Bridge Street which had good nights and bad nights. When Wetherspoons did Aberdeen Angus steaks it was hard to beat for value, but the ambience did lack that certain something.

6 minutes ago, Honest Saints Fan said:

Tiffany's steakhouse in Glasgow is the best steak I've eaten in Scotland. 

I've never been. Have almost picked it to go to a few times but never quite got there. Have only just recently heard of the HW Gril in Bridge of Allan. Would be interested to see if anyone has been to it. HW is Highland Wagyu, the mob that own it. The prices are fucking insane though so it's an occassion one I think and even then would need to hear a review from someone who's opinion I trust. 

19 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

No mentions for Number 27 or the Castle Tavern?

We’ve been through this. Number 27 is utter shite. We know you know the owners or something but it is utterly fucking dreadful. As I’d the Tavern since the change of ownership. 

4 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I've never been. Have almost picked it to go to a few times but never quite got there. Have only just recently heard of the HW Gril in Bridge of Allan. Would be interested to see if anyone has been to it. HW is Highland Wagyu, the mob that own it. The prices are fucking insane though so it's an occassion one I think and even then would need to hear a review from someone who's opinion I trust. 

Oooh looks decent! I need somewhere to go out for lunch next Saturday. In Glasgow or on route from Perth. Shame it's fully booked!

For Stirling and pub grub the Torbrex inn is good, its older sister pub Birds and the bees was decent too when I lived round there. Portions in Torbrex are big but quality is right up there too. Strangely I have never really liked chicken pie but usually get one there with either haggis or chorizo which is almost part of the sauce and delish. Veg is fresh as hell and done quite al dente too which I like.

The Allan park was very good when I went there for the first time a few months ago. Seeing a bird I with massive chebs that I fancied from school working there may have upped my enjoyment though.

Brea is decent enough too.

As for Chineses a lot of them are shit. Tend to go through to Larbert to the the tea house, although the Regent whilst not cheap has been taken over and is good and not as lifeless. Yet to have a bad Indian in Stirling I think and they all have a decent reputation but usually order in an Indian so cant comment too much on the dining experience.

Edited by gannonball

5 minutes ago, Rugster said:

We’ve been through this. Number 27 is utter shite. We know you know the owners or something but it is utterly fucking dreadful. As I’d the Tavern since the change of ownership. 

I've no idea who Number 27's owners are, or were - the food was always good anytime I went in there.

I did know the owner of the Castle Tavern - a drunken alcoholic waste of space. It changed for the better when he sold it.

4 minutes ago, Honest Saints Fan said:

Oooh looks decent! I need somewhere to go out for lunch next Saturday. In Glasgow or on route from Perth. Shame it's fully booked!

They have a butchershop too closeby. I was contemplating maybe going there and buying some quaility steaks for the house. Pressure would be on not to f**k them up though. 

20 hours ago, Jumbo Muir said:

The Ettrick in Old Kilpatrick 

I was in there a few weeks back for the first time in years, it's a really nice wee boozer.

Dumbarton is fairly shite for pubs and restaurants IMO, I only ever really "eat out" at the Abottsford Hotel or the Glencairn, but neither are particularly fancy. There's a wee place in the High Street called the Grill on the Bridge which has excellent food, but it's opening hours are limited and it's a BYOB effort.

Shitey weatherspooons type pubs everywhere in the high street which I avoid whenever I can. I prefer the "old man boozer" so the Stags Head or the Waverly (run by Scottish football Icon Drew Busby) are the best I'd say.

I was in there a few weeks back for the first time in years, it's a really nice wee boozer.
Dumbarton is fairly shite for pubs and restaurants IMO, I only ever really "eat out" at the Abottsford Hotel or the Glencairn, but neither are particularly fancy. There's a wee place in the High Street called the Grill on the Bridge which has excellent food, but it's opening hours are limited and it's a BYOB effort.
Shitey weatherspooons type pubs everywhere in the high street which I avoid whenever I can. I prefer the "old man boozer" so the Stags Head or the Waverly (run by Scottish football Icon Drew Busby) are the best I'd say.

Aye, my first drink in the Ettrick was over 40 years ago.
Lots of people like their curry in there but it’s not for me.

I like The Abbotsford. You get a lovely steak in there cooked exactly as you order it.

Stags is always good for a few.

Good point on Aspendos, only been there once for lunch but was very good, nice to have something different done well. My old dears used to swear by Sam's, a couple of times the delivery they got was absolutely dripping with grease though which put me off, although that was years ago though in fairness.

I forgot about Rocpool to be honest, possibly been a decade since I ate there but have heard consistently good reviews and know a really sound lad who works there so I'm with you in that recommendation. Peasants like me have no place in the more high-end sister establishment Rocpool Reserve up the hill so can't comment on there, a pal treated his missus to it though and said it was good - flash b*****d. Should be at the price, so I'm told. Relatively certain he thought she wanted to go to the normal Rocpool then couldn't back-track out of pride so took the hit to the wallet. Sair yin I expect!

1 minute ago, Jarballs said:

Good point on Aspendos, only been there once for lunch but was very good, nice to have something different done well. My old dears used to swear by Sam's, a couple of times the delivery they got was absolutely dripping with grease though which put me off, although that was years ago though in fairness.

I forgot about Rocpool to be honest, possibly been a decade since I ate there but have heard consistently good reviews and know a really sound lad who works there so I'm with you in that recommendation. Peasants like me have no place in the more high-end sister establishment Rocpool Reserve up the hill so can't comment on there, a pal treated his missus to it though and said it was good - flash b*****d. Should be at the price, so I'm told. Relatively certain he thought she wanted to go to the normal Rocpool then couldn't back-track out of pride so took the hit to the wallet. Sair yin I expect!

Rocpool itself isn't cheap but it's absolutely outstanding. I've never been to Reserve either. 

Between Rocpool and Cafe One for the best eats in the city for me, with Rocpool slightly edging it on quality and Cafe One edging it on menu choice.