The Big Relegation Thread

We've had under 30 wins from our last 142 league matches (this season so far + the three prior to that), haven't won back-to-back league games in what'll end up being over two years, haven't avoided a relegation battle or finished above 10th since our first season in the Premiership, have set a record-low points total for avoiding the relegation play-off, and haven't put together any decent cup run.

The only reason staying up last year was fun was because we had a new manager and were told how stupid we were for wanting Canning out. The end of the 17/18 season was when I realised that simply surving had become boring. We're an existential crisis of a club.

I know the Championship will be miserable if we do a Thistle and even more so if we get stuck there and do a Falkirk, but there's no enjoyment left for us in the Premiership if we continue doing what we've always done. Then again, what will our aim be when we do go down? Do what Falkirk did for years (and Ayr might be like now) and constantly challenge for promotion but not get it?

We don't want to be in the Premiership when we're in it, but that'll be our main objective when we're not. Again, existential crisis.
So, what is your point exactly? It's the lesser of two evils, watch us struggle in the Premiership or slog away in the Championship hoping to get back up and then struggle to stay there. I know which I'd choose. Nothing is going to change approach wise under this current regime so your other choice is give up supporting the team. I've watched us play in the lower leagues for years and it was soul destroying at times, give me our current status any day of the week.

These days the Championship is an absolute c**t to get out of. There's always a club there with money getting chucked at them (1 this season, 2 last season) so it's basically a write off for the other 8 or 9 clubs in the league.

Starting to look like a straight shootout between us and Hamilton, but things can change quickly and 6 can be clawed back quick enough as St Mirren have some tough fixtures before the split and we have to play them twice.  

The biggest problem is we'd have to beat them away and we don't win outside Edinburgh. 

19 hours ago, stepek 4 tellys said:
19 hours ago, accies1874 said:
The point is that there's more to it than claiming that people who wish for relegation are "fucked in the head".

No, sorry, that point stands.

Poor turn of phrase, IMO .....

On 26/02/2020 at 15:11, accies1874 said:

We've had under 30 wins from our last 142 league matches (this season so far + the three prior to that), haven't won back-to-back league games in what'll end up being over two years, haven't avoided a relegation battle or finished above 10th since our first season in the Premiership, have set a record-low points total for avoiding the relegation play-off, and haven't put together any decent cup run.

I think this point is important. From about 2006 - 2014, we survived by the skin of our teeth in the SPL/Premiership and must have lost (or not won) more league games than any senior team in Scotland and England in that time. It became a turgid shit-fest. The only thing worth clinging to were a couple of "must win" away games at Falkirk and Motherwell; which were great, but just a couple of games. The other real positive in that time, though, was that being in the top league meant we were good enough to go on some cup runs, culminating in the disaster of 2010 followed by the redemption of 2013. 

Clubs like us are never going to win the top league -  cups are our only hope of tangible success ("top 6" isn't something I'll remember for the rest of my life) . However to be good enough to win a cup, we really need to be in the top league.  After 40 plus years of this pish, I've come to the conclusion that it is better to cycle between the leagues, win some (2nd tier) championships and, hopefully get to the odd cup final/semi-final, maybe even win it, once or twice in a lifetime, rather than sit hopelessly 9th/10th the Premiership year on year on year.

I think this point is important. From about 2006 - 2014, we survived by the skin of our teeth in the SPL/Premiership and must have lost (or not won) more league games than any senior team in Scotland and England in that time. It became a turgid shit-fest. The only thing worth clinging to were a couple of "must win" away games at Falkirk and Motherwell; which were great, but just a couple of games. The other real positive in that time, though, was that being in the top league meant we were good enough to go on some cup runs, culminating in the disaster of 2010 followed by the redemption of 2013. 
Clubs like us are never going to win the top league -  cups are our only hope of tangible success ("top 6" isn't something I'll remember for the rest of my life) . However to be good enough to win a cup, we really need to be in the top league.  After 40 plus years of this pish, I've come to the conclusion that it is better to cycle between the leagues, win some (2nd tier) championships and, hopefully get to the odd cup final/semi-final, maybe even win it, once or twice in a lifetime, rather than sit hopelessly 9th/10th the Premiership year on year on year.

I do subscribe to this idea to an extent. Obviously St. Johnstone have had better times in the last decade than St. Mirren (though arguably a cup win each is all there is really to show for it) and wee sojourns to far flung places in Europe are good enough fun but far too fleeting as inevitably some (perceived) random Eastern Bloc team will pap you out before the real season gets going but unless you're really pushing for those Euro spots then, to me, finishing 6th is no great thing, compared to say being 10th. It doesn't really matter, basically.

I think most people wouldn't mind the thought of being, to some extent, a Yo Yo club as long as the spells in the lower leagues weren't prolonged and unfortunately for some that's been the case - we spent seven years down there the last time and look how long it's taken Dundee United. Falkirk? Dunfermline?

The thought of being in that league for maybe a year or two isn't the end of the world but being stuck for any longer gives me the boak quite honestly.

I do subscribe to this idea to an extent. Obviously St. Johnstone have had better times in the last decade than St. Mirren (though arguably a cup win each is all there is really to show for it) and wee sojourns to far flung places in Europe are good enough fun but far too fleeting as inevitably some (perceived) random Eastern Bloc team will pap you out before the real season gets going but unless you're really pushing for those Euro spots then, to me, finishing 6th is no great thing, compared to say being 10th. It doesn't really matter, basically.

I think most people wouldn't mind the thought of being, to some extent, a Yo Yo club as long as the spells in the lower leagues weren't prolonged and unfortunately for some that's been the case - we spent seven years down there the last time and look how long it's taken Dundee United. Falkirk? Dunfermline?

The thought of being in that league for maybe a year or two isn't the end of the world but being stuck for any longer gives me the boak quite honestly.

The current league set up has caused a bunch of clubs to go down the 1 year contract route for fear of relegation when in reality it should have been a sixteen team league all along.

The whole top/bottom six nonsense is just designed to create fake drama when in reality it was always about having the OF play each other 4 times.

An entire league set up to serve 2 teams.........

The difference between sixth and tenth is that you will have won more games and scored more goals to get there. You will obviously be a better team to have finished higher up the league and probably been more entertaining and probably been more competitive when playing the perceived "bigger" teams
So yeah, it matters.

The difference between sixth and tenth is that you will have won more games and scored more goals to get there. You will obviously be a better team to have finished higher up the league and probably been more entertaining and probably been more competitive when playing the perceived "bigger" teams
So yeah, it matters.
You'll not have me argue with you on your points apart from it simply doesn't matter. Yeah you might have won a couple more games or whatever but that doesn't equate to real success let's be perfectly honest.

On 26/02/2020 at 15:11, accies1874 said:

The only reason staying up last year was fun was because we had a new manager and were told how stupid we were for wanting Canning out. The end of the 17/18 season was when I realised that simply surving had become boring. We're an existential crisis of a club.

I know the Championship will be miserable if we do a Thistle and even more so if we get stuck there and do a Falkirk, but there's no enjoyment left for us in the Premiership if we continue doing what we've always done. Then again, what will our aim be when we do go down? Do what Falkirk did for years (and Ayr might be like now) and constantly challenge for promotion but not get it?

We don't want to be in the Premiership when we're in it, but that'll be our main objective when we're not. Again, existential crisis.

Good post. What an utterly pointless tin pot club Hamilton are. They should fold imo.

Just now, stepek 4 tellys said:
6 minutes ago, BawWatchin said:
Good post. What an utterly pointless tin pot club Hamilton are. They should fold imo.

Do explain why you think we are, in your words, "a tin pot club"

I just did. "You're a tin pot club". Those are my words.

50 minutes ago, Torfason said:

The current league set up has caused a bunch of clubs to go down the 1 year contract route for fear of relegation when in reality it should have been a sixteen team league all along.

The whole top/bottom six nonsense is just designed to create fake drama when in reality it was always about having the OF play each other 4 times.

An entire league set up to serve 2 teams.........

Completely agree. I also think a bigger league would give clubs more breathing space to develop young players.