Artificial Pitches. . . .Need to go!

On 15/09/2019 at 16:15, hollerman said:

I think that this sums up the situation pretty well. They even play rugby on them now! Won't be able to prove this as I won't be here (!), but I reckon that in about 30 years max, most if not all football matches will be played on artificial surfaces, and folk will look back in disbelief that grass pitches were ever used, and that games could be cancelled because of rain.

Games are almost never cancelled because of rain. The Glasgow rugby players apparently hate the plastic pitch and Glasgow always seem to have to have a large amount of injuries even for a rugby team.

In 30 years time it will still only be tinpot clubs using plastic.

Grass pitches will be phased out and folk will in the future will be amazed football was once played on mud and grass. After a few minutes of play on grass it can get cut up and the ball starts to bobble. Players run the risk of serious injuries in a grass park when it gets soft in the rain or indeed hard in the frost or dried up in the sun. All these alterations must be a danger to players running or tackling on the ever changing grass.. 

Edited by the west curve

1 hour ago, Detournement said:

Games are almost never cancelled because of rain. The Glasgow rugby players apparently hate the plastic pitch and Glasgow always seem to have to have a large amount of injuries even for a rugby team.

The minute I see this being used I can just dismiss whatever follows it.

Rain certainly caused Livi games to be postponed, not had any postponements due to any kind of adverse weather since we put down our artificial pitch, and there were a couple of games last season that would def have been off with a flooded pitch last season if we still had a grass pitch.

Anyone that says grass pitches in Scotland are better than plastic ones during the winter months is either lying, or an idiot.

4 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

Anyone that says grass pitches in Scotland are better than plastic ones during the winter months is either lying, or an idiot.

2 hours ago, Detournement said:

That's what happens when you decide to build a stadium in a gully.

The well looked after grass pitches in Scotland - Celtic Park, Ibrox, Fir Park, Easter Road - are better than plastic year round.

^^^^Idiot found..

1 hour ago, nsr said:

Supporters of clubs with plastic pitches seem awfully defensive of plastic pitches.

Yeah everyone talking pish about artificial pitches should just be agreed with or they're just being awfy defensive about them.:ph34r:

Think we should stick up how many grass pitch injuries we've had this season and compare them against plastic pitch injuries, loser rips their pitches up.

I’ve played rugby on an artificial pitch

It was horrible

The skinny lads in the back three seemed to like it though

On 15/09/2019 at 15:11, the west curve said:

Once again a player gets injured playing on grass and no mention is made about the surface. Ryan Kent pulled his hamstring on the Ibrox turf and no one blames the pitch. Had it happened on an artificial surface you can be sure the media and slippy would have alluded to the surface and put the blame on it. All to often now players are getting injured playing on these spongy grass pitches and the media fail to condemn the surface. The time surely must come when folk realise that 4G pitches are the safest.

Players will get injured on any type of pitch. However, bad knee injuries seem to be more common on synthetic ones. You really think pulling a hamstring has something to do with grass? Just as well athletes don't get any hamstring injuries eh?

1 hour ago, Aberdeen Cowden said:

Players will get injured on any type of pitch. However, bad knee injuries seem to be more common on synthetic ones. 

They're not actually more common though, as peer-reviewed studies as well as meta-analyses have already shown. So this argument can be filed safely in the bin where it belongs. 

19 minutes ago, virginton said:

They're not actually more common though, as peer-reviewed studies as well as meta-analyses have already shown. So this argument can be filed safely in the bin where it belongs. 

There are studies that state there are more injuries, those that say there is no difference and those that say there are less.

So we can file your definitive answer where it belongs, in the bin.

Edited by Romeo

On 15/09/2019 at 16:15, hollerman said:

I think that this sums up the situation pretty well. They even play rugby on them now! Won't be able to prove this as I won't be here (!), but I reckon that in about 30 years max, most if not all football matches will be played on artificial surfaces, and folk will look back in disbelief that grass pitches were ever used, and that games could be cancelled because of rain.

Aye that's why all the leading lights of professional football are the ones with artificial pitches, you know, your Hamiltons, Livingston, Kilmarnock, Cove Rangers etc, whilst Real Madrid, Manchester United, Ajax, Milan, Liverpool etc are just lagging behind with grass.  

It makes perfect sense for lower league clubs to have them; less maintenance, no need to hire training facilities, income from pitch hire etc, but the top flight should be quality grass pitches only or stay doon. 

25 minutes ago, Romeo said:

There are studies that state there are more injuries, those that say there is no difference and those that say there are less.

So we can file your definitive answer where it belongs, in the bin.

^Doesn't know what meta-analysis is.

A quick Medline search brings up dozens of papers. They all suggest no increase in frequency or severity of injury on artificial pitches compared to natural grass. In fact, a meta-analysis of pooled data hints there may actually be a decrease in injury. It's not statistically significant though. 

It's reporting bias. An injury on an artificial pitch is blamed on the pitch, whereas it isn't on natural grass. Why would clubs install them if they got more injuries on them?