We're officially a diddy footballing nation.

Can't get my head around wanting to spend time and money going to one of these glamour friendlies. What makes a person feel entertained by these theatrical money shows. Its not the competitiveness, was it just a particularly boring Sunday. Are people just desperate to relate to massively paid athletes regardless of proximity? Just dont get it.

How so?
Surely it's indicative only of the attraction of watching one of England's top teams play against a top European side?  

Really, because the photos would suggest that these weren’t (at least a significant number) neutrals out to admire an elite side, but people revelling in the opportunity to see ‘their’ team.

The semi final of the league cup last season at the same stadium had a smaller attendance.

6 hours ago, thisal said:

After years of fighting it this morning I have to admit we are a diddy footballing nation.

Our National association tried for years to get us there. Sending our National team out in Woolly Ski Jerseys because the World cup was in Switzerland. Using ridiculous names for our 4 top Leagues because our neighbours did. Cutting corners and keeping a bowl layout when upgrading our national Stadium. 

Our teams pandering to 2 teams even giving them the power of veto. Losing to teams from Wales Luxembourg Malta Gibraltar etc.

Our medias inability to look past the OF. ignoring every other club to tell us where the wife of the latest OF mega-signing gets her hair cut.

But this morning I read 65000 people paid through the nose to see their big teams playing a preseason friendly. Scotland's  biggest footballing crowd in 40 years was made up of fanboys. I thought our resident MacScouser was one off. But out there he's the majority. It's now official we are now in the same footballing backwaters as Singapore Qatar Ireland etc. and it was the fans that did it. To quote the original and best Taggart "I am Depressed"

There's no doubt that the SFA and the bigot brothers have assisted greatly in screwing up our game, however the real reason we're screwed is purely down to money and the likes of Sky and BT throwing all their cash and coverage at the English.

The way Football has gone from a domestic sense, is based upon your population and how many TV pay per view subscriptions that you can muster, if that's not enough then your domestic league is deemed 3rd rate and nobody is interested.

Unfortunately it's the age old story of the media creating or destroying, in our case it's destroying, as one only needs look at the Sky Tv planner to see that US Basketball, US Netball, US mickey mouse "soccer", NFL (I think that's the same as American Fitba) plus numerous womens sports are now being forced upon us virtually 24/7 and are being given a huge media focus, is it any wonder Scottish Football is losing its appeal ??

5 hours ago, The OP said:

Absolutely stunned that you get larger crowds in grounds with a larger capacity than you do at grounds with a smaller capacity. 

5 hours ago, craigkillie said:

Scottish football will have had literally hundreds of sold-out games in that 30 year period which could have sold 70k+ tickets. The fact that Murrayfield is a wee bit bigger than Celtic Park, Ibrox or Hampden doesn't make this particularly special.

How many of those were preseason friendlies?

1 hour ago, thisal said:

How many of those were preseason friendlies?

Think one of Celtic's highest attendance in recent years was a charity match, can't remember which one but it was in the last couple of years and it was more than your usual full capacity match because of no need for segregation. 

Can't get my head around wanting to spend time and money going to one of these glamour friendlies. What makes a person feel entertained by these theatrical money shows. Its not the competitiveness, was it just a particularly boring Sunday. Are people just desperate to relate to massively paid athletes regardless of proximity? Just dont get it.

It’s probably to do with seeing the European Champions. Friendlies are not for me, but I can see why people would want to see Liverpool.

5 hours ago, Dons_1988 said:

Possibly but a crowd of that size for a meaningless friendly is pretty indicative of the general attitude towards our own domestic game in this country.

You are absolutely right and there is an enormous appetite for football in Scotland but you (and everyone else on this thread) is ignoring the elephant in the room:  The quality of football on display in Scotland is eye-wateringly, soul-destroyingly tragic.  There is simply nothing on display to attract the non-committed fan for whom reruns of "Mad Accident on the A9" on Youtube is more entertaining and, probably, little less skilful then watching the overwhelming majority of Premiership and Championship games.

Hmm. I’m a bit tired for my TL;DR response so you win.

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

Who gives a f**k about quality when it's this entertaining? 

I'm asking that seriously. We know what we have in this country and the fact that it's a bit shite really is a good 50% of the charm.

3 minutes ago, CountyFan said:

Who gives a f**k about quality when it's this entertaining? 

I'm asking that seriously. We know what we have in this country and the fact that it's a bit shite really is a good 50% of the charm.

And that's an acceptable attitude if you want shite football being played in shite grounds before a handful of fans.  In fact, that is what most posters on here want.

65,000 football fans at Murrayfield say otherwise.

And that's an acceptable attitude if you want shite football being played in shite grounds before a handful of fans.  In fact, that is what most posters on here want.

The epitome of glory hunting right there.
Most on here support our local teams as we have an affinity to them & although the product is sometimes poor, we wouldn’t change it to support a group of millionaires sell their wares. That’s what is fantastic about Scottish football.

39 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

If you want a better product there are about 200 things we need to do, but the most important would be to break the duopoly from which your club benefits to the detriment of all other clubs except one. 

If you are genuinely up for that you're the most enlightened rangers fan I've ever encountered by a significant distance. 

15 minutes ago, Brother Blades said:

The epitome of glory hunting right there.
Most on here support our local teams as we have an affinity to them & although the product is sometimes poor, we wouldn’t change it to support a group of millionaires sell their wares. That’s what is fantastic about Scottish football.

Unmitigated pish.  We all know that a. The product on display is utter dross for the most part and b.  'Support your local team' is P&B's way of saying, "Don't support a cheek".

IF the diddies want to increase support then they have to stop blaming 'glory hunters', 'the cheeks', 'tv rights', 'sectarian bias' et al and just see that the product on offer in their stadiums is usually unappealing tripe.

A simple advance for Diddy football would be trying to kick the ball before the man.  This innovation may be too much for most supporters.

Edited by The_Kincardine

2 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

^^^ too pished to remember his Mintermind login

Are you saying paying over £20 to watch the likes of Livingston vs Hamilton on a plastic pitch in an empty stadium for the fourth time in the same season isn’t appealing?

Unmitigated pish.  We all know that a. The product on display is utter dross for the most part and b.  'Support your local team' is P&B's way of saying, "Don't support a cheek".
IF the diddies want to increase support then they have to stop blaming 'glory hunters', 'the cheeks', 'tv rights', 'sectarian bias' et al and just see that the product on offer in their stadiums is usually unappealing tripe.
A simple advance for Diddy football would be trying to kick the ball before the man.  This innovation may be too much for most supporters.

Your mum is unmitigated pish.