The official Boris pm cluster-fuck thread

pandarilla

2 hours ago, oneteaminglasgow said:

I remember my gran telling me how Jeremy Corbyn was going to steal her house from her, because the Daily Mail said so. I pointed out that she wasn’t a billionaire, and he’d likely have little to no interest in the South Lanarkshire housing market, but I don’t think it got through.

She still think Boris is a fucking c**t, though, so that’s something.

The sooner these shitrags go bust so aulds who 'cannae work thon interweb' don't actually have a source of right-wing shite feeding them their entire world-view the better.

Sick fed up of explaining to the 70'odd year old in-laws that 'News'paper is no such thing any more.

I honestly don't think this perception of folk becoming more right-wing purely due to age is accurate. It's because they're still reading the same rags they have for the past 50+ years without realising that they've gone from reporting news with a biased slant, to just sheer propaganda, outright lies, and slandering anything that threatens the owners' interests. I rejoice every time there's an article about shrinking circulation and monetary losses.

Guest Bob Mahelp
21 minutes ago, Boo Khaki said:

The sooner these shitrags go bust so aulds who 'cannae work thon interweb' don't actually have a source of right-wing shite feeding them their entire world-view the better.

Sick fed up of explaining to the 70'odd year old in-laws that 'News'paper is no such thing any more.

I honestly don't think this perception of folk becoming more right-wing purely due to age is accurate. It's because they're still reading the same rags they have for the past 50+ years without realising that they've gone from reporting news with a biased slant, to just sheer propaganda, outright lies, and slandering anything that threatens the owners' interests. I rejoice every time there's an article about shrinking circulation and monetary losses.

In general, today's pensioners have always been racist, homophobic fuckwits who detest anything different...foreigners, human rights, foreign grub etc. etc. It's just the way they were brought up and the society they lived most of their lives in. 

They're attracted to today's Tory party because they see (or imagine they see) politicians who agree with these values. They read right-wing newspapers because they print the articles that confirm their prejudices. 

Not all pensioners are like that, but many are simply because they were not educated to recognise equality and accept difference. 

Maybe it'll get better next generation, who knows ?

17 hours ago, Boo Khaki said:

Half them are being radicalised by Facebook these days

Get the feeling that the new Spitting Image will be shite.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/aug/05/johnson-cummings-and-prince-andrew-among-new-spitting-image-puppets

The show is produced by Avalon, who's credits include The Russell Howard Hour.

Hmm.

On 04/08/2020 at 16:49, Bob Mahelp said:

In general, today's pensioners have always been racist, homophobic fuckwits who detest anything different...foreigners, human rights, foreign grub etc. etc. It's just the way they were brought up and the society they lived most of their lives in. 

They're attracted to today's Tory party because they see (or imagine they see) politicians who agree with these values. They read right-wing newspapers because they print the articles that confirm their prejudices. 

Not all pensioners are like that, but many are simply because they were not educated to recognise equality and accept difference. 

Maybe it'll get better next generation, who knows ?

I think there's an element of that, but I also think that there's a huge degree of naive ignorance.

I've mentioned this on here before, but my in-laws aren't racist, xenophobic, homophobic fuckwits, but they simply can't grasp that newspapers can, and do, print lies.

Their view on it is that 'well if it was printed in a newspaper and it was palpably untrue, someone would haul them over the coals for it. They haven't, ergo - it must be fact'

They haven't recognised that newspapers have changed beyond all recognition in the past few decades. They've always been biased to a degree, but there is absolutely no integrity whatsoever any more. It's pure propaganda, and they have no compunction whatsoever in printing outright lies when they know it's not going to result in a libel action. "Jeremy Corbyn intends" is not going to result in Corbyn bringing a court case against the Mail when it's about what he intends to do if elected Prime Minister, but in the minds of some of the aulds, if a newspaper is printing it then it is automatically credible.

This is why I said I don't believe that it's always the case that people naturally just become more right-wing as they age. For a lot of them, it's because literally their only source of information is a right-wing shitrag, and the mainstream news like BBC has no interest in challenging or getting into a debate about anything they print on a day-to-day basis. The people like my in-laws don't know any better, because they have nobody challenging the shite they're being fed, or offering them a more objective and impartial world-view.

Well, I try at least, and to the auld boy's credit he does appear to be recognising that the world according to the Daily Mail and the actuality are not one and the same, but her Mother still thinks that if she read it in a newspaper then it must be 'factual', even when what she's reading is clearly an opinion piece and not a news report.

Edited by Boo Khaki

I think there's an element of that, but I also think that there's a huge degree of naive ignorance.
I've mentioned this on here before, but my in-laws aren't racist, xenophobic, homophobic fuckwits, but they simply can't grasp that newspapers can, and do, print lies.
Their view on it is that 'well if it was printed in a newspaper and it was palpably untrue, someone would haul them over the coals for it. They haven't, ergo - it must be fact'
They haven't recognised that newspapers have changed beyond all recognition in the past few decades. They've always been biased to a degree, but there is absolutely no integrity whatsoever any more. It's pure propaganda, and they have no compunction whatsoever in printing outright lies when they know it's not going to result in a libel action. "Jeremy Corbyn intends" is not going to result in Corbyn bringing a court case against the Mail when it's about what he intends to do if elected Prime Minister, but in the minds of some of the aulds, if a newspaper is printing it then it is automatically credible.
This is why I said I don't believe that it's always the case that people naturally just become more right-wing as they age. For a lot of them, it's because literally their only source of information is a right-wing shitrag, and the mainstream news like BBC has no interest in challenging or getting into a debate about anything they print on a day-to-day basis. The people like my in-laws don't know any better, because they have nobody challenging the shite they're being fed, or offering them a more objective and impartial world-view.
Well, I try at least, and to the auld boy's credit he does appear to be recognising that the world according to the Daily Mail and the actuality are not one and the same, but her Mother still thinks that if she read it in a newspaper then it must be 'factual', even when what she's reading is clearly an opinion piece and not a news report.
There are a few fake Daily Mail headlines that have been done over the years but these are two of my favourites:

thepoke-752x501.jpegDailyMail-1.jpeg

Saw something earlier on Twitter (yeah, I know...) about some study that found that Cummings' wee jaunt was the single biggest factor by far in destroying a sense of national unity and folk going 'f**k it' and returning to normal.

Certainly tallies with what I saw first hand. Week before that episode the street near me were still more or less empty, even at 'rush hour'. The week after, queues of cars at the traffic lights even at 9 and 10pm, and pedestrians everywhere.

So BJ is heading for Scotland for a 2 week break with his family.

Do P&B's have any suggestions as to exactly where he should head for, in the hope of encountering traditional Scottish hospitality?

Edited by ICTJohnboy

He'll no doubt manage to find some p***k willing to tell him to GTF in some egregious way that he can spin as anti-English. Should provide a nice wee dunt in the polls when the sob story about his poor treatment hits the papers.

You still see occasional comment-section roasters giving it, "I'll never forgive the Scots for what they did to poor Nigel", like we all took turns tarring and feathering the c**t.

16 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

Do P&B's have any suggestions as to exactly where he should head for, in the hope of encountering traditional Scottish hospitality?

Mon the midgies 

2 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

He'll no doubt manage to find some p***k willing to tell him to GTF in some egregious way that he can spin as anti-English. Should provide a nice wee dunt in the polls when the sob story about his poor treatment hits the papers.

You still see occasional comment-section roasters giving it, "I'll never forgive the Scots for what they did to poor Nigel", like we all took turns tarring and feathering the c**t.

If only we had been given that opportunity.

20 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

He only goes to places like Moray or Fraserburgh with wierdo fisherfolk.