Climate change protests

5 hours ago, nsr said:

The idea that protesting against climate change is actually going to make the biggest governments and corporations give an airborne act of copulation...

Scotland has nearly halved its emissions in about 15 years. The UK isn't far behind. Why?

2 hours ago, Malky3 said:

Ineos have already said that they reckon they are two years away from having a production process that will recycle 100% of plastics, converting them back into little plastic pellets that can be reused. They've said that it really doesn't matter to them whether they make their money using crude oil, fracked gas, or recycled plastic - so long as they are making money. Ironically refusing to use plastic products in the future may actually precipitate the waste problem that the world has with plastics. 

You're making quite an effort to create a story that covers up the reality that the world has to wean itself away from digging up, pumping up, vacuuming up.... fossil fuels.

3 hours ago, beefybake said:

Obviously you've missed the fact that diesel cars are now regarded as toxic, are gradually being taxed off the road, every car manufacturer in the world is scrambling to

produce electric cars, all the 'smart money' in investments is going down the road of low carbon, climate change, SRI ( Socially Responsbile Investment ).

Basically , away from fossil fuels.

Sadly not true. Trillions of pounds forecast for investment in oil production globally up to 2050.

Separately, this is a serious issue. Actual experts haven't worked out how to solve it. Nae c**t on here is going to know. Stop acting like you do.

1 hour ago, Adam101 said:

12 years until we hit climate disaster, I still maintain that private jets should be heavily taxed or banned all together also electric vehicles are no cleaner over their life time than petrol vehicles so they clearly aren't the answer, the answer to that and everything else is hydrogen power.

We should also have no dealings with the US whilst they continue to be the only country to ignore the Paris agreement and should be putting pressure on our allies to do the same.

What really gets me laughing like Stuart Hall is the statement that "Global warming is the greatest threat the planet faces!"

There's not even a monotheistc religion that has a article of faith more idiotic than that.

Overpopulation by humans is the greatest problem the planet faces. Anyone who says otherwise is a moron. Global warming is caused by the excess of humans on the planet. If the planet's problems were football teams, overpopulation would be Brazil 1970. By comparison, global warming would be at about the level Berwick Rangers are at now. 

Nobody even discusses the real problem and nobody shows any inclination to do so. Except the Chinese. The population of Ethiopia is triple what it was when Saint Bob told us to send fockin' money now. There's another major famine due any year now, but we won't sit back and watch nature take its course. We'll be demonstrating and high-handedly moralising to an extent that makes the supercilious scheidt about plastic doing the rounds today look like the philosophy of a Zen master.   

Why not have a reality TV show? All the nations of the world choose representatives for some sort of "Hunger Games" or "Running Man" or "Rollerball" type of deal. (If b*****d intellectuals insist on resurrecting "The Krypton Factor" I might grudgingly allow that, but the viewing figures would be disappointing. Even doing this as "It's a Knockout" would get a bigger audience than that.) Nations eliminated early in the piece get wiped out. Perhaps not nukes, as such. Maybe anthrax. Or perhaps drop some chemicals on them that result in irreversible sterilisation of the entire poplulation. (I think the UK government is volunteering us Brits for something similar with its LGBT "education" in primary schools, but that's a wimp-out. Joe Public won't pay to watch it and Rupert Murdoch won't pay to televise it, so it makes no sense.) Donald Trump could dress-up as maybe The Joker or the Grim Reaper or even Davros off "Doctor Who" and press the button.

Imagine what the pay-per-view figures would be for that. Problem solved!          

Edited by Victor von Doom

3 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

Wonder how long it takes for the resident Malthusian to suggest culling the populations of Africa and/ or Asia to solve our climate problems.

I'd opt for the most idiotic ideolgies first and work backwards.

"All Ethnic Groups And All Cultures Are Equal... Except Those I Don't  Like" is clearly the most asinine falsehood on which anyone has ever had to temerity to base a society. Adherents of that would go first. So, UK = Terra Nullius. Immediately. Most of the rest of Western Europe would follow in short order.

"Aye Ees Aye Skeen!" is clearly number #2... but most of those adhering strictly to that are English and would already be dead. A fair portion of the southern USA would be in trouble here but few others. So, other nations espousing the almost mindless practice of racial self-definition would be next in line. This does, indeed, see most of sub-Saharan Africa disappearing.

The two minor b*****disations of Judaism are also ideologies criminally lacking in thought and originality - not to mention the outrageous plagiarism of nicking the Jews' God in the first place. The older of these two appears to have grown out of its more execrable excesses. So far as I'm aware, disputing the central tenets of the older of the two is no longer an offence in any society that might still claim to be based upon its teachings. So they might be OK.  Convesely, every society that claims to base its ideology on the younger of the two minor b*****disations of Judaism has legislation that treats any questioning of its tenets as an extremely serious criminal offence: a capital offence in many cases. I mean, we know God is probably an Englishman. Consequently, gross incompetence and comical tokenist "diversity" will come as standard, but choosing an illiterate, pagan gentile, in a cave in Arabia, as the conduit through which he sought to correct all the errors he'd made - in his omniscience - in previous revelations to Hebrew prophets down the millennia really is taking things a bit f****** far, isn't it? So, all nations following Mohammed (pbuh) would go as well.

That would leave us with three-quarters of Asia - on which the Chinese could impose the necessary social engineering to ensure the problem doesn't resurface, most of the Americas, easten Europe and Oceania. Should be room for their excess citizens in Africa, west Asia and western Europe.

...And if I don't get banned for this post, then there might yet be some hope for Scotland... which there isn't.               

46 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

Wonder how long it takes for the resident Malthusian to suggest culling the populations of Africa and/ or Asia to solve our climate problems.

Another theory is that the population will start declining by the mid century, which might not necessarily mean sweetness and light, an aging population supported by fewer and fewer workers. AI and robotics might be arriving just in time.

https://www.straitstimes.com/world/sanjeev-sanyal-the-end-of-population-growth

Bit on the radio this morning saying we have produced enough wind generated electricity in Scotland to meet all domestic demand.

We need to continue to invest in this so this is a constant.

4 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Bit on the radio this morning saying we have produced enough wind generated electricity in Scotland to meet all domestic demand.

More than that, we'll need to find about a third more electricity to run cars when they switch from petrol and diesel.

9 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Sort of.

The electricity has been generated but isnt all captured, isnt all connected to the grid and it isnt available on demand.

It needs to be part of the mix though 

14 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

How many more carbon capturing trees would you cut down to fascilitate this? And how will you ensure a constant wind supply? I know Oaksoft tries his best but he's already blowing flat out. 

1 hour ago, GordonS said:

Scotland has nearly halved its emissions in about 15 years. The UK isn't far behind. Why?

Because the biggest emissions come from heavy industry and agriculture 

We have done well on power generation admittedly, and that is probably due to demand (mainly expressed through politics, but also market demand) which is shaped by awareness campaigns. 

When you buy in most of your steel that you used to make, you move the emissions elsewhere.

When we buy in cheap vegetable oil, we contribute to deforestation that belches out stored carbon from deep peat soils in the tropics. 

We need to consider the embedded carbon too. This is a more complex message than "legally binding targets" and harder to land. 

So it kind of infuriates me that a load of sanctimonious arsehole have decided to alienate half the population so they can play at protests. 

11 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

More than that, we'll need to find about a third more electricity to run cars when they switch from petrol and diesel.

More urgent than that. Lancaster University did a recent study that found the UK needs 5 new nuclear power plants just to cope with the demand for streamed video content. Apparently watching 2 hours of streamed content is the equivalent of boiled a full kettle 10 times - or 60 cups of tea. Imagine how many more nuclear power plants we'd need for electric cars. 

1 hour ago, Victor von Doom said:

What really gets me laughing like Stuart Hall is the statement that "Global warming is the greatest threat the planet faces!"

There's not even a monotheistc religion that has a article of faith more idiotic than that.

Overpopulation by humans is the greatest problem the planet faces. Anyone who says otherwise is a moron. Global warming is caused by the excess of humans on the planet. If the planet's problems were football teams, overpopulation would be Brazil 1970. By comparison, global warming would be at about the level Berwick Rangers are at now. 

Nobody even discusses the real problem and nobody shows any inclination to do so. Except the Chinese. The population of Ethiopia is triple what it was when Saint Bob told us to send fockin' money now. There's another major famine due any year now, but we won't sit back and watch nature take its course. We'll be demonstrating and high-handedly moralising to an extent that makes the supercilious scheidt about plastic doing the rounds today look like the philosophy of a Zen master.   

Why not have a reality TV show? All the nations of the world choose representatives for some sort of "Hunger Games" or "Running Man" or "Rollerball" type of deal. (If b*****d intellectuals insist on resurrecting "The Krypton Factor" I might grudgingly allow that, but the viewing figures would be disappointing. Even doing this as "It's a Knockout" would get a bigger audience than that.) Nations eliminated early in the piece get wiped out. Perhaps not nukes, as such. Maybe anthrax. Or perhaps drop some chemicals on them that result in irreversible sterilisation of the entire poplulation. (I think the UK government is volunteering us Brits for something similar with its LGBT "education" in primary schools, but that's a wimp-out. Joe Public won't pay to watch it and Rupert Murdoch won't pay to televise it, so it makes no sense.) Donald Trump could dress-up as maybe The Joker or the Grim Reaper or even Davros off "Doctor Who" and press the button.

Imagine what the pay-per-view figures would be for that. Problem solved!          

Do you own a dog and spend most of your time together in a pub boring bar staff and others within earshot?

24 minutes ago, Malky3 said:

More urgent than that. Lancaster University did a recent study that found the UK needs 5 new nuclear power plants just to cope with the demand for streamed video content. Apparently watching 2 hours of streamed content is the equivalent of boiled a full kettle 10 times - or 60 cups of tea. Imagine how many more nuclear power plants we'd need for electric cars. 

Surprised by that. All we need now is switching currencies to bitcoin and we'll truly be fucked.

2 hours ago, GordonS said:

I wasn't referring to the UK when I said "the biggest governments and corporations". As far as I am aware, our impact is minimal compared to the likes of the US, China and India.

In total emissions yes. Per capita we use about 4 x as many as India and are comparable with China. 

If you want to compare like with like the EU 28 have a similar output to the US. So whilst Scotland cant do much on our own we arent doing it on our own. The EU cutting emissions could have a significant impact on global emissions

2 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

This term is continually used in the media.  I can only assume it is done deliberately to try to give an impression that we are doing better than we actually are. 

The quotes are always about "domestic" in the sense of non-commercial.  Scotland doesn't produce more power from wind than it consumes.

Edited by strichener