Billy Gilmour

Kuro

@KingRocketman II

Mean height is useful as rough guide but it doesn't tell us much about outliers. Gilmour and Gallagher combined have the same input to it as two 6ft tall players. Par with Spain sounds about right, basically the smallest in Europe and smaller than all of our properly competitive match opponents over the past few years.

What you see quite clearly in rugby is that you can have two nations who are quite similar on paper in terms of height and weight but one team is 'naturally' bigger and will be much more powerful. It's unlikely Scotland is going to catch up physically at either rugby or football any time soon.

5 hours ago, Detournement said:

@KingRocketman II

Mean height is useful as rough guide but it doesn't tell us much about outliers. Gilmour and Gallagher combined have the same input to it as two 6ft tall players. Par with Spain sounds about right, basically the smallest in Europe and smaller than all of our properly competitive match opponents over the past few years.

What you see quite clearly in rugby is that you can have two nations who are quite similar on paper in terms of height and weight but one team is 'naturally' bigger and will be much more powerful. It's unlikely Scotland is going to catch up physically at either rugby or football any time soon.

If this is the case, which it might be. But id like to see a height comparison team for team of our recent competitive games (and basically cant be bothered doing that myself)

Then its a disadvantage in certain circumstances which is obviously important. But i think there are other bigger (yes intentional) reasons were not competing with the best.

1 hour ago, BazMac said:

Mac Allister might have just played his way into a transfer to a major club. Might be worth Gilmour sticking around for his opportunity.

Yeah he's been awesome. Commentators talking about him being the heir to Messi's #10 shirt. Obviously he's never a Messi, but he looks capable of making a team tick at the highest level.

18 minutes ago, accies1874 said:

Fair enough Gilmour's not been performing recently, but when you end up having your path blocked by a World Cup winner at Brighton then maybe you should begin wondering if the Gods have it in for you. 

He plays in a different position 

It's the Ecuadorian keeping him out the team, which won't change 

1 hour ago, Binos said:

He plays in a different position 

It's the Ecuadorian keeping him out the team, which won't change 

You’re trying to act clever because they aren’t the exact same kind of player and failing miserably.

Gilmour replaced McAllister as a sub against Man City and started in McAllister’s place against Arsenal.

On 17/12/2022 at 12:02, Detournement said:

The 'physical' thing makes no sense.

Watch any age group with Scotland and unless it's an outright diddy opponent Scotland will be at a physical/athletic disadvantage.  Look at our national team and them think about what teams at the World Cup have the equivalent of guys like Taylor, Gilmour and Fraser in the squad? Our current best prospect is basically a turbo hobbit. Scotland has more wee players than any comparable nation and we likely will never have a Lewandoski, Patrick Schitck or Haaland type athletic forward or even a Harry Kane.

Aye you're right, guys like Messi and Modric won't make it.

1 hour ago, thisal said:

Aye you're right, guys like Messi and Modric won't make it.

I think this misses the point he was making, of course there are exceptions. Many of them.

But in general if we are at a height and power disadvantage then its exactly that, a disadvantage.

Those specific players made it to the very top as they are the best of the best. We don't have any smaller players currently anywhere near that level.

On a separate note

Just for comparison on power which was also mentioned, gilmour would bounce off both of those players. This is something he needs to be working on and hopefully will come in time.

On 19/12/2022 at 02:20, accies1874 said:

Fair enough Gilmour's not been performing recently, but when you end up having your path blocked by a World Cup winner at Brighton then maybe you should begin wondering if the Gods have it in for you. 

When has he not performed? De Zerbi praised his training then his match performance.

This thing on size is complete nonsense too, unlike most sports you can be an excellent footballer despite being quite short. Many players shorter than Gilmour have succeeded, and it hasn't stopped him being signed for millions in the EPL. He's barely in his 20s and will already be a millionaire.

Think he's doing alright.

The most feeble comment on Scottish football has always been that the youth football only focuses on physical traits, have you seen our teams? Ryan Fraser is the shortest player in the EPL.

18 minutes ago, Satoshi said:

When has he not performed? De Zerbi praised his training then his match performance.

This thing on size is complete nonsense too, unlike most sports you can be an excellent footballer despite being quite short. Many players shorter than Gilmour have succeeded, and it hasn't stopped him being signed for millions in the EPL. He's barely in his 20s and will already be a millionaire.

Think he's doing alright.

The most feeble comment on Scottish football has always been that the youth football only focuses on physical traits, have you seen our teams? Ryan Fraser is the shortest player in the EPL.

You have to be strong to be a top player. Not necessarily big, though you do need some big players (we're going to miss H Souttar so much btw, backs to the wall job to get a point away from home or defend a lead he would have been a rock) but you definitely have to be strong.

You just bounce off professional footballers, their upper body strength is immense. And someone like Gilmour is miles off where he needs to be with that.

2 hours ago, HalfCutNinja said:

You have to be strong to be a top player. Not necessarily big, though you do need some big players (we're going to miss H Souttar so much btw, backs to the wall job to get a point away from home or defend a lead he would have been a rock) but you definitely have to be strong.

You just bounce off professional footballers, their upper body strength is immense. And someone like Gilmour is miles off where he needs to be with that.

How would you know?

All top level players will have personal development plans based on a number of metrics including their physical characteristics.

If the coaches think Gilmour should be increasing weight and muscle mass then he will be doing it. If they would rather he focus on agility and mobility then he will be doing that. Peoples bodies mature at different ages and I'm sure they take that into account too.

Brighton would have known Gilmours physical stats (in great detail) during the medical and signed him anyway.

They know much better than some guy on the internet who has only ever seen him play on TV.

And your statement the players have to be strong seems pretty ludicrous unless you qualify what strong is, Pirlo was openly disdainful of stuff like warm ups but seemed to do okay. At 68kg can't imagine he spent too much time on weight training. Gilmour is currently 60kg (according to the internet) 6 kg less than Modric and 2kg more than Lingard. Juan Mata was 61kg.

In isolation the figures mean nothing though, the clubs will know a players optimal weight and will measure him against that.