Lowland Trapdoorwatch 2019-20

FairWeatherFan

30 minutes ago, Jute said:

What are they supposed to do if up until now none of the leagues below them wanted to be part of the pyramid. 

The SFA  have ways surely to implicate this.

Yes there has to be a top level and somewhere a bottom level in a Pyramid. 

1 hour ago, newcastle broon said:

Dont think anything has been learnt from last season Selfy. 

Theres clubs pushing for promotion from the EOSFL that aren't licensed (as yet). This is an issue that should be sorted before a ball is kicked pre season. 

Careful mate Marshy will be on your case. Yer not allowed a difference of opinion from him on here otherwise he tries to hound ye off the forum. :thumsup2

Yes he's red voting me, not for the first time about this matter. 

When people do that then I know I have hit home.

I'm not sad enough to do that in return.

4 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

Follow this logic and you'd end up with no leagues at all.

A HFL champion through the play offs this season wi an SPFL lowland club relegated brings the HFL doon to 16 teams. 

Yer right follow that logic,if the HFL clubs were to win the play off every season there would be nae Highland League at all.

Highly unlikely to happen but depleting it every season certainly wouldn't help the pyramid. Something has to be done up there to make the pyramid work though. If only there was an ideal solution as the geographical position makes it very lopsided and nigh impossible to work from. 

A HFL champion through the play offs this season wi an SPFL lowland club relegated brings the HFL doon to 16 teams. 
Yer right follow that logic,if the HFL clubs were to win the play off every season there would be nae Highland League at all.
Highly unlikely to happen but depleting it every season certainly wouldn't help the pyramid. Something has to be done up there to make the pyramid work though. If only there was an ideal solution as the geographical position makes it very lopsided and nigh impossible to work from. 
Talks between the HL, NRJFA & NCL are on going currently & by all accounts making good progress. Funnily enough much better than the mess south of the tay & in a way shorter time span.

^^^^^^^ brain the size of a pea

9 hours ago, FairWeatherFan said:

I doubt there would of been this kind of annoyance if the Highland League had split into divisions and were relegating the 9th and 10th placed teams from the 5th Tier.

The fact that gimp upvoted this tells you everything about the mental capacity

29 minutes ago, AB de Villiers said:

Your thought process is right but what do you expect in a far less populated area? Even if you put the NCL, North and Tayside Juniors below the HL it still wouldn’t be as balanced as the Lowland system.

It puts them at an advantage in the Scottish Cup though,clubs continually start in round 1 from both the HFL and LL. Relegation from the LL and yer technically looking at 2 or more prelim rounds to even reach round 1. There is a huge imbalance in the geographical populated state of Scotland for the pyramid to work unfortunately. Yet folk are still arguing over a north south dividing line  🤷‍♂️

20 hours ago, newcastle broon said:

Theres clubs pushing for promotion from the EOSFL that aren't licensed (as yet). This is an issue that should be sorted before a ball is kicked pre season. 

Not sure how you can sort it pre-season - do you not allow clubs to gain promotion even if they get a licence during the season? Because that would be stupid.

It puts them at an advantage in the Scottish Cup though,clubs continually start in round 1 from both the HFL and LL. Relegation from the LL and yer technically looking at 2 or more prelim rounds to even reach round 1. There is a huge imbalance in the geographical populated state of Scotland for the pyramid to work unfortunately. Yet folk are still arguing over a north south dividing line  🤷‍♂️

There's only one extra club in the HL gaining access to round 1, which has £4k prize money compared to £3k for each preliminary round- so not a big deal to get yourself worked up about.

4 minutes ago, Ginaro said:

Not sure how you can sort it pre-season - do you not allow clubs to gain promotion even if they get a licence during the season? Because that would be stupid.

There's only one extra club in the HL gaining access to round 1, which has £4k prize money compared to £3k for each preliminary round- so not a big deal to get yourself worked up about.

Never said dont allow them promotion just needs sorted to prevent the same farce as last season but Aye ok no big deal .May we all find peace and  happiness within the pyramid 🙄 

NB makes some good points -_- but tends to mix them all together in a sort of grievance pottage :lol:: though it's understandable given Whitehill has gone down whereas say Fort William can't.

It's disappointing that clubs can finish bottom of HL year-after-year without any consequences. It's basically a repeat of East Stirlingshire finishing bottom of SFL3 for years on end. Going direct into Scottish Cup R1... where tier 6 clubs in the Lowland areas have to enter 2 rounds prior... is an additional bad side effect. There should be leagues under HL so that current North Caledonian and North or Tayside junior clubs can ascend, and weak HL clubs descend. Hopefully this will happen. However clubs or leagues aren't going to be forced to join if they do not want to, and you won't get a perfectly symmetrical set-up with every arm of the pyramid having exactly the same tiers and clubs.

If we dreamt that some day all current senior and junior clubs were in the pyramid (and ignoring certain oddities) - then you'd have 149 clubs in LL or below, versus 75 clubs in HL or below. Population would split about 4.2M and 1.2M. Not ideal but clearly better than if you moved the boundary north.

There is an injustice in tier 6 clubs having to enter a full 2 or 3 rounds before tier 5 clubs, and there being some unnecessary byes further up the cup... This is a hang-over from a time in the late 2000s when there weren't even enough clubs to fill R1. It needs resolved anyway since PR1 is almost full. It's also wrong that byes in the preliminaries are given out randomly: Whitehill should have started in PR2 this season not a random bye given to Golspie.

Not sure why NB thinks clubs should have to be licensed 1 year beforehand to gain promotion to LL. Being licensed upon entering LL should be sufficient. It's about minimum criteria not a delaying hurdle.

21 hours ago, sureiknow said:

The SFA  have ways surely to implicate this.

Yes there has to be a top level and somewhere a bottom level in a Pyramid. 

I'm guessing you mean "implement" rather than "implicate".

Anyway, if the SFA did have a way to implement a pyramid structure, we wouldn't be seeing the current shambles with what's happening with the WRJFA and ERJFA.

Perhaps in the North, with a shallower pyramid, Tier 5 is the bottom. I agree it's maybe inequitable at the moment, but that's not the HFL's fault.

21 hours ago, newcastle broon said:

Well then, astound us with how you would solve this, rather than greeting about "how unfair" it is as you've done in your last few posts which just reek of sour grapes.

You recognise the problems with trying to balance the geography with the population, it is difficult. At least we're now hearing that there are discussions underway with the NCL and NRJFA.

I agree that as it stands, things are inequitable. However, at the time of formation of the current tier 5, the Highland League area has the vast majority of licenced clubs and still did so until fairly recently.

I personally think that we'd have avoided a lot of the current perceived issues if separate North/South feeder leagues had been set up at Tier 5 instead, allowing HFL, EoSFL and SoSFL to feed in at Tier 6, would have avoided a lot of the problems we see now.