The Brechin City Thread

Hedgecutter

On 05/02/2022 at 17:17, welshbairn said:

Was it a scrambled late goal or Brechin hitting the woodwork for 90 minutes against a parked bus kind of day?

P.S. Hearing the goal came from an incorrectly given free kick, but after a fair amount of 2nd half pressure. Sounds like Forres have got their manager merry-go-round in some kind of check and were unlucky not to get away with a point.

Not a scrambled goal.

We were poor against a pish team who parked the bus and was playing at it the whole game, taking forever to do anything, their manager kicking the ball away etc.. gamesmanship stuff. Despite us being poor we missed many a chance before McHattie lobbed in a volley at the death. Q wild scenes and Bain celebrated wildly in front of there manager.

On 05/02/2022 at 16:32, citydiehard said:

Nil nil at half time, really poor , should be beating these teams ,worrying that no players came in in January to freshen up the squad,will just drop down the league now.

We have brought in 2 Nathan and Seth. Admittedly after a bloated squad and some shifting about we could do with a couple of midfielders. Anyone would miss Max but watch this space.......

5 hours ago, Stag Nation said:

Great club?

Arguably. We had a great 35 years of out performing our Angus neighbours when they were stagnating in the lower reaches of the domestic game. We have more league titles than any of them too.

Admittedly we have imploded in dramatic style over the last 4 years.

We are in a rebuilding mode with new committee, new enthusiasm, better community and business links, better involvement with the youth football of Brechin and a successful share issue.

Many involved are learning as we go along with much achieved against some unrealistic (but not much) expectations. I was under no illusion that it might not be year one or indeed year 2 but we are laying foundations and hopeful avoid the boom and bust.

If there was no new committee there is every chance BCFC might not have existed - some folk forget that.

Ah well another season on the highland league thanks to a useless team selection by Kirk always knew he was the wrong appointment.Need to get a decent keeper for next season and play more attacking football as our goal difference is shite compared to the other top sides.

Welcome to the Highland League as they say, its not all plain sailing and thinking you will just turn up and win is a bad mentality to have, like your management team. Teams go to the death here and many a winner, equalizer is scored in the 95th minute ! Your down fall is your own doing, the Broch game at home a great example, you should have been up 6-0 ht. 

Haven't you got one more year at it before the backers / sponsors pull out ? Better get yer skates on or you will be in here forever !!

14 hours ago, Jimmy676 said:

Welcome to the Highland League as they say, its not all plain sailing and thinking you will just turn up and win is a bad mentality to have, like your management team. Teams go to the death here and many a winner, equalizer is scored in the 95th minute ! Your down fall is your own doing, the Broch game at home a great example, you should have been up 6-0 ht. 

Haven't you got one more year at it before the backers / sponsors pull out ? Better get yer skates on or you will be in here forever !!

What a pile of nonsensical pish. 

12 hours ago, theoriginalhedge said:

You make it out to be a bad thing . It certainly is more pleasurable than trudging round some of the more inhospitable shitholes in the central belt. 

The seaside leagues make a pleasant change of scenery as well, until you're stuck there.

You're never going to return though champ. It's the end of a long and utterly pointless cul-de-sac for you. 

greggy.png.f5fc42fb214fc88c1833fad45fb31781.png

Edited by vikingTON

12 hours ago, virginton said:

The seaside leagues make a pleasant change of scenery as well, until you're stuck there.

You're never going to return though champ. It's the end of a long and utterly pointless cul-de-sac for you. 

greggy.png.f5fc42fb214fc88c1833fad45fb31781.png

Time will tell.  We will just enjoy the journey .  

If by pointless you mean continually punching above our weight for the best part of 40 years and managing to be relevant enough to remain living in your head then I will happily accept that. 

Keep dropping in for a chat though. Our door is always open . 

Were you "punching above your weight" by recording zero wins and the worst points total of all time in the second tier - a mere handful of years before a similar Angus club mounted a title challenge at the same level? Absolutely not.

Were you "punching above your weight" by recording three consecutive relegations despite the pandemic bailing you out? Absolutely not. 

You were stinking the place out. 

The good news is that you'll now never be back, and so your revisionism about plucky wee Brechin's exploits can be saved for your endless series of bus trips to Wick. 

Thanks for playing anyway.

d05646ed-d051-4d76-b7bc-bf6935431cca.thumb.jpg.a78f0cc5d39c6f8e55caeb0ffbfaf84c.jpg

24 minutes ago, virginton said:

Were you "punching above your weight" by recording zero wins and the worst points total of all time in the second tier - a mere handful of years before a similar Angus club mounted a title challenge at the same level? Absolutely not.

Were you "punching above your weight" by recording three consecutive relegations despite the pandemic bailing you out? Absolutely not. 

You were stinking the place out. 

The good news is that you'll now never be back, and so your revisionism about plucky wee Brechin's exploits can be saved for your endless series of bus trips to Wick. 

Thanks for playing anyway.

d05646ed-d051-4d76-b7bc-bf6935431cca.thumb.jpg.a78f0cc5d39c6f8e55caeb0ffbfaf84c.jpg

Aye that implosion was as embarrassing for us  , but as incredible as it sounds , the club has come out stronger after a complete overhaul . A new committee and board of directors , a very successful supporter share issue , a rise in season ticket sales, bigger home crowds and a whole new community input  has put us in a far better position to move forward. 

Far from being defeated I think you will find that the fighting spirit is still there.