The Brechin City Thread

Hedgecutter

2 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Jackson not a big part of the previous teams that have been relegated and got you into this position?

Aye but Dods and Smith were in charge during that slide .  Jacko had to play as a striker , winger and attacking midfielder all in the same game as everyone else was defending............I say defending in the loosest possible term . 

Brechin City: 'As bad as it gets' as they 'struggle' to contemplate third relegation https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51066521

Re. Pyramid. Great to see how it has expanded the game to allow up and coming ambitious clubs to replace deadwood and grow the game.

Well, not exactly. If the purpose of the Pyramid was to allow more bank-rolled teams from urban centres, with large potential fan-bases, already having senior teams, to progress, then fair play, it has worked.

The alternative is to have rich persons' playthings from the sticks to emulate Brooks Mileson's Gretna.

Maybe the Pyramid system was the fresh air Scottish fitba needed but looking at the situation of relegated Stenny and Brechin set against newcomers Edinburgh City and Cove, something seems out of kilter*.

Shouldn't there be some kind of financial fair play regulations to stop the likes of another Gretna crash and burn, or to avoid killing the senior game in smaller towns and cities?

Hope Brechin get sorted.

*This is not based on any facts, just sentiment.

Edited by Brummo
Gave up on link

Brechin City: 'As bad as it gets' as they 'struggle' to contemplate third relegation https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51066521
Re. Pyramid. Great to see how it has expanded the game to allow up and coming ambitious clubs to replace deadwood and grow the game.
Well, not exactly. If the purpose of the Pyramid was to allow more bank-rolled teams from urban centres, with large potential fan-bases, already having senior teams, to progress, then fair play, it has worked.
The alternative is to have rich persons' playthings from the sticks to emulate Brooks Mileson's Gretna.
Maybe the Pyramid system was the fresh air Scottish fitba needed but looking at the situation of relegated Stenny and Brechin set against newcomers Edinburgh City and Cove, something seems out of kilter*.
Shouldn't there be some kind of financial fair play regulations to stop the likes of another Gretna crash and burn, or to avoid killing the senior game in smaller towns and cities?
Hope Brechin get sorted.

Birthday caird pish. There are plenty of smaller towns that support senior football by putting a competent team on the park; then there are stupid wee glorified social clubs who think it’s okay to tank to an 80 goal conceded season so long as there’s one other crap team in the division (Berwick’s M.O last season) or do nothing to compete at a higher level, try to suck off the teat of larger clubs and set the most embarrassing, all time low points total in the process (Brechin 2017-18). And even when they slump to the bottom of the pile as a result, the crap senior club still gets the luxury of a playoff with the second leg at home, instead of being automatically flushed out of the division as happens in every other league where relegation exists.

So stop blaming big, bad outsiders for the piss-poor decisions that send dung teams to the abyss and have take responsibility for their own actions.

3 minutes ago, virginton said:

Birthday caird pish. There are plenty of smaller towns that support senior football by putting a competent team on the park; then there are stupid wee glorified social clubs who think it’s okay to tank to an 80 goal conceded season so long as there’s one other crap team in the division (Berwick’s M.O last season) or do nothing to compete at a higher level, try to suck off the teat of larger clubs and set the most embarrassing, all time low points total in the process (Brechin 2017-18). And even when they slump to the bottom of the pile as a result, the crap senior club still gets the luxury of a playoff with the second leg at home, instead of being automatically flushed out of the division as happens in every other league where relegation exists.

So stop blaming big, bad outsiders for the piss-poor decisions that send dung teams to the abyss and have take responsibility for their own actions.

You seem such an angry / frustrated wee boy 

4 hours ago, Brummo said:

Hope Brechin get sorted.

So mince like Stenny and Brechin should be allowed to stay in the SPFL because of "tradition" - jesus wept.

The Shire stank the leagues up for almost 2 decades before being rightly relegated, the sooner we have an active pyramid that clears the deadwood out of the SPFL and replaces them with ambitious teams the better.

17 minutes ago, virginton said:

That was one guy's opinion and not an excuse by the way.  We are where we are due to 2 bad managerial appointments on the trot and acts of loyalty to keep  them employed  longer than they should .  For the record we have put many competent teams on the park over the past 40 years or so  and your club even saw us as so much a threat that they paid ridiculous amounts of money to take our better players away. :lol: ( Must be a big team thing to do) . 

Just carry on with your shoulder chip laden obsession with our club if that's what rocks your boat.   We will be fine . The responsibility has been acted upon .  Have a nice day. 

1 hour ago, Junior Pub League said:

So mince like Stenny and Brechin should be allowed to stay in the SPFL because of "tradition" - jesus wept.

The Shire stank the leagues up for almost 2 decades before being rightly relegated, the sooner we have an active pyramid that clears the deadwood out of the SPFL and replaces them with ambitious teams the better.

For years Brechin punched well above their weight and were an excellently run "wee" club.

Your "big" team have achieved precisely nothing* for donkey's, other than Premier League survival and for years as the one senior team in Scotland's third largest city with a big support from the surrounding area, that is nothing to crow about. 

So don't spout nonsense on this league forum, when you clearly don't have a clue, what you are talking about.

*Oh yes, I'd forgotten about the 2013-14 Scottish League Cup, that nobody is still talking about.

Edited by Brummo
Aberdeen FC's only recent success outside of Aberdeenshire Cup.

2 hours ago, theoriginalhedge said:

For the record we have put many competent teams on the park over the past 40 years or so  and your club even saw us as so much a threat that they paid ridiculous amounts of money to take our better players away. :lol: ( Must be a big team thing to do) . 

Just carry on with your shoulder chip laden obsession with our club if that's what rocks your boat.   We will be fine . The responsibility has been acted upon .  Have a nice day. 

Obsession really is the word.  Just an educated guess here, considering this will be VT's experience of following Morton.  Four games unbeaten though.  Record breaking stuff.

BM.PNG.ec9b4380232d20b614999a42d6da491e.PNG

Table.png.61b737e8f942fead89f041c90825d05d.png

giphy.gif&key=008b1be596ddfb51db32ec13dd

1 hour ago, Brummo said:

For years Brechin punched well above their weight and were an excellently run "wee" club.

Indeed.  Compare that to Morton who have been put into admin, have had to play Brechin more times than they care to remember because of their perennial mediocreness, become a laughing stock after losing 10 goals in a Championship-level game (our dung team only managed half that at worst), yet again find themselves playing catch up with one of the Angus social clubs as they're threatened with yet another drop into the seaside leagues, and recently needed a second attempt to see off Brora Rangers after their game at Cappielow.

Watching them him having to delve into the Brechin threads in repeated (and somewhat tired) failed attempts to scrape any moral high ground because he's also a laughing stock in every other club thread is just the cherry on top.  Eta:  Especially on mornings ahead of Morton playing at home.  Minter.

Edited by Hedgecutter

Having seen both sides recently, Brechin City will beat Stenny today.

Stenny are awful, the worst side in the division and their new signings are utter garbage. Greig Spence will do nothing in a relegation dogfight and Wilson has to be one of the worst centre halfs in Scottish football going by his performances last season vs Cowden.  Stenny will finish bottom this season and face the dreaded play off

Brechin were well organised in their games against us this season and in Paul McManus you have a decent striker which will help get you safe. Good luck City

11 minutes ago, CowdenPhil said:

Stenny are awful, the worst side in the division and their new signings are utter garbage. Greig Spence will do nothing in a relegation dogfight and Wilson has to be one of the worst centre halfs in Scottish football going by his performances last season vs Cowden.  Stenny will finish bottom this season and face the dreaded play off

Brechin were well organised in their games against us this season and in Paul McManus you have a decent striker which will help get you safe. Good luck City

I think the problem so far is having some form of organisation in the midfield but having a distinct lack of goal threat to reflect it.  McManus might be a decent enough finisher, but he's a foot or two too short to deal with any of the long ball efforts effectively.

Here's hoping we'll be fielding a more settled team than Stenny (that's my pint half full attitude given our near lack of transfer activity).

17 minutes ago, CowdenPhil said:

I’m intrigued to how the game will go today. We played Brechin last week and for 60 minutes they matched Cove and didn’t look like a bottom of the league side. Last 30 minutes they disintegrated slightly.

As you say McManus is an accomplished striker at our level and I was impressed with Olly Hamilton and his speed. 

If Brechin can get a couple of astute signings in January using the fighting fund then they’ve got every chance of a stronger second half of the season and avoiding 10th spot. There’s not much difference in quality of teams from 6th-10th really.

If I was a Brechin fan I’d be disappointed in the transfer activity so far and would be expecting the club to be doing a bit more. Next few weeks could well be vital to the clubs longer term future/existence in SPFL. Would hate to see them drop down to HL

Edited by CoveRangers1922

More players coming, just could nae get them over the line for today.

Considering, it would appear Stenny have shop there bolt in the transfer market today is likely as good as it gets for them.

Am anticipating midfield to b sorted as constantly bypass it.

We will come again and a few weeks before next game allows time to work with newbies.

8 hours ago, whereismillar said:

that lad hamilton  no7 he looks a player  .

Aye , he has come on leaps and bounds in recent weeks. I only wish our defence had the same desire to improve their performance. Hill and Page spent a lot of their time with their hands on their knees , breathing out their arse.