Peterhead 2019-20

Ryan Conroy does have ability. The only problem is, while it's all well and good being able to make a world cup pass, the game almost always completely passes him by. At this level you can get away with a lack of ability by sheer hard work, energy and putting yourself about. While I don't think he doesn't try, Conroy doesn't possess these skills so he struggles to impose himself on the game or make an impact as a result. He has the odd game where he absolutely strolls it and nobody can touch him but it really is once in a blue moon sort of stuff. As alluded to above he's got no defensive ability or discipline so he's not the sort of player you want in your team when you're backs to the wall or struggling at the wrong end of the table. Think at Airdrie that manifested itself mostly in 2017/18. A squad of youngsters and loanees, mainly battling to avoid relegation for most of the season, that was probably Conroy's worst season in a diamond. As an experienced player you'd have expected a lot more from him but he didn't step up at all. For a supposed set piece specialist they were invariably dreadful for the most part. Despite what the P&J article says, he really doesn't have the legs to play on the wing or at full-back anymore. He was badly exposed there and almost cost us 3 points when he got moved there one game so I wouldn't expect him to be the next Jamie Stevenson in that regard. 

He'll almost definitely score a 30-yard free-kick against us this season though. 

Ryan Conroy does have ability. The only problem is, while it's all well and good being able to make a world cup pass, the game almost always completely passes him by. At this level you can get away with a lack of ability by sheer hard work, energy and putting yourself about. While I don't think he doesn't try, Conroy doesn't possess these skills so he struggles to impose himself on the game or make an impact as a result. He has the odd game where he absolutely strolls it and nobody can touch him but it really is once in a blue moon sort of stuff. As alluded to above he's got no defensive ability or discipline so he's not the sort of player you want in your team when you're backs to the wall or struggling at the wrong end of the table. Think at Airdrie that manifested itself mostly in 2017/18. A squad of youngsters and loanees, mainly battling to avoid relegation for most of the season, that was probably Conroy's worst season in a diamond. As an experienced player you'd have expected a lot more from him but he didn't step up at all. For a supposed set piece specialist they were invariably dreadful for the most part. Despite what the P&J article says, he really doesn't have the legs to play on the wing or at full-back anymore. He was badly exposed there and almost cost us 3 points when he got moved there one game so I wouldn't expect him to be the next Jamie Stevenson in that regard. 

He'll almost definitely score a 30-yard free-kick against us this season though. 

Ryan Conroy is pish and finished the boy is a waste of space jogging around the park like he’s Lionel Messi and when was the last time he scored a free kick or hit a decent corner for us?

Aye heard it was coming, new training night does not suit his business. Willie has looked after himself very well & fitness certainly not a problem. Some will be happy enough to see him go but personally thought he always had a bit of class & will be hard to replace. Hopefully any wages freed up can be used in the required areas to improve the squad. Don't know if Willie will continue playing but would wish him & his family all the best & thank him for his time with us.

Just read that Gibson travels up from Dumfries to play for you. I’m certain when he left Dumbarton he claimed the travelling was too much.

In reality he was raging about not getting enough game time. Left us then started tweeting like a wee bitter bitch about some fans opinion of him.

20 hours ago, doulikefish said:

Wullie Gibson is away

Doesn't make up for Andrew Luck retiring but good news anyway.  He had a couple of good games in his time with us but never lived up to expectations.  Good luck to him with whatever he is doing in business.

Edited by strichener

Hi folks, interested to hear what the general feeling was towards Russel McLean?

He has had a difficult start to his team with the Mo. Seems to be very much a confidence player and it seems this is very low at the moment. Based on what i have seen so far i can't see him coming good at all.

He scored a lot of goals for you lot which at the moment is hard to imagine.

Russell took quite a while to gain some support. Always seemed to have a bit of a chip on his shoulder & was just beginning to win some over before leaving. He scored a few for us but certainly not a lot. Did not use his height at all & was out jumped by much smaller players. A frustrating player that looked as if he could develop into a decent player but needs to get himself to work harder when things are not going for him.. He certainly is not another Chris Templeman.

1 hour ago, GableEnder21 said:

Hi folks, interested to hear what the general feeling was towards Russel McLean?

He has had a difficult start to his team with the Mo. Seems to be very much a confidence player and it seems this is very low at the moment. Based on what i have seen so far i can't see him coming good at all.

He scored a lot of goals for you lot which at the moment is hard to imagine.

2 minutes ago, peternapper said:

Russell took quite a while to gain some support. Always seemed to have a bit of a chip on his shoulder & was just beginning to win some over before leaving. He scored a few for us but certainly not a lot. Did not use his height at all & was out jumped by much smaller players. A frustrating player that looked as if he could develop into a decent player but needs to get himself to work harder when things are not going for him.. He certainly is not another Chris Templeman.

When he first joined us he was terrible. Couldn't head a ball despite his obvious height advantage, couldn't control a ball and generally looked a poor signing.

Then he seemed to come good and started scoring a few so maybe it is a confidence thing.

Always been a bit marmite with the supporters but I think most were happy to see him sign again for last season. Wasn't quite so good again and threw a strop when we signed Sutherland and demanded a transfer which ultimately cost him a league winners medal.

Montrose offered him a deal at the start of last season probably based on the season before and were happy to take him in January. Always thought he could fit into the Templeman type role at Montrose but would definitely need to work a lot harder to be anything like Templeman.

16 hours ago, blueone said:

When he first joined us he was terrible. Couldn't head a ball despite his obvious height advantage, couldn't control a ball and generally looked a poor signing.

Then he seemed to come good and started scoring a few so maybe it is a confidence thing.

Always been a bit marmite with the supporters but I think most were happy to see him sign again for last season. Wasn't quite so good again and threw a strop when we signed Sutherland and demanded a transfer which ultimately cost him a league winners medal.

Montrose offered him a deal at the start of last season probably based on the season before and were happy to take him in January. Always thought he could fit into the Templeman type role at Montrose but would definitely need to work a lot harder to be anything like Templeman.

Interesting reading. He has been extremely disappointing for us but the biggest issue i have with him is he doesn't look like he cares. You would have thought it would have the opposite in that he would be busting a gut to show the fans that he cares and that he wants to turn it around but it's not been the case. 

I got the same impression of him when he was with PFC.

Possibly the way hes made ? Some of the taller guys look slow and cumbersome which leads people to think they dont give a shit?

Maybe he's the type who needs constant reassurance? Who knows what goes on inside a head?

He did have a few decent games for us, but I wouldn't think you'd need more than the fingers of one hand to count 'em!

One mitigating factor is the fact he's still relatively young at 21. Time on his side.

1 minute ago, DumbartonTheSons said:

He can be pretty decent at times (or certainly was for us a couple of seasons ago) then other times he hides. Typical winger I suppose.

I’d reckon he’d still have enough in his locker to be a decent acquisition at that level.

He's been playing in the middle of the park for the last few years. I'm keen to find out from someone who's seen him recently what kind of player we're getting.

Gibson has played in a number of positions for Peterhead during the last couple of years; he quite often deputised for Paddy Boyle, who picked up a number of injuries last season, at left back. More often, he's been used both centrally (advanced and deeper) and out wide. How much success he'll enjoy with Stenny will depend on where he's used and how you're playing; if you get the ball down and have the better of teams whilst minimising his defensive responsibilities, his technical ability will shine through. As has been noted, his set pieces are exemplary, but he can be a wee bit petulant at times. If McMenamin is to persist with a 3-5-2 (or similar) then he'd probably be best-deployed at the tip of a midfield triangle. How is Dylan Dykes settling in, @Francesc Fabregas? He was in my year at school and the only previous reports I've had on him have come from a Morton fan. The people of Greenock weren't overly-enamoured with him, seemingly.

2 minutes ago, the_bully_wee said:

Gibson has played in a number of positions for Peterhead during the last couple of years; he quite often deputised for Paddy Boyle, who picked up a number of injuries last season, at left back. More often, he's been used both centrally (advanced and deeper) and out wide. How much success he'll enjoy with Stenny will depend on where he's used and how you're playing; if you get the ball down and have the better of teams whilst minimising his defensive responsibilities, his technical ability will shine through. As has been noted, his set pieces are exemplary, but he can be a wee bit petulant at times. If McMenamin is to persist with a 3-5-2 (or similar) then he'd probably be best-deployed at the tip of a midfield triangle. How is Dylan Dykes settling in, @Francesc Fabregas? He was in my year at school and the only previous reports I've had on him have come from a Morton fan. The people of Greenock weren't overly-enamoured with him, seemingly.

I don't know what to make of Dylan Dykes yet. He's handy enough in possession, always willing to take it, and he's quite nimble carrying the ball forward but he does nothing without it and doesn't offer much defensively. He seems fine in a three-man midfield but has looked lost when part of a two. He'll probably have a decent career at part-time level but I don't think he's quite what Greenock Morton are looking for.

1 minute ago, Francesc Fabregas said:

I don't know what to make of Dylan Dykes yet. He's handy enough in possession, always willing to take it, and he's quite nimble carrying the ball forward but he does nothing without it and doesn't offer much defensively. He seems fine in a three-man midfield but has looked lost when part of a two. He'll probably have a decent career at part-time level but I don't think he's quite what Greenock Morton are looking for.

He sounds exactly like the Dylan Dykes I played indoor fives with in PE for years; back then, I didn't think there was anything whatsoever to be taken from his style of play versus jobber goths wearing leather boots, but here we are. Pretty much your standard pro-youth midfielder, then. A trio of Gibson, Dykes and a more defensively capable type (McKernon?) might have a nice blend about it.

4 minutes ago, the_bully_wee said:

He sounds exactly like the Dylan Dykes I played indoor fives with in PE for years; back then, I didn't think there was anything whatsoever to be taken from his style of play versus jobber goths wearing leather boots, but here we are. Pretty much your standard pro-youth midfielder, then. A trio of Gibson, Dykes and a more defensively capable type (McKernon?) might have a nice blend about it.

I don't want to derail the Peterhead thread with discussion about Stenhousemuir's mediocre midfield but Jamie McKernon's similar - good on the ball, poor without it (albeit you can't fault his effort). This is why we've switched to a midfield three, sticking an extra player in there to compensate for the lack of defensive nous within the team.