Rangers' Wee Spot in Europe - Season 2023/24

Went to my pit after the whistle lastnight, but just on the football, if you remove the tense semi-final atmosphere and commentators trying to ramp that up and just look at the game itself, Rangers were in full control of that game and never, ever looked like going out. 

2 minutes ago, GordonD said:

Only a few days ago the English press were playing up the idea of having four English sides in the finals. They ended up with just the one.

See the source image

To be fair, the English sides outwith City and Liverpool are as shite as everyone else.

56 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

Yep.

I remember he was up in the TV gantry in St Etienne 1998 (in his hilarious tartan suit !) as we wandered past to our seats. 
He was shouting and waving and obviously supporting Scotland  then as well - I dont really see the difference tbqhwy.

McCoist is also one of the most even handed and likeable pundits out there. 

And he rinsed the Newco for tens of thousands of pounds while he was on garden leave 

Total legend 

Hope the glesga Sevco get pumped in the final and the Spanish polis are now deep in practice for Whacking Day 

Edited by Frank Grimes

11 hours ago, Ro Sham Bo said:

Like most on here, no fan of them or Celtic, but credit where its due, that was some effort. 

Yep, totally agree. I actually feel sick that I'm not raging.  In all seriousness though, the achievement of making ANY European final in 2022 is incredible. 

I'm also not buying the "second rate European tournament" I've seen spouted, the last 5 clubs to win it have been Villareal, Sevilla, Chelsea, Atletico and Man Utd.  Any competition that grants passage to the UCL groups and a European super cup certainly isn't "second rate".

7 hours ago, Left Back said:

Never understand why anyone wants any Scottish team to lose in Europe.

You cannot understand why anyone wants two certain Scottish clubs to get pumped each and every time they play, no matter where it is? Domestic football, European football, or, erm, glamour friendlies in Australia? You don’t need to agree with it, but surely you can understand it. I simply cannot list all the reasons why many of us think that way. There’s not enough time, Div cannot spare the bandwidth, and it would break the internet.

Edited by pozbaird

9 hours ago, KnightswoodVanBear said:

Yes. It was unprofessional, apparently 😂

I’ve zero issues with how McCoist celebrated, i also bet the same people weren’t upset with this didn’t give a f**k when Faddy and i think Fletcher were going mental when we qualified for the Euros.

Take the fan emotion out of football which McCoist ultimately is then you kill what is special about the game. 

Thought about this and Rangers reaching this final has to be applauded and overall it’s good thing for Scotland and Celtic too. Celtic and Rangers are each other’s measuring stick so whilst we probably get a bit of a by this year with it being Anges 1st season, us being better than them in the league yet them reaching a final shows there should be no excuses for us on that front next season.

Its far from a gimme for Rangers though, Frankfurt seem to be all in for this and their Euro results are every bit as impressive as Rangers so anyone looking at their league position and thinking it’s easier may find themselves in for a shock.

Edited by Jinky67

McCoist is a Rangers fan, of course he's going to lose his composure for a bit.

With that said, I'm not a fan of this new thing where all co-commentators are fans of the club they're commentating on.  Sky, BT and the BBC are at it these days.  It basically turns it into the club's TV channel for the duration of the game, and for a bit afterwards.

For the majority of my adult life I’ve been fully in the ‘supporting anyone to beat the OF in Europe’ camp. But recently I’ve had a change of heart. Domestically, Rangers progressing this far is indeed a disaster for the rest of Scottish football as it simply widens the already massive gap. Internationally however it is a good thing, it raises the profile of the Scottish game and of course helps boost the coefficient. It’s a double edged sword. Do we continue hoping both the OF consistently fail in Europe just so they get less money or do we hope they boost the coefficient which potentially opens the door to the rest of us diddies? With the Conference League now a thing, we can hopefully watch other Scottish teams take a grip of that tournament and make a bit of money.

The way I see it is the system is already utterly fucked. Even during the years following Rangers demotion and both the OF were shite in Europe, our coefficient was crap, the gap was still to big for anyone to catch Celtic. If there is ever going to be any change in the domestic fortunes of Scottish clubs there would need to be some sort of rules put in place, like salary caps or something. It will never happen. That leaves us hoping some sugar daddy buys another Scottish club and basically buys domestic dominance like the OF have done. As I’ve said before I’m really surprised that nobody has done it yet. Competing with the OF requires very little investment compared to buying a club in the Barclays. It wouldn’t take much to get another club challenging the top two, and once you’ve won the league and entered the champions league you are already earning your money back. There’s such an easy gateway to the champions league/European football in Scotland yet folk continue to buy English clubs and spend fucking millions on nothing. Everton for example have spent £500 million and are on the verge of relegation. Now imagine if someone pumped £500 million into a Scottish top flight club. Guaranteed they are challenging for the title. They’d probably win it.

Went to my pit after the whistle lastnight, but just on the football, if you remove the tense semi-final atmosphere and commentators trying to ramp that up and just look at the game itself, Rangers were in full control of that game and never, ever looked like going out. 
Really?

I thought rangers started brilliantly and deserved their lead.

But in the second half, with Aribo off, Leipzig controlled the game. Wave after wave and eventually they scored.

At that point rangers couldn't get out their own half. The goal comes from a free kick just pay the half way line. You just don't see teams pumping the ball into the box from there in modern football (at that level, anyway). It was proper old-school desperation and it worked a treat.

But for me, that goal was very much against the run of play.

20 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

McCoist is a Rangers fan, of course he's going to lose his composure for a bit.

With that said, I'm not a fan of this new thing where all co-commentators are fans of the club they're commentating on.  Sky, BT and the BBC are at it these days.  It basically turns it into the club's TV channel for the duration of the game, and for a bit afterwards.

This.

I think collectively Sky, BT et al have altered what their definition of the job of the analysts is. Particularly in British games.

There is a drive to create clickbait content for social media. So watching Scholes, Neville or Keane go off on one about Man Utd or McCoist celebrating a Rangers win is exactly what they are after in terms of content they can churn out going "wow - things got emotional tonight! Do you agree with so and so. Comment below".

I notice a big difference in the analysis for other european leagues where the focus of the analyst is actually analysing the game and essentially coaching the viewer at home. Which is way more preferable for a neutral.

2 minutes ago, Jacky1990 said:

This.

I think collectively Sky, BT et al have altered what their definition of the job of the analysts is. Particularly in British games.

There is a drive to create clickbait content for social media. So watching Scholes, Neville or Keane go off on one about Man Utd or McCoist celebrating a Rangers win is exactly what they are after in terms of content they can churn out going "wow - things got emotional tonight! Do you agree with so and so. Comment below".

I notice a big difference in the analysis for other european leagues where the focus of the analyst is actually analysing the game and essentially coaching the viewer at home. Which is way more preferable for a neutral.

You have to admit.  It's is highly amusing watching Keane and Neville chuck their toys out the pram saying how shite ManU are and tearing into whoever is their manager that month.

2 minutes ago, Jacky1990 said:

This.

I think the podcast market ate their chips on that kind of analysis though. If I want an in depth view of European football, I’m going to something like the Ramble’s On the Continent pod, because they’ve got three experts without much editorialising discussing it. Or to a more specialised Bundesliga/La Liga/Serie A focussed thing instead.

1 minute ago, Left Back said:

You have to admit.  It's is highly amusing watching Keane and Neville chuck their toys out the pram saying how shite ManU are and tearing into whoever is their manager that month.

Yeah, I'm as guilty as anyone for getting the popcorn out when Man Utd have been pumped and Keane and Neville are in the studio.

Its entertaining. No doubt. But it rarely counts as post match analysis of where the game was won or lost.

31 minutes ago, jamamafegan said:

For the majority of my adult life I’ve been fully in the ‘supporting anyone to beat the OF in Europe’ camp. But recently I’ve had a change of heart. Domestically, Rangers progressing this far is indeed a disaster for the rest of Scottish football as it simply widens the already massive gap. Internationally however it is a good thing, it raises the profile of the Scottish game and of course helps boost the coefficient. It’s a double edged sword. Do we continue hoping both the OF consistently fail in Europe just so they get less money or do we hope they boost the coefficient which potentially opens the door to the rest of us diddies? With the Conference League now a thing, we can hopefully watch other Scottish teams take a grip of that tournament and make a bit of money.

The way I see it is the system is already utterly fucked. Even during the years following Rangers demotion and both the OF were shite in Europe, our coefficient was crap, the gap was still to big for anyone to catch Celtic. If there is ever going to be any change in the domestic fortunes of Scottish clubs there would need to be some sort of rules put in place, like salary caps or something. It will never happen. That leaves us hoping some sugar daddy buys another Scottish club and basically buys domestic dominance like the OF have done. As I’ve said before I’m really surprised that nobody has done it yet. Competing with the OF requires very little investment compared to buying a club in the Barclays. It wouldn’t take much to get another club challenging the top two, and once you’ve won the league and entered the champions league you are already earning your money back. There’s such an easy gateway to the champions league/European football in Scotland yet folk continue to buy English clubs and spend fucking millions on nothing. Everton for example have spent £500 million and are on the verge of relegation. Now imagine if someone pumped £500 million into a Scottish top flight club. Guaranteed they are challenging for the title. They’d probably win it.

"demotion"