Rangers' Wee Spot in Europe - Season 2023/24

I think that is a pretty good draw for Rangers. Braga and RB Leipzig/Atalanta are definitely winnable ties, especially with the home leg second. Avoiding West Ham, Barca and Lyon is a big result for them imo.

Good draw for them. Neither Braga then Leipzig or Atalanta are as good as Dortmund so no reason they can't make the final. The thing that makes this run more impressive than the 2008 snoozefest is that they're not shitfesting teams and getting through on extra time/penalties like they did then. They're just outscoring them.

Just now, Lex said:

Good draw for them. Neither Braga then Leipzig or Atalanta are as good as Dortmund so no reason they can't make the final. The thing that makes this run more impressive than the 2008 snoozefest is that they're not shitfesting teams and getting through on extra time/penalties like they did then. They're just outscoring them.

You had a certain admiration for the sheer awfulness of the football played by the '08 team.

Like, it was completely unbearable for a neutral to watch.

The snotter bubbles from every single team they knocked out on the way to Manchester were mildly amusing though.

It’s written in the stars, isn’t it? Rangers getting more luck than a team deserves in a decade within half a season, and the final being in Seville. It gives their fans the opportunity to say that 500,000 of them turned up in the city to outdo “them”.

32 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Rangers getting more luck than a team deserves in a decade within half a season

What on earth are you talking about? We're one of the top scoring teams in the competition and there can't be any doubt that we deserved to get through our group and past Dortmund. 

10 minutes ago, DMCs said:

What on earth are you talking about? We're one of the top scoring teams in the competition and there can't be any doubt that we deserved to get through our group and past Dortmund. 

I think we're at the stage where VAR returning correct decisions and ruling out offside goals is considered lucky... 

Very winnable tie indeed! We’re in with a fighting chance of reaching a semi final of the Europa which would be a great achievement.

Definitely weathered a bit of a storm for periods last night but getting our name into the hat for the next round was the main thing and we’ve done that by being clinical with the chances we’ve created over the 2 legs.

Some atmosphere in the stadium and their tifo display was cracking.

2 hours ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

You had a certain admiration for the sheer awfulness of the football played by the '08 team.

Like, it was completely unbearable for a neutral to watch.

The snotter bubbles from every single team they knocked out on the way to Manchester were mildly amusing though.

Walter Smith got a team with Kirk Broadfoot playing a huge role in it to a European Final! 

In 2008 we all enjoyed the road to Manchester yet some of these Rangers supporters slate diddy clubs who sit in at Ibrox and don’t give Kent , Morelos etc the space to exploit! You piss with the cock  you’re given !

In 2008 we knocked out Portuguese opposition in Quarter final. Sporting Lisbon 

2008 Semi final we knocked out Italian opponents. Fiorentina 

It certainly was the best possible draw but far from a certainty 

Edited by AB1872

3 hours ago, Lex said:

Their defence has never been as bad as the opponents' defences

2 hours ago, Melanius Mullarkay said:

Imagine  a Sevco WHam final. 

Danny Dyer 😍

Rangers fans would be on the Edge of Heaven if that happened.  Morelos would be telling the supporters I'm your man and the buses would be telling the driver to wake me up before you gogo.

a0c107d17d773593e72bc61b720ecdaf.jpg

Edited by UsedToGoToCentralPark

3 hours ago, DMCs said:

Red Star scored three as tight as you can get goals at Ibrox, and having watched the highlights could have easily have had seven last night. That’s what I mean by luck.