Rangers' Wee Spot in Europe - Season 2023/24

1 minute ago, G51 said:

If we win next week, Gerrard will become the Rangers manager with the most European wins in history (24, Smith has 23).

Insane.

To be fair to Smith he was regularly playing in Champions League against the really big guns.

That's not to put down Gerrards record but actually to show how impressive Smiths record was. 

Anyway this auld yin is now definitely going to sleep.

Night all.

12 minutes ago, WilliamBragg said:

To be fair to Smith he was regularly playing in Champions League against the really big guns.

That's not to put down Gerrards record but actually to show how impressive Smiths record was. 

Anyway this auld yin is now definitely going to sleep.

Night all.

He was aye, but Smith also had a run to a European final and was a bawhair away from a second.

In that context it’s seriously impressive. 

Good win and to score 4 away in Europe can never be sniffed at. However conceding 3 goals is worrying and it could have been more. It was one of those games it could have been 5-5. 

One foot in the next round but I think there's life in this tie yet, who knows what the 2nd leg will hold. 

Hopefully Tav and Roofe aren't out for too long. I thought Balogun done a pretty good job covering at RB. 

Also pleased to see Barisic on the pens though the first one was poor the second was top drawer.

There's no reason why Rangers can't go deep into this.  They seem to be able to score away from home, something you couldn't say about Scottish teams for the last 25 years.

Plus, it's pretty much guaranteed they'll get a penalty every game.

40 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

There's no reason why Rangers can't go deep into this.  They seem to be able to score away from home, something you couldn't say about Scottish teams for the last 25 years.

Plus, it's pretty much guaranteed they'll get a penalty every game.

I think we play with a bit more freedom in Europe, and generally have a little bit more space to work in in the final third.  Gerrard seems to trust the team to play with a high press and hound the opposition for the ball from their own 18 yard line, but also trusts that the defence will do the job when we get caught on the counter.  After losing 3 goals it seems like a ridiculous thing to say, but the defence (generally) did it's job well last night.  Balogun should be singled out for praise as he's put in a marvelous shift in Tav's position afetr coming on.  He can't cross the ball for toffee though.  

44 minutes ago, KnightswoodBear said:

After losing 3 goals it seems like a ridiculous thing to say, but the defence (generally) did it's job well last night.  

Antwerp's third was a fucking beauty of a finish. Very little has been said about just how good a finish it was.