The Famous Aberdeen’s European Tour 19/20

Frank Grimes

Their keeper saved that from being an absolute fucking hounding.

It feels distinctly Scottish to have a team dominate, have an opposition pull off wonder save after wonder save, concede a scabby late away goal, and then huff and puff their way to a 1-0 loss away and find themselves out.

Guest Bob Mahelp

Logan had an utter brain fart. 

10 seconds left...instead of booting it.....he tries to play a clever wee 20 pass at the edge of the box straight to the RoPs player. To compound that, he then falls asleep when the through ball comes in.

There's simply no accounting for shite awful, half arsed thinking like that. 

Edited by Bob Mahelp

Guest Bob Mahelp
1 minute ago, RandomGuy. said:

Their keeper saved that from being an absolute fucking hounding.

It feels distinctly Scottish to have a team dominate, have an opposition pull off wonder save after wonder save, concede a scabby late away goal, and then huff and puff their way to a 1-0 loss away and find themselves out.

You're really delighted though about that last second goal, aren't you ? 

Edited by Bob Mahelp

1 minute ago, Bob Mahelp said:

You're really delighted though about that last second goal, aren't you ? 

No, any Scottish team who does well in Europe, outwith the Old Firm, is fine for me.

If teams like Aberdeen and Kilmarnock can do the hard graft, it should mean the next time we qualify it'll be in the later rounds, and that lowers the chance of us embarrassing ourselves against goat herders.

So lazy from Logan, and not for the first time, but should really have been about four clear by then - Cosgrove particularly profligate, despite getting into some good positions.

I might have been prematurely dismissive of Gallagher. It will be interesting to see how he shapes up against better teams, but definitely saw enough to revise my rather hasty prediction of five appearances. Hedges also impressive. McGinn doing McGinn things - best player on the park. 

Plenty to be positive about, but only have ourselves to blame for not being in cruise control. Should just about have enough in Finland, but they will be right up for it now. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
Just now, wastecoatwilly said:

Fecking last kick of the ball tae,great wee reverse ball thou.

Set up by Logan. 

They were a junior team. What Logan did with literally seconds left was beyond belief. 

Played like we were 4-0 up instead of 2. We had a very inexperienced team out at the end but Logan especially should know better. That said, we should have more than enough to see them off in Finland.

Overall a fairly sharp performance for the first competitive game. Hedges and McGinn were very impressive. Niall’s goal was sublime and shows he still has a lot to offer. Gallagher was lively but his end product could have been better imo, promising start though. Ferguson stepped up pretty well to being the elder statesman in midfield at just 19. Defence decent despite the late lapse.

Have more to do in the away leg than we should do but we really shouldn’t be struggling out there, given tonight’s game.

Mcginn showed his class at times, the most talented player on the pitch.

liked the look of Hedges, has plenty ability. Gallagher was very busy and is a good link up player with a bit of pace and good movement. Maybe not quite the skills to produce the end product but  a good wee player none the less.

overall was a good performance with plenty football on the deck. Really should have been 3 or 4 up and got casual in the last few minutes.

for me, the team started to lose  something as soon as Hedges went off and the momentum goes a little with each sub after that.

on the ball the team were decent, off the ball I thought we were poor especially first half. Not closing down and pressing as a team with any urgency at all and looked vulnerable through the middle of midfield. In all honesty, they are poor and should be taken care of next week regardless of the late goal.

Ten games undefeated at home in Europe but only two clean sheets (Ventspils and Shkendija). Conceded one goal on seven occasions. Conceding at home has effectively put us out against Burnley, Apollon, Maribor and Kairat and nearly cost us against Siroki and Fola. Need to cut this sloppy shite out.

SAKES.

Way to take the shine off what was a pretty impressive performance. On the plus side, pretty much all our players had good games overall, and we still have a lead to take to Finland, however the away goal’s fucked us in the past.

The formation was wild. A 4-1-4-1 with Ferguson as a one-man midfield behind four wingers and Big Sammy C. We played some glorious stuff at times, and both goals were really well worked. McGinn particularly brilliant first half, but Hedges and Wright showed a lot of promise.

We did, however, look wide open pretty much all match and we had to do a lot of defending against what was a pretty poor team. That’s the trade-off you make when you play 5 attackers though. Ferguson had a lot to do and (mostly) did it impeccably. Gallagher was surprising, good in the tackle and a real driving force through the middle. Poor shooting though. I thought Cosgrove did really well overall with his holdup play, it really complimented the four runners beside him. McKenna and Devlin won everything in the air too.

And then we fall asleep at the very end and put ourselves under unnecessary pressure next week. I’ve got no clue what happened, by the end of the game the attacking mids were taking so long to get back to defend that they got so much space. One pass cuts open the defence and a nice finish does us.

Reguero was shit hot all game and saved it from being out of sight.

Overall it’s got to be a positive though. That’s a team who are match fit scoring late against a team on the first game of the season. We should have enough to see them off out in Finland. Fingers very much crossed.

Safe voyage to all the hardy souls heading north for next Thursday.