Stellaboz Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 Don't rate Duffy at all. It's barely a step up from Ferguson. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Moonster Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 8 hours ago, Bully Wee Clyde FC said: Wasn't exactly carried shoulder-high through the streets of Dumbarton was he? Actually, after his first 6 months he sort of was. He came in, shored up a leaky defence (by adding Brian McLean, coincidentally) and we had arguably one of the best strikeforces in the League in Gallagher and Dom Thomas. Football was decent and he stopped what looked like an inevitable slide to League 2 under Aitken. The problems came when he had to build his own team. Gallagher went to Airdrie after being offered a pittance and most others followed him elsewhere as Duffy thought they were overpaid. We ended up with exit trial lads and Rob Jones and watched probably the worst season of football I've ever watched. Nobody was particularly sad to see him go at that point but IMO we got the next appointment wrong, which is why we were relegated. We were also left with 1 player on the books which didn't help any incoming manager. I reckon he'll get you a few results, he certainly made an immediate impact with us (we humped East Fife 4-0 in his first game in charge) but whether he can keep you up is another story. Certainly makes our cup tie a bit more interesting. 2 minutes ago, Stellaboz said: Don't rate Duffy at all. It's barely a step up from Ferguson. That's pish. Ferguson is a fraud who has only ever succeeded when chucking money around. Duffy actually has a clue, he's just reaching the end of his time in the modern game. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jan Vojáček Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 9 hours ago, Ocelot1877 said: I guess one positive is that Dumbarton never got relegated when he was there and went straight down after he left. Maybe he can get the players fighting and battling for points. Who knows, sometimes you need to look for the positives even if there aren’t many. That is true. Albeit in the Covid season we were one goal away from being taken to extra time and potentially relegated by 10 man Edinburgh City. Duffy did an absolutely terrific job with Stevie Aitken's squad. So he might be able to get a tune out of this Clyde squad which, although not great, isn't horrific either. Aitken's squad did include Mango Barr, Cammy Ballantyne, (a fit) Ross Forbes, Calum Gallagher and Dom Thomas mind you. It was that summer when he lost almost every single player that things started to go wrong. He was dreadful at being able to keep players, and he rarely signed anyone who got you excited. He liked to pay low for 'rough diamonds' but you'll know all about that from his time with you before. The football in his second season was pretty poor to watch, but the results were fine. The football in the Covid season is the worst I've ever been subjected to. We scored 14 goals in 22 games. And three of them came in the final game of the season against Peterhead. It was absolutely brutal. I wouldn't be shocked to see him keep you guys up. But if you keep him longer than the summer then it'll probably be a mistake. Good luck to him! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Bully Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 If this is the difference between L1 and L2 next year (and i think it might be), it’s probably the right answer. We had organised teams under Duffy. Never all that exciting, but getting us into the playoffs with a team where John Sweeney was the standout shows what he can do with limited resource. The current squad is poor, but still man for man better than anything he has worked with at CLyde before. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TamClyde Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 10 hours ago, Clyde01 said: I honestly can’t believe this, we’ve sacked Danny primarily for poor recruitment and employed the guy who signed some of the worst players I’ve ever seen. Bad enough the same shite players like Lyon reappearing now the same shite managers. I’ve tried to persevere through this shit show of a season but this is the final straw. Danny Lennon wasn't sacked for poor recruitment, he was sacked for loosing 9 games in a row. Hope this helps. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaz Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 Jim Duffy!? Have I woken up in 2005? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ludo*1 Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 (edited) Duffy is the most experienced manager currently working in Scottish football. He knows the club, it's in a bad way and he was looking for a last hurrah. On the face of it, it's hard to fault the logic in it but then I'm not a Clyde fan who was looking for something a bit more exciting which is understandable. Edited November 8, 2022 by Ludo*1 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
O'Kelly Isley III Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 (edited) I'm now kinda glad I'm missing the Cup tie. Scotland's Sam Allardyce facing off against its Helenio Herrera, Enjoy. Edited November 8, 2022 by O'Kelly Isley III 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
haufdaft Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 At least our Head of Football and our new manager will be pulling in the same direction.For example, both thought Rob Jones was a decent striker worth signing. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TamClyde Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 Honestly I don't think this is a bad appointment. He has a record of grinding out results with poor teams. Realistically he is what we need to see the season out. Financially he won't be too expensive (we wouldn't be able to afford much else), he'll grind out points which is what we need. Lets see this season out and sought to recruit a more ambitious manager in the summer. Those wanting a young manager from a lower league ask yourselves, is now the time to take that gamble? definitely not. Lets get behind the new manager and stop kicking him down before he's even met the players. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nowhereman Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 3 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said: I'm now kinda glad I'm missing the Cup tie. Scotland's Sam Allardyce facing off against its Helenio Herrera, Enjoy. Can you imagine what the cup tie will be like. Neither team will come out of their own half 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AuAl Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 What is Clyde's squad like? Is it underperforming or just full of shite? When Duffy took over at Ayr after Hopkin it was initially looking better, a great wee new manager bounce for a couple games. However it soon descended into an absolute shit show that wasn't much better than what had come before it. Admittedly, it was a very poor squad with no confidence, but you got the impression that Duffy just wasn't the man to try motivate the players into picking up the occasional result. What really wasn't helpful was that after each game he really didn't seem to care, or at least it came across that way. By the time he was sacked we had won once in 11 games and looked destined to be relegated. It wasn't even as if you could say we were trying to play football and just weren't getting results because we had inferior players - I don't know what he was trying to implement but it wasn't football. Overall, good luck. Maybe he'll be a success, I suppose stranger things have happened. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TamClyde Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 40 minutes ago, AuAl said: What is Clyde's squad like? Is it underperforming or just full of shite? When Duffy took over at Ayr after Hopkin it was initially looking better, a great wee new manager bounce for a couple games. However it soon descended into an absolute shit show that wasn't much better than what had come before it. Admittedly, it was a very poor squad with no confidence, but you got the impression that Duffy just wasn't the man to try motivate the players into picking up the occasional result. What really wasn't helpful was that after each game he really didn't seem to care, or at least it came across that way. By the time he was sacked we had won once in 11 games and looked destined to be relegated. It wasn't even as if you could say we were trying to play football and just weren't getting results because we had inferior players - I don't know what he was trying to implement but it wasn't football. Overall, good luck. Maybe he'll be a success, I suppose stranger things have happened. It's not a great squad, but definitely an improvement on last year. Experienced players with a couple of younger kids that may just not be good enough. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CM. Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 55 minutes ago, AuAl said: What is Clyde's squad like? Is it underperforming or just full of shite? When Duffy took over at Ayr after Hopkin it was initially looking better, a great wee new manager bounce for a couple games. However it soon descended into an absolute shit show that wasn't much better than what had come before it. Admittedly, it was a very poor squad with no confidence, but you got the impression that Duffy just wasn't the man to try motivate the players into picking up the occasional result. What really wasn't helpful was that after each game he really didn't seem to care, or at least it came across that way. By the time he was sacked we had won once in 11 games and looked destined to be relegated. It wasn't even as if you could say we were trying to play football and just weren't getting results because we had inferior players - I don't know what he was trying to implement but it wasn't football. Overall, good luck. Maybe he'll be a success, I suppose stranger things have happened. The big issue with the squad is a lack of balance. We have the likes of Neil Parry, Brian McLean, Peter Grant, Barry Cuddihy, Ray Grant, Ross Cunningham, Conner Duthie (injured since opening day of season and definitely a miss judging by his performance that day) and Jordan Allan who, IMO, can all do a job at this level but we have no half decent full backs and are powderpuff in the middle of the park and up front. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rob1885 Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 Parry and Ray Grant looked utterly done in our game with you last month. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
clyde_r_us Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 7 hours ago, The Moonster said: Actually, after his first 6 months he sort of was. He came in, shored up a leaky defence (by adding Brian McLean, coincidentally) and we had arguably one of the best strikeforces in the League in Gallagher and Dom Thomas. Football was decent and he stopped what looked like an inevitable slide to League 2 under Aitken. The problems came when he had to build his own team. Gallagher went to Airdrie after being offered a pittance and most others followed him elsewhere as Duffy thought they were overpaid. We ended up with exit trial lads and Rob Jones and watched probably the worst season of football I've ever watched. Nobody was particularly sad to see him go at that point but IMO we got the next appointment wrong, which is why we were relegated. We were also left with 1 player on the books which didn't help any incoming manager. I reckon he'll get you a few results, he certainly made an immediate impact with us (we humped East Fife 4-0 in his first game in charge) but whether he can keep you up is another story. Certainly makes our cup tie a bit more interesting. That's pish. Ferguson is a fraud who has only ever succeeded when chucking money around. Duffy actually has a clue, he's just reaching the end of his time in the modern game. can't see jim accepting all of recruitment team pish without question 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FREDDYFRY Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 1 hour ago, Rob1885 said: Parry and Ray Grant looked utterly done in our game with you last month. Peter Grant? Ray has actually been decent this season especially considering the dross he is surrounded with. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnny Worm Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 Duffyball returns to League One - I’ve got the feeling it’s not going to be enough to save us 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clyde01 Posted November 8, 2022 Share Posted November 8, 2022 Danny Lennon wasn't sacked for poor recruitment, he was sacked for loosing 9 games in a row. Hope this helps.Aye, you’re right. He consistently signed great players, it’s a mystery how he managed to lose 9 games in a row with such a great squad. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunning1874 Posted November 9, 2022 Share Posted November 9, 2022 21 hours ago, Jan Vojáček said: Duffy did an absolutely terrific job with Stevie Aitken's squad. So he might be able to get a tune out of this Clyde squad which, although not great, isn't horrific either. This is surely relative though: the Dumbarton squad he inherited from Aitken should have been comfortably clear of relegation at worst in that league. Even if you can point to individuals in this Clyde squad who are capable of better than their current run, it's still easily one of the worst two squads in the division. It would be incredible work for any manager to make up the deficit on Kelty or Queen of the South to scramble out of the playoffs, and there's no example in Duffy's career of a turnaround that drastic. Shitfesting his way to staying above Peterhead then through two playoff ties isn't out of the question I suppose. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...