Clyde FC; Season 2022-23

3 hours ago, Jack Phillips said:
6 hours ago, ClydeFCTheBullyWee said:
I want to see DL give Tade a chance from the start, he has more experience and looks 10x the player Jones is just from his few sub appearances. Would give goodie a bit of freedom up top with Tade bullying defenders n trying his heart out to get to every ball, unlike Jones who walks about with his two left feet. Dumbarton is a must win game on Saturday but truthfully I can’t see it happening. 

Totally agree with this but I don't think Tade is still 100% fit and I don't know how long he would actually last on the park, I guess you don't know until you try him from the start. Would much rather no one than Jones to be fair he just looks like he doesnt give a shit when he is on.

When will Tade be fit? 

22 minutes ago, TheBigGuy said:

When will Tade be fit? 

Thats the question. I think even at full fitness he wouldn't last a full 90 minutes. I'm pretty sure if he was able to last a for a significant part of a game DL would have tried that already, saying that his decisons have been a bit mental recently. I would like to see him and goodie start on Saturday. Nothing to lose doing that and is probs worth the punt. 

Edited by Jack Phillips

Tadé was absolutely blowing at the end of that Montrose game. His attempt at tackling a Montrose player before the 4th or 5th goal (I forget which) was as laughable as anything else served up that day. I feel he’s another who, at present, would be most effective coming off the bench. Even then, I’m not really convinced how effective he’ll be given he is chronically slow. A shame really as he was quite the athlete during his first spell with us. Age and injuries have caught up with him unfortunately.

In saying that, if given the choice, I’d still take Tadé over Jones.

11 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

Query for Clyde fans.

Was there a special opening game when Broadwood opened?

Extended?

Good question.  For reasons I'll never understand the decision was made to move there with over half a season played.

What should have happened is they played out the full season at Douglas Park, used the extra time to build into Cumbernauld and the local community, a serious full on PR campaign where the club would be visible everywhere, and have one or two glamour friendlies in the summer.

You get small windows of opportunity to get things like this right, and the club didn't. I'd like to say lessons would have been learned had it been today, but I doubt it, there just isn't a function within the club who understand or know how to handle something like this.  

As a result the stadium was opened with a regular league game against Hamilton which we lost. We also went a few home games without even scoring.  We'd just been promoted and it was a case of finding their feet, so we went there not on the best form - another reason it was criminal to go there during a season

On top of all that due to league reconstruction, 3 teams would be relegated from Division 1 at the end of that season and, yes, you guessed it.

There was talk of a friendly with Kaiserslautern in the summer who were also sponsored by OKI who had a base in Cumbernauld, but by that time the horse had bolted, OKI themselves didn't last much longer and it never materialised

The specific way we handled our move there should be held up as the blueprint of what you should absolutely never do. There again that could be said of many things....

1 hour ago, BrigtonClyde said:

Good question.  For reasons I'll never understand the decision was made to move there with over half a season played.

What should have happened is they played out the full season at Douglas Park, used the extra time to build into Cumbernauld and the local community, a serious full on PR campaign where the club would be visible everywhere, and have one or two glamour friendlies in the summer.

You get small windows of opportunity to get things like this right, and the club didn't. I'd like to say lessons would have been learned had it been today, but I doubt it, there just isn't a function within the club who understand or know how to handle something like this.  

As a result the stadium was opened with a regular league game against Hamilton which we lost. We also went a few home games without even scoring.  We'd just been promoted and it was a case of finding their feet, so we went there not on the best form - another reason it was criminal to go there during a season

On top of all that due to league reconstruction, 3 teams would be relegated from Division 1 at the end of that season and, yes, you guessed it.

There was talk of a friendly with Kaiserslautern in the summer who were also sponsored by OKI who had a base in Cumbernauld, but by that time the horse had bolted, OKI themselves didn't last much longer and it never materialised

The specific way we handled our move there should be held up as the blueprint of what you should absolutely never do. There again that could be said of many things....

... and 26 years later there’s wurking groups set up tae to decide if we shood stay or go. 

2 hours ago, BrigtonClyde said:

1 hour ago, JBJ said:

... and 26 years later there’s wurking groups set up tae to decide if we shood stay or go. 

You're right BrigtonClyde, nowadays you have to, I think, register your stadium for the season.  Thinking back we were under the misguidance of Alex Smith and probably believed the move would give us a bounce.  I recall the opening day with helicopters and both teams playing in the same strips...

@JBJ to be fair the support has been split for the last decade plus on staying or going.  Maybees we will a decision that will reduce or remove the uncertainty.

1 hour ago, JBJ said:

What's certainly true is when we moved there, Clyde knew it was on a rental basis, there was never an inference they would ultimately own the ground but must have still felt we could flourish there.  Maybe it was because we haven't owned our own ground since 1936 and anything we've done of note happened after that, but the t&c's haven't changed, it's the same deal.

This is where you can throw up all sorts of examples.  Annan own their own ground, rent our their pitch, social club etc, never been out L2.  For decades Juventus were very successful domestically & in Europe while not owning their own ground.  Then there's examples the other way round, point being it's a case by case basis, specific circumstances, it's not it's either definitely better to own or to rent, it depends on the situation.

The architect of the proposed move to Crownpoint went into more detail recently on the OS.  There he said as part of the deal, Glasgow City Council insisted the Club would have to proactively engage with the community in advance and while there.  The fact a club would need to be told that is telling in itself, but if they don't have that resource now, how are they magically going to produce it on relocating ?  You're just moving what has been the fundamental problem from one place to another.

I heard the new Chairman give an interview recently.  He's a decent lad, I've time for him, but he specifically said on the potential of earning income at our current location "a series of commercial managers can't be wrong".  I'm afraid they can be, because they've been relying on well meaning volunteers to carry out what's a specialist task dealt with on a far bigger scale by professionals.   It's been mentioned before, the club should engage with a professional marketing and commerical sales company (there's loads), and at the initial meeting set out the Club's aims and targets for revenue.  The agreement would be based mainly on commission perhaps with a modest retainer. 

At that point, the company would do an initial feasibility study and assessment outlining whether it's possible.  If they say it isn't, and cite the non ownership of the stadium as the primary issue, I'm much more likely to take their opinion on board.  However it's also entirely possible they would feel it is achievable  because it's unlikely all that activity would be centred around the stadium.  Point being, the basis on which we're being told that a relocation with stadium ownership is the only answer hasn't been fully tested.

But the policy of "make the most of it while here" has already been blown out the water.  It is impossible to engage with the local community and businesses while it's quite clear the aim is to get out of dodge as soon as possible.  But that kind of thinking comes from people who have no experience in handling this specific area.  

It's up to each individual whether they prefer to stay or relocate, but at least think about the background to all this and the future implications.  At no point, at any proposed future location, has there ever been a study carried out to assess even whether there would be a local demand for the club, ie whether they would likely be able to generate a new support.  If they can't but still move, it's the equivalent of driving with a car battery when the alternator's shot, just a question of time. 

24 minutes ago, Bully Wee Clyde FC said:

You're right BrigtonClyde, nowadays you have to, I think, register your stadium for the season.  Thinking back we were under the misguidance of Alex Smith and probably believed the move would give us a bounce.  I recall the opening day with helicopters and both teams playing in the same strips...

I honestly don't know the reasoning behind it.  I doubt it would have been to help the team, moving from a tight, narrow pitch at Douglas Park which the players were used to for 2 or 3 years to the more expansive Broadwood pitch would be unlikely to help the cause much.   Whatever it was, at every conceivable level it was the wrong decision and blew the small window of opportunity to progress quickly.  We've suffered for it ever since when combined with a few other factors.    

Agree with all the comments above.

There was an enthusiasm for the local community when we moved but it just wasn't harnessed to the maximum benefit.  That and the fact that the product on the pitch was crap as think it was about 6 games in before we even scored (Alan MacKenzie rocket from 3 yards if memory serves me correct)

Remember we had a cold midweek game against Morton in the first season at Broadwood and we had something like 2, 000 - 2,500 at the game so the interest was there at the start.

Though we have had at least 4 good teams since we have moved but never really been able to get interest from the Cumbernauld locals above about 1k average attendance.

1. Juniors team with Ronnie and Maitland in charge

2. Season we nearly got promoted to the premier league and the couple of years round about it when finished 2nd and 3rd in the now championship.

3. Graham Roberts turn up and get a game season where we nearly beat Rangers at Ibrox and beat Celtic at home

4. Promotion season from 3 seasons ago.

These focus groups are just a waste of time and nothing will come from them IMO.

As was said above I would be engaging a marketing company, or at least going out and speaking to some, rather than an individual commercial manager, and carry out a review with them with the view of them coming on board and getting a sizeable % of any new income/fans that are generated.  Something like a 50/50 split or even more in the marketing company's favour so it is worth them taking it on.

Edited by Bullyweeno1

42 minutes ago, BrigtonClyde said:

What's certainly true is when we moved there, Clyde knew it was on a rental basis, there was never an inference they would ultimately own the ground but must have still felt we could flourish there.  Maybe it was because we haven't owned our own ground since 1936 and anything we've done of note happened after that, but the t&c's haven't changed, it's the same deal.

This is where you can throw up all sorts of examples.  Annan own their own ground, rent our their pitch, social club etc, never been out L2.  For decades Juventus were very successful domestically & in Europe while not owning their own ground.  Then there's examples the other way round, point being it's a case by case basis, specific circumstances, it's not it's either definitely better to own or to rent, it depends on the situation.

The architect of the proposed move to Crownpoint went into more detail recently on the OS.  There he said as part of the deal, Glasgow City Council insisted the Club would have to proactively engage with the community in advance and while there.  The fact a club would need to be told that is telling in itself, but if they don't have that resource now, how are they magically going to produce it on relocating ?  You're just moving what has been the fundamental problem from one place to another.

I heard the new Chairman give an interview recently.  He's a decent lad, I've time for him, but he specifically said on the potential of earning income at our current location "a series of commercial managers can't be wrong".  I'm afraid they can be, because they've been relying on well meaning volunteers to carry out what's a specialist task dealt with on a far bigger scale by professionals.   It's been mentioned before, the club should engage with a professional marketing and commerical sales company (there's loads), and at the initial meeting set out the Club's aims and targets for revenue.  The agreement would be based mainly on commission perhaps with a modest retainer. 

At that point, the company would do an initial feasibility study and assessment outlining whether it's possible.  If they say it isn't, and cite the non ownership of the stadium as the primary issue, I'm much more likely to take their opinion on board.  However it's also entirely possible they would feel it is achievable  because it's unlikely all that activity would be centred around the stadium.  Point being, the basis on which we're being told that a relocation with stadium ownership is the only answer hasn't been fully tested.

But the policy of "make the most of it while here" has already been blown out the water.  It is impossible to engage with the local community and businesses while it's quite clear the aim is to get out of dodge as soon as possible.  But that kind of thinking comes from people who have no experience in handling this specific area.  

It's up to each individual whether they prefer to stay or relocate, but at least think about the background to all this and the future implications.  At no point, at any proposed future location, has there ever been a study carried out to assess even whether there would be a local demand for the club, ie whether they would likely be able to generate a new support.  If they can't but still move, it's the equivalent of driving with a car battery when the alternator's shot, just a question of time. 

What you said...

1 hour ago, Bullyweeno1 said:

There was an enthusiasm for the local community when we moved but it just wasn't harnessed to the maximum benefit.  That and the fact that the product on the pitch was crap as think it was about 6 games in before we even scored (Alan MacKenzie rocket from 3 yards if memory serves me correct)

Remember we had a cold midweek game against Morton in the first season at Broadwood and we had something like 2, 000 - 2,500 at the game so the interest was there at the start.

Though we have had at least 4 good teams since we have moved but never really been able to get interest from the Cumbernauld locals above about 1k average attendance.

2. Season we nearly got promoted to the premier league and the couple of years round about it when finished 2nd and 3rd in the now championship.

3. Graham Roberts turn up and get a game season where we nearly beat Rangers at Ibrox and beat Celtic at home

These focus groups are just a waste of time and nothing will come from them IMO.

As was said above I would be engaging a marketing company, or at least going out and speaking to some, rather than an individual commercial manager, and carry out a review with them with the view of them coming on board and getting a sizeable % of any new income/fans that are generated.  Something like a 50/50 split or even more in the marketing company's favour so it is worth them taking it on.

What you're saying here, this is exactly the thing

1994, adopt a "build it and they will come policy".  That might have worked in 1954, but in a modern era, a club can't take that approach or even rely on some decent results.  Especially as is often the case now, grounds are being built away from town centres etc.  You have to get serious about engaging with the community.

4 years later Ronnie McDonald comes in, primarily for the football side.  It's no coincidence with his business background he decides to get the sleeves rolled up and takes it upon himself to go round all the schools, drum up interest & support - remember all the kids that started turning up with the hats etc.  In a relatively short period of time the crowds are growing steadily and were decent by the time we were up for the first season.  But that's a work in progress, early days, still more opportunity to build the club in the community, but then of course he leaves.

We've never replaced that role he played.  What it shows is that it's possible, there is a potential support there, but we don't live in an age where you can just expect people to turn up, you need to graft hard taking it to them....and obviously if you make it very public you're desperate to leave, well that's disastrous.  It also shows that at least an element of what was required had to be sourced outwith the club, albeit it came about more by chance than design.  

If you're in charge of things but don't have the ability or resource to do what's needed, very easy to take the default position "nah, it's not possible", when clearly from our own history there's enough there to suggest that it is.    As for focus groups, whatever, give it a try by all means but seems to me the underlying inference was that ultimately this was a way for the Club to see if they could get more volunteers at the end of it.  Fine if you get people who are experts in the required fields, but if we had that they'd likely have been operating for some time by now.   

There was a big advertising campaign when Clyde initially moved to Broadwood. The Here the Dream Begins posters were everywhere and Clyde constantly took up pages in the Cumbernauld News.

I remember the Morton 0-0 game. It was absolutely freezing and we still had a crowd of 2,500.

The initial season or two there was a lot of open/family days at the stadium and I used to go train at the 5 a side pitches every Saturday morning which was run by Clyde. You also had the Shoot TV show that was filmed at Broadwood and featured a young Brian Carrigan. You could also buy Clyde shirts and scarves from every sport shop up the Town Centre.

The club did feel part of the community back then but a combination of a poor team, poor location of Broadwood, it was miles from anything back then, and not keeping the momentum going meant crowds started tailing off.

I've stayed in Cumbernauld for most of my life and you would barely know Clyde still play in Cumbernauld now. Doesn't help that every few years there is some big news announcement about the club looking elsewhere again..

I think the club could improve on merchandise especially for the winter, at the moment there is one hat and one scarf option, Cove Rangers for example have 6 beanie options, 2 baseball caps and three different scarfs. 

https://shop.clydefc.co.uk/merchandise/243-scarf.html

Edited by Blydoit Bully Wee

23 minutes ago, Jack Burton said:

There was a big advertising campaign when Clyde initially moved to Broadwood. The Here the Dream Begins posters were everywhere and Clyde constantly took up pages in the Cumbernauld News.

I remember the Morton 0-0 game. It was absolutely freezing and we still had a crowd of 2,500.

The initial season or two there was a lot of open/family days at the stadium and I used to go train at the 5 a side pitches every Saturday morning which was run by Clyde. You also had the Shoot TV show that was filmed at Broadwood and featured a young Brian Carrigan. You could also buy Clyde shirts and scarves from every sport shop up the Town Centre.

The club did feel part of the community back then but a combination of a poor team, poor location of Broadwood, it was miles from anything back then, and not keeping the momentum going meant crowds started tailing off.

I've stayed in Cumbernauld for most of my life and you would barely know Clyde still play in Cumbernauld now. Doesn't help that every few years there is some big news announcement about the club looking elsewhere again..

That's right, & what you've described there is absolutely fine if part & parcel of wider and ongoing activity.  The problem in 94 was it seemed to be treated as a short term PR campaign that didn't include much in the way of direct in person engagement, personal representations from the club around schools, local businesses, community centres etc, the idea apparently being get to the first game or two when I think tickets were given out for free (again a perfectly decent idea), but then treated as job done.  It was a million miles from done, that's just the introductory stage.

Certainly a poor team in a lower league the first few season(s) didn't help, but again the reason to go there halfway through a season was crazy.  They should have held off to the summer, assessed the fact we were then in the league below and put together a plan to recruit well aimed at winning the league in our first season there.  IE a winning team at that level would have been easier to build some momentum than the introduction being a struggling team ultimately relegated.  That combined with no particular further ongoing local engagement would absolutely see interest diminish.

It's obviously past now, the point is lessons can be learned from that and also the work done 4 years later which began to reverse the damage done.  All of that said, I doubt anything written here today's going to make a blind bit of difference, the Board appear to be speaking with one voice now that relocation is the main target.  Having listened to everything they've said about it, at least so far, I have absolutely no idea how they think they can make it a success.

4 hours ago, haufdaft said:

We're shite.

Fans singing Danny Lennon's Gypsy army?

Not me.

The emperor has no clothes.

How about supporting boys low on confidence? At the end them all clapping the fans and Danny saying how great we were. Great point today in dreadful conditions after conceding so late. I know this season has been rubbish but felt like a team and support for the first time in weeks today

Edited by RosspCfc

1 hour ago, haufdaft said:

We're shite.

Fans singing Danny Lennon's Gypsy army?

Not me.

The emperor has no clothes.

Ye can't make a judgement in conditions like those..........they showed fight today an page was immense. Let's see how it goes next week and probably mare revelant is East Fiffy at home.