Clyde FC; Season 2022-23

13 hours ago, ian mac said:

As far as Barry ferguson goes he should have been sacked after the formatine Scottish Cup when he had the cheek to slag off the Clyde fans who booded him #"chancer 1 other pt why didn't someone have the foresight to offer mcstay & lang terms before contracts ran out 1 deal for L1 and another for L2 

Post should be deleted for mention of The Fud alone!

Within ten days of sealing the promotion we had 11 of the squad signed back up, four new added and seven announced as released!! What more do you want? 

There's the very real possibility that in many cases, Lennon and Dishon may have had two contracts drawn up for each player prior to the second leg of the final, one for being in L1, and a significantly different one for L2. Thats the very least im sure that went into these talks. Lang and McStay, i have no doubt would be higher-end of the scale for these.

Freedom of choice for both to exercise their rights, we're not running a Jim McLean trafficking operation here. In fact, slaves would probably get more in benefits that the wages Clyde historically have paid. Which must bring comfort knowing very few if any players are ever here for the money.

3 hours ago, shawfield shed boy said:

Has anyone ever listened to the Tell him hes Pele Podcasts.. ??! Their are various podcasts from ex players from all different clubs but two interviews with Sean Higgins and in particular Scott Mclaughlin.. Prepare yourself is all im sayingemoji29.png

2 p***ks that could learn a lot from our current team of winners!

For fck sake only 101 subscribers so far....piss poor imo. We go on about financially supporting the club; e.g...wanting Lang and McStay to sign a new contract and most of our fans won't even put up the price of a measly coffee & bun each week! Fck the prize money....it's not about winning prizes....it's about helping your club. Of course some fans are not able to afford even this and that's fair enough....but come on folks, most of us can. Clyde office has made it so easy to sign up (Go Cardless) so let's get the fuckin' finger out and give Danny and Allan something to work with by both signing up and encouraging others to do the same. 'Mon the Bully Wee!! 

Screenshot_20190609-160913.png

Wow! What an angry, unwanted and unnecessary rant! The Clyde supporters who have already bought a season ticket, subscribed to The Clyde View and are perhaps intending to renew their ownership will be heartened by your encouraging plea to do more, sorry, even more.

26 minutes ago, Jeremy Fisher said:

For fck sake only 101 subscribers so far....piss poor imo. We go on about financially supporting the club; e.g...wanting Lang and McStay to sign a new contract and most of our fans won't even put up the price of a measly coffee & bun each week! Fck the prize money....it's not about winning prizes....it's about helping your club. Of course some fans are not able to afford even this and that's fair enough....but come on folks, most of us can. Clyde office has made it so easy to sign up (Go Cardless) so let's get the fuckin' finger out and give Danny and Allan something to work with by both signing up and encouraging others to do the same. 'Mon the Bully Wee!! 

Screenshot_20190609-160913.png

Calm it, dammit, Janet. First draw is July 16th. This was announced AFTER May payday (last year's Flying Start was much earlier) and with June's to come, and then a full two months open transfer window after, 100+ is a great start. 

Also, with from what a reliable source told me down the kennels we've sold more STs via the Early Bird than expected. Add an increase in media and PR interest, larger attendances, a steady if not spectacular raise in bonus money, dodging the graveyard round of the Scottish Cup, etc. 

Is there a reason for such panic from Mr Fisher?

24 minutes ago, Domino the Dug said:

Calm it, dammit, Janet. First draw is July 16th. This was announced AFTER May payday (last year's Flying Start was much earlier) and with June's to come, and then a full two months open transfer window after, 100+ is a great start. 

Also, with from what a reliable source told me down the kennels we've sold more STs via the Early Bird than expected. Add an increase in media and PR interest, larger attendances, a steady if not spectacular raise in bonus money, dodging the graveyard round of the Scottish Cup, etc. 

Is there a reason for such panic from Mr Fisher?

Nae panic at this end Mr D. Dog....just an observation on the piss poor uptake as at 9/6/19. £5...? Payday excuse..? Mmmm....let's see where we are in August then. 

6 minutes ago, Jeremy Fisher said:

Nae panic at this end Mr D. Dog....just an observation on the piss poor uptake as at 9/6/19. £5...? Payday excuse..? Mmmm....let's see where we are in August then. 

Max Ruby’s observations are spot on. If your post is meant to be either encouraging or grateful to those who support the club- it is neither.

5 minutes ago, Jeremy Fisher said:

It was announced six days ago, with the first draw now thirty-seven days away. Last year's fund generally had, what, 220 subscribers? We're almost halfway there and that's a boost of over £250 a week to the player budget for the coming year, over and above supporters' contributions via all other means like STs, walk-up attendance, programme buying, lottery playing, merchandise purchases. All of our fans have done superbly in backing the club financially in the past few years, especially given the decade which had gone before and all of its many false dawns and disappointments.

4 minutes ago, Jeremy Fisher said:

I'm very sure Danny, and i hope David and the fundraising team behind the initiative, will take the view of the last sentence. It's not simply a £5 commitment, it's a £260 one and in many cases, on the back of, or in the lead up to, another £230-260 (per head...)outlay (in holiday season) in itself a show of loyalty and support not seen or even asked for in return for a tangible product, since Greece were reigning European champions. 

The increased media and general interest may boost the numbers further still, if last years total (around 1 in 3.5 average fans enrolled) is matched, the pot will be swollen quite throbbingly.

Screenshot_20190609-160913.thumb.png.8293dbc556500ec55d9891ed8aee1c5b.png
the club's always looking for volunteers think you should apply for PR position
as said season tickets up already been going 10 days and 101 already my family have now forked out almost 700 pound in season tickets
plus I prefer to put money directly into the club than filling somebody else's pocket with a 4 figure sum
and finally I certainly don't need a lecture on how to financially support the club

It was announced six days ago, with the first draw now thirty-seven days away. Last year's fund generally had, what, 220 subscribers? We're almost halfway there and that's a boost of over £250 a week to the player budget for the coming year, over and above supporters' contributions via all other means like STs, walk-up attendance, programme buying, lottery playing, merchandise purchases. All of our fans have done superbly in backing the club financially in the past few years, especially given the decade which had gone before and all of its many false dawns and disappointments.
[emoji122][emoji122]

On 6/9/2019 at 10:35, shawfield shed boy said:

Has anyone ever listened to the Tell him hes Pele Podcasts.. ??! Their are various podcasts from ex players from all different clubs but two interviews with Sean Higgins and in particular Scott Mclaughlin.. Prepare yourself is all im sayingemoji29.png

The Pelé Podcasts are brilliant and I'd recommend that everyone gives them a spin!

More than 50 hours of world-class lower-league content going straight into your ears, what more could you ask for!

I'd recommend the podcast featuring Scott McLaughlin. A good listen for Clyde fans wondering what it was like for the players to work under Barry Ferguson. McLaughlin's very candid throughout and his account of things confirms a lot of what was widely thought about why Ferguson ultimately failed at Clyde.

Also, as I remember, the podcast's host - horrible man - suggests to McLaughlin that the Clyde support have a certain notoriety in so far as they're difficult to please and sometimes antagonistic toward players and management. McLaughlin, rightly and admirably, brushes the suggestion off, adding that the Clyde support of the time were right to be displeased. And that is really the only attitude a player should have toward a support in the circumstance where the team hasn't gotten good results. And it speaks to McLaughlin's quality as a professional that he'd say as much.

3 minutes ago, Sao Paulo said:

I'd recommend the podcast featuring Scott McLaughlin. A good listen for Clyde fans wondering what it was like for the players to work under Barry Ferguson. McLaughlin's very candid throughout and his account of things confirms a lot of what was widely thought about why Ferguson ultimately failed at Clyde.

Also, as I remember, the podcast's host - horrible man - suggests to McLaughlin that the Clyde support have a certain notoriety in so far as they're difficult to please and sometimes antagonistic toward players and management. McLaughlin, rightly and admirably, brushes the suggestion off, adding that the Clyde support of the time were right to be displeased. And that is really the only attitude a player should have toward a support in the circumstance where the team hasn't gotten good results. And it speaks to McLaughlin's quality as a professional that he'd say as much.

I'd wager that it was suggested gleefully? 

Whyever then, would he want these notorious antagonists tuning in, far less feeding back on the casts?