Tom English used to be a refreshing listen/read when he first got employed by BBC Scotland.  Now he's had any non-OF bias beated out of him and has turned into the biggest fud going.

He’s been a fud since day one.

12 hours ago, Paul Cicero said:

Great way to win shite way to lose United fans to a man were amazingly well behaved and conducted themselves impeccably and just a pity that we could not have them up aswell in place of a Livi or Hamilton.  

.. or St Mirren?

Your club is no more significant than those other two Paul, and to be honest to most of us it would make very little difference whether st Mirren/ Accies/ Livingston went down.

But all deserve to be in the Premiership because of results.

Dundee United are 100% where they belong, due to their performances and results.

27 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

Tom English used to be a refreshing listen/read when he first got employed by BBC Scotland.  Now he's had any non-OF bias beated out of him and has turned into the biggest fud going.

Nah, his mask has merely slipped.

It now comes across that his anti OF stance was just opportunism to gain fans when the OF wasn’t really a thing.

Now there’s a hint that normal service is resuming and he’s reverted to type.

I don't understand how any football fan can be surprised or confused by St Mirren's celebrations yesterday. All the pressure leading up to the game and knowing how important it is, and folk like Tom English and POTM seem to think you should just have a polite wee clap and then walk back to get your train home with a carton of Ribena.
It's certainly nowhere near as cringey as 'this love will last forever' or Div's trousers.

2 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

It's true though. Stubbs came through and went in a brief spell and was as destructive as f**k. He left us broken. 

Paul McGinn himself mentioned post match that the squad built in the summer was probably fit for League 1. That we managed to salvage anything from this train wreck of a season in marvelous. 

January was a quite effective patch up job. We now get to clear the decks and rebuild for the premier league, which none of us would have believed possible back when we had taken 4 points from about 19 matches. 

2 hours ago, Doakes said:

From where we were under Stubbs it was a fantastic achievement to stay up. Well worth a pitch invasion. McCoist was loving it in the BT box 

1 hour ago, FTOF said:

Maybe some neutrals.

However, many neutrals actually appreciated the horrendous state Stubbs left us in, and appreciated what an achievement it was to remain unbeaten in our last nine games and to retain top league survival.

I certainly wouldn't criticise any club for celebrating survival in the top league, given the relative financial boost compared with a few years in the championship. We could quite easily have gone the way of Falkirk a couple of seasons ago, so I don't think our celebrations yesterday were out of place.

Plus Dundee is a shithole and it means I don't have to go there next season. Another reason for celebration.:thumsup2

I can understand st Mirren players having a massive feeling of relief after yesterday, but fans on here claiming staying up is some kind of incredible against-all-odds survival fairytale are having a laugh.

St Mirren finished above Dundee only, a Dundee side who finished the season with the lowest top league points total since the season Gretna were liquidated.  Even less than a Hearts youth team who had 15 points deducted a few seasons ago. A Dundee side who went on their worst run of defeats in their history.

To stay up, St Mirren drew twice with the other Dundee side, who couldn't score a single penalty out of 4 in the shootout.

I'm not saying the fans don't have a right to be happy and celebrate staying up, especially after such a nerve wracking ordeal, but trying to twist it into some kind of miracle overcoming adversity, in a Phoenix from the flames rise is fucking nonsense.  

But well done on yesterday :)

Edited by PauloPerth

8 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

I can understand st Mirren players having a massive feeling of relief after yesterday, but fans on here claiming staying up is some kind of incredible against-all-odds survival fairytale are having a laugh.

St Mirren finished above Dundee only, a Dundee side who finished the season with the lowest top league points total since the season Gretna were liquidated.  Even less than a Hearts youth team who had 15 points deducted a few seasons ago. A Dundee side who went on their worst run of defeats in their history.

To stay up, St Mirren drew 0-0 twice with the other Dundee side, who couldn't score a single penalty out of 4.

I'm not saying the fans don't have a right to be happy and celebrate staying up, especially after such a nerve wracking ordeal, but trying to twist it into some kind of miracle overcoming adversity, in a Phoenix from the flames rise is fucking nonsense.  

But well done on yesterday :)

Look at us on our first visit to Perth this season.

Roundly derided by your fellow fans as the worst away performance that many have ever seen at this level - and that wasn't a bad day at the office for us. That was the norm.

Regardless of what you say, we WOULD have finished behind Dundee if it carried on, we would have very likely finished with a lower points total than even Gretna's liquidation season.

We had a run of 12 games where we picked up a total of 2 points and further 11 games where we picked up a total of 4.

No-one is claiming it's a miracle, we are absolutely claiming it as a significant achievement though to throw together a new squad in January that - regardless of how we did it - survived in this division.

Someone found the Utd goalies water bottle post match. 

Seems we know why Robbie was cheering getting to penalties. He was clearly quite confident. :lol:

Screenshot_20190527-111226.thumb.jpg.f23331612418be127812c104791bfab9.jpg

For the record, they found Vaclav Hladky's well and it just read: 

Save it

Save it

Save it 

;)

15 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

Look at us on our first visit to Perth this season.

Roundly derided by your fellow fans as the worst away performance that many have ever seen at this level - and that wasn't a bad day at the office for us. That was the norm.

Regardless of what you say, we WOULD have finished behind Dundee if it carried on, we would have very likely finished with a lower points total than even Gretna's liquidation season.

We had a run of 12 games where we picked up a total of 2 points and further 11 games where we picked up a total of 4.

No-one is claiming it's a miracle, we are absolutely claiming it as a significant achievement though to throw together a new squad in January that - regardless of how we did it - survived in this division.

But the thing is, every team who is near the bottom of the league, in just about any league, can highlight some form of shambles behind the scenes.  Accies, the club with one of the lowest budgets around, had hundreds of thousands nicked out of their bank account. Livi played a season with pretty much the same team that got them promoted from league one, had the Kenny miler debacle earlydoors and still did fine.  

Kearney took over at the start of September, when you'd qualified for the knockout stages of the league cup and had a league record of 1 win and 3 defeats. Poor, but continuing at that ratio would still have seen you finish a few points ahead of the bottom club.

In Kearney's first game in charge, didn't st Mirren draw 0-0 with Brendan Rodgers' Celtic?  So as bad as Stubbs' squad were, they obviously weren't completely hopeless.

At the end of the day, the club stayed up, which is the important thing for them and the support.  But I'm just not going to be buying a copy of the 'Miracle Survival, St Mirren's Battle to Overcome the Odds 2018-19' DVD when it comes out.  

Edited by PauloPerth

You don't follow St Mirren if you want St Johnstone-style, mid table, dull, mediocrity. 

We're either really really good or really really shite. It's very rare we have a boring season, rollercoaster club. You'd need buddie to understand it fully :lol: 

13 hours ago, Adam101 said:

I agree with Tom these players have underperformed all season and narrowly beat a terrible championship side. Not really worth the full champagne spray and winners board kept up by a random chair.

On the other hand it does seem that everything conspired again St Mirren the celebrations would have been better placed on the pitch with the fans who have been amazing, in the referees room with Beaton or in the away dressing room.

OK and the fans are the real winners today and I hope they enjoy their night but the players at the club have woefully underperformed all season 

Eh, naw.  Stubbs assembled the worst pool of players ever to compete in the Premiership. OK had to bin them and start again from scratch in January so the players that are here now had every right to feel pleased with their achievements when we were dead and buried by September. f**k Alan Stubbs.

15 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

Someone found the Utd goalies water bottle post match. 

Seems we know why Robbie was cheering getting to penalties. He was clearly quite confident. :lol:

Screenshot_20190527-111226.thumb.jpg.f23331612418be127812c104791bfab9.jpg

For the record, they found Vaclav Hladky's well and it just read: 

Save it

Save it

Save it 

;)

And only one of those on the bottle took a penalty - and next up seemingly was Cooke!

The fact yesterday seems to have annoyed both Tom English and Ewan Murray (the latter admittedly not difficult) makes it even sweeter.

11 hours ago, Adam101 said:

Firstly the fans have every right to celebrate it looked like automatic relegation was a real possibility for most of the season.

However you say "many players and staff would have lost their jobs or wages cut" and this is usually brought up for every clubs relegation however the players wouldn't just be sacked it's unlikely that you could afford it so the ones losing their jobs are the ones who weren't good enough to play at the level they had been playing at and being a footballer is hardly the safest employment choice of all time. The staff is an interesting one because how many full time positions did St Mirren make for one season in the premiership? Casual staff will of course be impacted by relegation if hospitality numbers drop then the catering staff will have less hours but we are no longer in the days when clubs have huge levels of non football staff and I would worry about any club making redundancies due to relegation (when it was a distinct reality at the start of the season) really are very poor at business management.

It's brought up because it's the way things are in our league, it's not poor business management- clubs will spend all their budget every year to compete and we needed to spend at Premiership level this year. People are playing for their jobs and relegation to the Championship means less money all round and you have to make changes. Many contracts will have relegation release clauses or wage cut ones, and as we found out last time we were relegated, the good players are the ones that generally go or accept release because they can find better and you are left with the players that struggled. We also had video analysts and dietitians which were funded by fans in the Championship.  

I think Alan Burrows the CEO of Motherwell correctly points out the relief factor, the jobs and finances. Relegation is tough on a club. 

But the thing is, every team who is near the bottom of the league, in just about any league, can highlight some form of shambles behind the scenes.  Accies, the club with one of the lowest budgets around, had hundreds of thousands nicked out of their bank account. Livi played a season with pretty much the same team that got them promoted from league one, had the Kenny miler debacle earlydoors and still did fine.  
Kearney took over at the start of September, when you'd qualified for the knockout stages of the league cup and had a league record of 1 win and 3 defeats. Poor, but continuing at that ratio would still have seen you finish a few points ahead of the bottom club.
In Kearney's first game in charge, didn't st Mirren draw 0-0 with Brendan Rodgers' Celtic?  So as bad as Stubbs' squad were, they obviously weren't completely hopeless.

At the end of the day, the club stayed up, which is the important thing for them and the support.  But I'm just not going to be buying a copy of the 'Miracle Survival, St Mirren's Battle to Overcome the Odds 2018-19' DVD when it comes out.  

I suspect they don’t really give a f**k if you’ll be buying the dvd.

It’s an explosion of emotion after a pretty horrible season. It’s what footballs about and frankly the objective view of a st Johnstone or Aberdeen fan about what the acceptable level of celebration is doesn’t really matter.