Dundee councillor suspended

ICTChris

2 hours ago, welshbairn said:

Who's "they"? Some dafty Wings found and RT'd on Twitter? Both sides of this manufactured "issue" are as mental as each other. Have you ever encountered a problem with gender issues in real life?

They're not actually, one side is and the other side is normal reasonable people being labelled transphobes.

44 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

Michael: [Continuing the story] She’s gorgeous man, and she’s half the price of the others. And they’re getting doon to it. He puts his hand up her skirt, gets a hold of the old ‘meat and two veg’ right. And thinks ‘hang on, I’ve paid me money I’m gonna have summit’. So he flips ‘em over and ffffffff [Michael looks up and notices Lynn has entered the room] And funnily enough, it lands on its wheels and it starts first time and they just drive away.
Alan: [Alan hasn’t noticed Lynn in the room, and as such he is confused by the way the story has changed direction] Strangest story I’ve ever heard. Oh hello Lynn! Oh I see what you were… ahh right, yes. Michael was just telling me an army story about a friend of his who, slept with… a Land Rover. Lonely nights in the desert.
Michael: That’s all fixed now Mr Partridge, I’ll be on my way.
Alan: Right, OK.
Michael: [Acknowledges Lynn on his way out] Mornin’
Alan: [Stops Michael before he leaves] Just check, that wasn’t the real ending to the story, was it?
Michael: No, no.
Alan: Just saying that because Lynn’s here?
Michael: Aye
Alan: Right, fine.

Sigh.  Fanny talk x3 last three posts as usual.  No point replying.

Just now, Kuro said:

He was praised by the judge as 'a lifelong campaigner against homophobia '.  Your turn....

Trans people are not the same as homosexuals. You should listen to Mhairi, as should Wings. You both might learn something.

After Mhari Black made that speech on #IDAHOBIT Joanne Cherry left the SNP MPs WhatsApp group chat, according to the online editor of The National.

A sentence that would have made basically no sense a few years ago.

I think part of the problem here is that there's too much time, money and focus taken up on what are mostly trivialities, if they're more than trivialities then we have laws in place to deal with this.

Are "trans" people being persecuted ? or are we talking about a few snide comments made by some ignorant halfwits on social media etc ?

What about abusing people with big noses ? fat people ? skinny people ? people with visible birthmarks etc ?, people with red hair ? is that just seen as  "a laugh" ?? so what's the difference, how do we determine what's "acceptable" to offend and what's not ??

It just seems to me that politics is so disconnected with real life, that many people just feel so disenfranchised and basically scunnered with the lot of it.

Similarly we've got today's "extremist" story where people "threatening" revenge porn are possibly going to be prosecuted (don't know how this would work in practice), however surely anyone with half a brain wouldn't be making hardcore xxx home movies in the first place, if they didn't want to risk them ending up on the internet ?

As I say, we seem to be living in an era where everyone else is to blame and trivial stuff is given top priority when we've got much more serious issues such as child poverty, widespread foodbank usage and homelessness to be concerned about............